X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Sunshine Bedz KL Reviews

65 B, Jalan Sultan Ismail, Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
2380 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Clean hostel in an excellent location in the centre of Bukit Bintang

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review.

74%

The location was perfect, but don't search the address in Google maps, you will end up walking a few kilometres too far! Being right next to a train station was super handy and especially near the walk to the Petronas Towers, It made getting lost difficult! Security wasn't really there, there are no keys into the dorms meaning anything you didn't lock up is available for anyone. All in all though a really great hostel and I will definitely be staying there again next time!


100%

Simply one of the best hostels I've ever been. Friendly staff, especially the owner Patrick, cheap beer and it's easy to meet new friends. The facilities are modern and clean, you never have to wait for a shower. The place is close to the Petronas Towers (5 to10 min walk). Streetfood, McDonalds, Burger King and Starbucks are very close.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very encouraging review. We are happy to have met you and look forward to your return. cheers

100%

I stayed at Sunshine Bedz for 5 nights and had a great experience there. The staff and management are very friendly and actually take the time to get to know you as an individual. The hostel is very clean and well maintained including dorm rooms and bathrooms. The hostel is situated in a fantastic location. The monorail system is just a couple minutes walk from the hostel making it easy to travel anywhere in the city. Highly recommend staying here.


89%

Great hostel, perhaps a little bit overpriced for what it is. Staff were mostly friendly but not overly helpful or anything.


91%

great place to stay !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was great having you with us too. cheers

83%

Very good facilities, good bed, towel and linen included,free tea and coffee. Located very centrally vlose to street food market (although to avoid if you don't like having too much movement around). Staff friendly but very new so I couldn't really get any personal useful advice from them (they ll just hand you the recommendation book). Easy to meet people in the kitchen area (but not much sunlight coming through).I would probably stay there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hope you enjoyed our malaysian food at the market. As we have 7 staff members and some are new, we will in the future ensure that the newer staff will redirect you to the more experienced staff to give you more insights of Kuala Lumpur. We hope however the recommendation book did give you some idea of whats here and how to get there from the hostel. We enjoy the kitchen too. See you again soon. cheers

86%

Good place to stay in KL. Location is perfect, the hostel is clean, the beds are good and the staff is nice. There is also an area to relax and meet other people. Beside that there is good food close to the hostel..

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Please take my review with a grain of salt, as it is my first ever time outside of Australia, and I travelled solo. So, there's not a lot for me to compare to. However, as a first experience this place was fantastic. I stayed here for 4 nights and would have stayed longer had it not been fully booked.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Hostel was good all in all. unfortunatly no real common area and no water boiler... rest was just fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your review. The staff would have gladly had a chat with you in one of our 3 real common areas or the kitchen.And a hot water boiler at the breakfast area that is nearly always full. We hope however this did not hamper your stay with us and look forward to your return. Danke!. Sunshine Bedz Team.

100%

Very good hostel. Patrick the owner is very friendly to customer as well as his employees. Velly and ellie are great girls who are willing to help people in their day to day activity and make people feel welcome. I met lots of people which were open and enthusiastic about meeting me and exploring the surroundings. Thanks guys for everything, it was definitely worth it!! If im ever in KL again I know where to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey cheers for the positive feedback! We really enjoyed having you stay with us and hope that you come back soon! Keep Safe ~ Sunshine Bedz Team~

94%

Great place right downtown KL, great value for money


100%

Such lovely staff, especially the slovakian girl. Great for a solo traveller.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awesome review. We are glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope that you will remember us whenever you reflect on your travel experience and you are welcome back if you pass through Kuala Lumpur again in the future. ~ Sunshine Bedz Team~

57%

Cockroach in the bedroom the first night!! Pulled out the bed to find two traps so hostel appears to have a problem with them? Fleece blanket way too small to keep warm with the aircon on. Terrible ventilation in our room which results in a stale smell in the room all the time. Breakfast aweful. Toilets and showers were kept clean. Staff were polite. Good location if the monorail was working up to Sentral but it was not while we were there. Prepare to lug luggage up LOTS of stairs!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We have a no food and drinks policy in the hostel to prevent pest in the rooms. We also have traps to capture the rest as we do not really want to poison the rooms you sleep in. All our private rooms have AC and a remote control so you can control the temperature. We are sorry you did not enjoy our simple breakfast of coffee, tea and jam on toast. It was just to start your day and enjoy Malaysian food available everywhere outside. Yes, on the 2nd floor we are.

80%

Finding the hostel was easy due to the good directions on their website. Upon arrival I was a little intimidated by the mass of shoes blocking the front door and the number of people just inside, but as if was breakfast time, the number of people around was understandable. I was concerned that the door for room D could not be locked as it meant anyone from the hostel could wander in and out - a big negative for the overall security. Loved being able to easily store my luggage after check out

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your constructive review. We will look towards organizing the shoes at the front door. As security is one of our top priority, We wish to note that everyone coming into the hostel has to be buzzed in. As our staff sometimes are a bit too efficient they buzz you in before you even push the doors when they recognize you. Every dorm also has steel lockers and you are advised to bring your own padlock or buy one at the hostel so only you will have the keys. Look forward to your return.

100%

I don't usually stay in hostels, but in KL I always come back to Sunshine bedz for its friendly

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent all around. The bathrooms and showers are spacious and extremely clean. The price is right and the location is great as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We always love to hear excellent reviews like yours – thank you! Please remember to pass our name onto your friends and other people you meet travelling! You and your friends are welcome here anytime! ~ Sunshine Bedz Team~

100%

Couldn't ask or a better place to stay. Staff are lovely, breakfast is tasty and the rooms do the job!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the amazing review and for choosing to stay with us at Sunshine Bedz Kuala Lumpur. We always love to hear great reviews like yours and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Take care, see you soon! ~ Sunshine Bedz Team~

94%

The staff is great. The owner is awesome, he knows everyone and he treats you like a close friend! The people in the room were awesome and everyone invites you to go out with them. AC is great and breakfast is simple but enough. The showers are the best! And the location is great! You are in the middle of bukit bintang close to the monorail, the free bus and some of the most famous malls of KL ( pavillion...) and there is a lot of options of restaurants in the neighborhood. Love it!


83%

This is one of the best hostels for backpackers who want to avail of very inexpensive accommodation. Their location, Bukit Bintang, is at the heart of KL with so many landmarks nearby. They have staff that will answer to your questions, but their friendliness towards different people in the hostel varies. Good showers, the beds are nice for the basic dorm room. You will also meet a lot of people in the hostel -- usually people with burning wanderlust, probably like you ;) The hostel is clean. :)

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(262 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback