Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sunflower International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 769 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 769 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Mar 2017
6.9

I only stayed for one night to so I don't have much to say. The rooms were clean and the air conditioner worked. The showers were unisex and communal style, which was a nightmare for me. In addition, you had to pass through the common room to reach the showers, and they were in the same room as the bathrooms which meant there was constant traffic. I'd rather not stay here again just because the set up was too inconvenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Mar 2017
8.0

Hostel is rather hard to locate. felt that the instructions on how to get there should have included Fuzimiao as the closest station. The room was alright, though the bed reminded me of the ancient days in China where people slept on hard wooden beds except that pillow here is still acceptable. Our dorm was next to the water dispensing area. Our sleep was interrupted by people washing their stuff and using that area that night. good place to meet people in the lobby which had charging points

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
8.3

Great location, right in the middle of the Fuzimiao pedestrian street and surrounded by stores and food stalls. The area is very crowded during the evenings and weekend days, but quiet after about 11pm. It is an easy walk to two metro stops. The hostel was a decent stay for the low price. We got a private room for two. The bathroom was dirty and the room (actually, the whole hallway) had a funky smell to it. Besides that, the beds were comfortable and the heater was quite efficient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • liankilloran
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
10th Feb 2017
7.4

Great location in the middle of a lively pedestrian neighbourhood and near a metro station. Staff were helpful but barely spoke English. Bed were incredibly squeaky, but ok comfort-wise. Lockers were large and secure. Lots of toilets and showers, but no toilet paper and cleanliness was so-so. Rooms were kept clean though. Okay common room but the restaurant was expensive so we didn't try it. Overall, fine hostel if you overlook the unstable and noisy beds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
8.3

Perfect location and hostel staff were friendly. It's close to many tourist attractions and near to metro. Worst part is they don't provide toilet papers and toilets very dirty most of the time .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
8.3

My two friends and I were in the ten-bed mixed-dorm. The beds were decently comfortable and the lockers were convenient. We really enjoyed the pool table being right outside the room, although we wish it were open later. The common area was nice and friendly. I think our favorite part, though, was the location. Fuzimiao is a popular area with a lot of nice touristy-shops and cuisine. I would recommend this hostel solely for its' location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Dec 2016
9.4

Perfect location and really friendly staff. Perhaps they could provide toilet paper in the communal bathrooms, but otherwise great hostel and would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
7.1

The location is really good, close to the Confucius temple, shops, bank and not too far from the metro. The staff were helpful, but their English was very limited especially for a hostel, but they were happy to help within reason. The main issue was the state of the room. Yes it's hostel accomodation, but the wardrobe reeked of vomit. Mouldy bedsheets because of the naturally humid atmosphere. The bathroom bin wasn't emptied for our entire stay, it stank to high heaven.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
9.7

Perfect location- convenient to get to via metro and located near many tourist attractions and restaurants in Fuzimiao. Staff were very nice and helpful. Stayed in a private room with two twin beds- room was quite big and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
8.0

The bed, iron material, is quite annoying maybe due to several years, quite loose nail situation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.