X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Strandhill Lodge & Surf School Reviews

Strandhill, Co. Sligo, Sligo, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
235 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great People, Great atmosphere I would love to come back

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I thought the hostel was a little pricey for not including breakfast but the hostel cottage was a very good value. Really friendly, accommodating, quiet (despite being fully booked), great location. Would definitely stay again.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

We found the staff at Surf n Stay very friendly and although the hostel is basic it is clean and tidy. The surf school is on site and is very reasonable for lessons with Rory the surf instructor who was brilliant. The Strand pub over the road is great for a pint or pizza and The Shells Cafe around the corner is great for Fish and Chips. A big shout out to Michael, Austin and the American guy for their help. Will be back in the near future! Chris, Nick and Bruce.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very comfortable and cosy. Good location if you like to surf. Good breakfast spread.


94%

I had an amazing time with the guys! The beach is very nice and it's just outside the hostel! I recommend it!!


94%

Nice hostel! Very pleasant place near the beach.


80%

Hostel on a great location: Very close to the beach, great for walking and surfing.There are plenty of hiking and cycling opportunities. The staff were very friendly(atm run by: An american, canadian, Brazilian and french person). The hostel has everything you need, though the wifi is non-existance from time to time.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

What a great hostel! The rooms are great, with wall sockets by every bed, and the toilets and showers are clean and modern. Staff is friendly and helpful. It might be a bit pricy, but for the price you will have a great stay at a great hostel.


86%

A good hostel in a great location near beach. Bed was comfortable and shower was hot. Plenty of places to eat with Waves being really good. Tables in dining room consisted of 2 picnic tables so could be better. Wifi was non-existent on ipad or phone, even though I was 10 feet from router. Still waiting for my change as they don't take cards. Staff stated they would be right back with it but was never seen. All in all a great location with plenty of facilities nearby.


100%

Friendly and nice place in a beautiful village. Instantly feels like home.


100%

Hi Chelsea lol


100%

I had the Best time of my life at the surf n stay hostel when i went there in my gap year, and now again back visiting. It's impossible to experience strandhill and surf n stay and not want to return there again and again! Friendliest place ever


94%

Such a great place I would recommend it to anybody

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place, only a little confusing when it comes to booking it for tents (they don't have tents, just a small place in the backyard to camp for about 10 Euro). Besides that, WiFi doesn't work very good, unfortunately, but both issues are not a bummer at all, the place is gorgeous and staff is marvelous! The beach, mountains and dunes are divine, one of the best spots I've seen in Ireland!


100%

CHELSEA WAS A GREAT ASSET TO THE HOSTEL AND B&B AS SHE WAS ALWAYS KEEN TO MAKE SURE THAT EVERYTHING WAS OK FOR YOU DURING OUR STAY . THE BREAKFAST WAS EXCELLENT AND THE VARIETY WAS GOOD . ALL THE STAFF ARE FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL .IF YOUR LOOKIN FOR A 5 STAR B&B THIS AINT FOR YOU BUT IF YOUR LOOKIN FOR A GOOD DEAL ON A B&B THIS IS THE ONE

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff is friendly, location is great. Room was really tiny even if it's a hostel, but worth the price for a night.


94%

Awesome staff, great company and soo close to the beautyful Sligo-Beach. Thanks for everything guys :) All the Best!! Victoria and Lukas

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Sligo is gorgeous! This hostel's staff are excellent, especially Adam, who took us on a spectacular bike tour of the area. The hostel itself is bright and affordable. It's right next to the beach, beside Knocknarea, and in the shadow of Ben Bulben. If you're thinking of escaping from Dublin for a few nights and seeing a gorgeous, non-touristy part of the Irish countryside, this is the place to go.


97%

We stayed one night and enjoyed it very much! Small breakfast of cereal and toast. Within 2 minutes walking time to the ocean. Next to a lot of restuarants and pubs. Shells is a tasty cafe. The hostel gives a discount on seaweed baths at Voya, which is a must if you visit Strandhill. Very friendly staffed. I really enjoyed the atmosphere.


91%

Had a great stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will definately come again.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Sligo Hostels

Please give us your feedback