Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sunset Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 30 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 30 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Feb 2017
9.4

We stayed here for one night, as we were making our way down to Costa Rica. It was a perfect place for what we were looking for: affordable, convenient, close, and clean. They don't speak much English, but that wasn't an issue for us. They make every effort to make your stay comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
6.0

Very very basic. The rooms and the toilet / bathroom need real improvement. The rooms are noisy and ventilation is not really possible because of the small windows. Staff is friendly and willing to help out.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
9.7

This place was awesome if you are looking for an affordable and quiet place to sleep with a great and friendly family go here. We really enjoyed this place and highly recommend it for people looking for a more chill time in San Juan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.1

Super friendly and accommodating hosts, great location and felt very secure. Shared shower was nice. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable with a fan, clean sheets and towels. I don't think you will get a better value private room in SJDS

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
9.1

Very cheap hostel in a good area! The family is super nice and friendly. There are only 4 rooms so the overall atmosphere is pretty calm and quiet. Shared bathroom. You can use the kitchen if you wish. In total, we stayed there 7 nights out of our total 2 weeks travelling!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.6

A small guest house run by a lovely family. Perfect stopover while I found my bearings in San Juan. Only two or three blocks away from the centre, perfect if you like to retire to a quiet spot. David and his family were extremely friendly and lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
6.6

Good value for money, staff was very friendly! Bathroom and kitchen were not really clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
9.4

My stay at sunset guest house was great, clean place, very centric and totally worth it. they are very kind and if you need anything, they can help you. totally recommended, if I ever go back to San Juan del Sur, (hopefully I will) I will most definetly stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.