X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Sunshine Bedz KL Reviews

65 B, Jalan Sultan Ismail, Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
2396 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

location is great because it's right at the middle of everything and conveniently located.


86%

Please take my review with a grain of salt, as it is my first ever time outside of Australia, and I travelled solo. So, there's not a lot for me to compare to. However, as a first experience this place was fantastic. I stayed here for 4 nights and would have stayed longer had it not been fully booked.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Hostel was good all in all. unfortunatly no real common area and no water boiler... rest was just fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your review. The staff would have gladly had a chat with you in one of our 3 real common areas or the kitchen.And a hot water boiler at the breakfast area that is nearly always full. We hope however this did not hamper your stay with us and look forward to your return. Danke!. Sunshine Bedz Team.

100%

Very good hostel. Patrick the owner is very friendly to customer as well as his employees. Velly and ellie are great girls who are willing to help people in their day to day activity and make people feel welcome. I met lots of people which were open and enthusiastic about meeting me and exploring the surroundings. Thanks guys for everything, it was definitely worth it!! If im ever in KL again I know where to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey cheers for the positive feedback! We really enjoyed having you stay with us and hope that you come back soon! Keep Safe ~ Sunshine Bedz Team~

94%

Great place right downtown KL, great value for money


100%

Such lovely staff, especially the slovakian girl. Great for a solo traveller.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awesome review. We are glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope that you will remember us whenever you reflect on your travel experience and you are welcome back if you pass through Kuala Lumpur again in the future. ~ Sunshine Bedz Team~

57%

Cockroach in the bedroom the first night!! Pulled out the bed to find two traps so hostel appears to have a problem with them? Fleece blanket way too small to keep warm with the aircon on. Terrible ventilation in our room which results in a stale smell in the room all the time. Breakfast aweful. Toilets and showers were kept clean. Staff were polite. Good location if the monorail was working up to Sentral but it was not while we were there. Prepare to lug luggage up LOTS of stairs!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We have a no food and drinks policy in the hostel to prevent pest in the rooms. We also have traps to capture the rest as we do not really want to poison the rooms you sleep in. All our private rooms have AC and a remote control so you can control the temperature. We are sorry you did not enjoy our simple breakfast of coffee, tea and jam on toast. It was just to start your day and enjoy Malaysian food available everywhere outside. Yes, on the 2nd floor we are.

80%

Finding the hostel was easy due to the good directions on their website. Upon arrival I was a little intimidated by the mass of shoes blocking the front door and the number of people just inside, but as if was breakfast time, the number of people around was understandable. I was concerned that the door for room D could not be locked as it meant anyone from the hostel could wander in and out - a big negative for the overall security. Loved being able to easily store my luggage after check out

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your constructive review. We will look towards organizing the shoes at the front door. As security is one of our top priority, We wish to note that everyone coming into the hostel has to be buzzed in. As our staff sometimes are a bit too efficient they buzz you in before you even push the doors when they recognize you. Every dorm also has steel lockers and you are advised to bring your own padlock or buy one at the hostel so only you will have the keys. Look forward to your return.

100%

I don't usually stay in hostels, but in KL I always come back to Sunshine bedz for its friendly

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent all around. The bathrooms and showers are spacious and extremely clean. The price is right and the location is great as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We always love to hear excellent reviews like yours – thank you! Please remember to pass our name onto your friends and other people you meet travelling! You and your friends are welcome here anytime! ~ Sunshine Bedz Team~

100%

Couldn't ask or a better place to stay. Staff are lovely, breakfast is tasty and the rooms do the job!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the amazing review and for choosing to stay with us at Sunshine Bedz Kuala Lumpur. We always love to hear great reviews like yours and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Take care, see you soon! ~ Sunshine Bedz Team~

94%

The staff is great. The owner is awesome, he knows everyone and he treats you like a close friend! The people in the room were awesome and everyone invites you to go out with them. AC is great and breakfast is simple but enough. The showers are the best! And the location is great! You are in the middle of bukit bintang close to the monorail, the free bus and some of the most famous malls of KL ( pavillion...) and there is a lot of options of restaurants in the neighborhood. Love it!


83%

This is one of the best hostels for backpackers who want to avail of very inexpensive accommodation. Their location, Bukit Bintang, is at the heart of KL with so many landmarks nearby. They have staff that will answer to your questions, but their friendliness towards different people in the hostel varies. Good showers, the beds are nice for the basic dorm room. You will also meet a lot of people in the hostel -- usually people with burning wanderlust, probably like you ;) The hostel is clean. :)

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The staff were very nice, but the rooms smelled weird and the common area was a mess


94%

Enjoyed my stay here. Booked in a group of 7 people. Comfy beds. Lockers for your backpacks. Clean toilets and showers. Fresh towels. Definitely would stay here again.


86%

Positive: clean facilities, very friendly and helpful staff, breakfast included (toast, coffee/tea). Negative: nothing major, rooms were a little small, but seems more expensive than other hostels we've stayed in in Asia.


91%

Outstandingly clean. Many and clean bathroom facilities. Toast and Jam Breakfast. Good location.


77%

You have to go through the reception and eating area to access the toilets and showers from the dorm. Also there is not enough comfortable seating in the common area.


83%

Noise from the water paip quite loud. Otherwise, it will be a good stay.. ^•^

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Amazing hostel! Good location, near from restaurants, mall and food market. Lovely staff and comfortable beds, one of the best hostel I ever stayed.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(263 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback