X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Taylor Hotel Reviews

615 Taylor Street @ Post Street, San Francisco CA 94102, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
76 Total Reviews
  • 53%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Taylor hotel is fine. We stayed here as everything in the area was booked out. A bit pricey for what was on offer- the internet wasn't consistent in every room , the building has a funny, over-perfumed smell, we had to keep the windows open the whole time. The area is pretty dodgy, we heard lots of altercations on the street at night. But it is nice and close to a lot of things like restaurants & union square. The place was fine, but for the price try and find something a bit better.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Hotel in great location, but the building is old, so the rooms have a bad smell that was solved using a spray. The staff were kind.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

The downside to this place is that it,s noisy at night, a bit smelly in the foyer area and it,s old and tired, needs some tender ,loving care but the upside is that it,s so close to union square the owners are only to happy to answer all your questions and they have tea, coffee and pastries every morning in the foyer also there,s a eatery called honey,honey right on the corner for some cheap food also we had a car and there was paid parking in the lane way right next to Taylor,s

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Could improve the Wi Fi facility. very difficult if not impossible to get a connection.


23%

Horrible place. First of all we arrived to be told we had to pay tax which was not stated on the final bill....then he charged my friend over 250$ on her card when it was meant to be $77...he was very rude when asked to refund the money. The bedrooms were dirty and the pillows were mouldy. The windows didnt lock. The place stunk. Avoid this place!! Very unwelcoming and made our stay a horrible experience.

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
First please check your confirmation where it clearly stats Taxes are not included. When you hand the card for charges you could have been specific about splitting charges among all guests. Once charges are credited it's bank responsibility not ours and asking same question about 10 times and us explaining with same answer shows your understanding.

57%

It's an OK place, it's just really run down and looks like no attention was given to it. It's too expensive, there are better places in the area for about the same amount of money. I was expecting more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are a simple no frill budget accommodation. Each person have have their own perception about budget accommodation.

89%

We were very satisfied with this hotel. The staff was very helpfull and kind. The breakfast is not too much (coffe, tee, ho chocolate, sweet bakery products), but the location and level of the cleaning helps to forget it.

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

An ok hostel for those that only want to rest your head somewhere for the night but don't need entertainment, info or don't want to meet other people. The ensuite room was clean, beds comfortable (more so than I expected), but service wasn't amazing. WiFi connection was poor. The location, however, is excellent. The Adelaide Hostel just around the corner provides maps, brochures and amazing service and info - I've stayed there before and would have now too but they were fully booked!


57%

Please fix your website so that it reflects the true number of beds per room. Also please fix the elevator since it was not responding 4 out of 6 times. Also, it might help to air out the lobby.

  • 25th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hostels.com websites count full size bed as 2 beds. We have put the clear description on site to explain that you are booking full size bed not 2 septette beds. As per elevator, person using it has to manually close the gate and we explain closing gate when getting in and leaving elevator. There is also big sign if person can't follow the simple instruction it inconvenience for every one.

40%

Did not sleep a wink ... The street/ally was full of partying people and a homeless convention. The room was filthy and smelly.

  • 24th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are in central part of the town busing with night clubs, restaurant, hotels, bars, party goers. Staying in central part of town and expecting no noise or people on the street does not happens in San Francisco for that you have to stay near airport area hotel.

86%

Great for the price, old building but clean. Quiet inside but located in a great area. Stores, cable car and Bart are very close. There is this really nice bar in the same street. Just don't count on the breakfast, it's a pastry tea or coffee, i guess it depends on your usual breakfast. I would stay there again for sure.

  • 23rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The Taylor's location was excellent and the WiFi was very good. The staff were quite unfriendly at times and didn't look like they were prepared for us when we arrived. The rooms are very basic, and when we entered 4-bed room on the hostel world website, we were expecting 4 beds!!! There was no compromise with the staff about adding an additional bed - "no, you guys will have to figure it out". An inflatable matrice was the solution we went for.

  • 17th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

My worst hotel experience ever. It wasn't. very clean, it was very cold by night and really noicy fr.o.m. Taylor Street all the day and night. Go somewhere else!!

  • 16th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Old building and dirty, the bathroom was small. They didn't change the sheets or give us the option to clean them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
To keep the rates down we do not provide cleaning service. Please read before the full description. We have clearly mention about cleaning service for extra charge There are also charges for sheets and towels.

71%

Hotel is OK for cheap option, but definetly atmosphere is kind of depresive. Notice rate DOES NOT includes daily room cleanning (which costs 20$), so if you plan to stay more than 2 nights, you might want to check other options (such as Encore Express). Also, consider that hotel is in the middle of homeless people area in Downtown, so be careful.

  • 9th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Taylor Hotel definitely has a shock persona. If you are ok with a run down place in a convenient spot and at a convenient price GO FOR IT. on my first day there i went down to a supermarket and got some cleaning stuff- lysol wipes. febreeze. antibacterial stuff .. lol it really helped and after the clean it definitely was much more appealing. hey. its cheap. and the location is PERFECT. if you are not a princess. go for it.


77%

The room had only one power outlet that the TV/microwave/lamp are plugged in that concern me and inconvenient. Th e location is close to everything. I wonder if taking out trash and making bed daily is one of the service, because I didn't see it.


91%

Little nice budget hotel - awesome price-quality relation


54%

The ho(s)tel has a really good location even though it's very close to the area where the homeless live. The building seems to be very old and the elevator is a bummer!


46%

it is not clean. it is humid and there is a lot of dust in the room.

  • 2nd Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Rooms tend to be humid due to steam heat. You could have turned of the heat or open the window for the atmospheric to your like..

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all San Francisco Hotels

Please give us your feedback