Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Burren Hostel (Sleepzone)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 897 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 897 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
6.3

Common areas are very nice and cosy but the bedroom is very simple. It is rather big but not very clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
9.1

A big hostel in a lil town! Loved the tv room with the fireplace going every night! But the Staff were the highlight, super helpful giving tips on trails in the area and addressing any problems. Recommend the 8bed dorm over the 6 bed, it's just much larger. The bathrooms were some of the nicest I've seen in a hostel, bathtubs and all. Only down point is that the wifi is spotty, so you kind of need to know just where to stand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
9.7

Lovely building, lovely landscape! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the kitchen was good - the walk in fridge amazing! Loved the rooms. You can walk around to the two springs and the sulphur bridge with it's victorian pump house, as well as drive to the Burren or fish at Doolin Pier.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
9.1

Great location for visiting all the highlights of the area, the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher. The man on reception remebered my name and was very attentive to all my needs. The other staff there should learn from him. If you are off duty and want to lounge in the reception area you should at least be friendly and say hello to the visitors.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

I loved this hostel. It was quiet and the staff was awesome. Their common areas were great! I really loved the room with the fireplace after a rainy day. Close to the cliffs and near a great pub with good food and beer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jimhall999013
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
8.9

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Burren Hostel in Lisdoonvarna and we received a warm welcome from one of the female staff, wgo also gave us some usegul information on local walks. The facilities were very good and the location was great. The breakfast service was good and the television room too though it was taken over, on the orders of the male member of staff, for a football match for one evening. the hostel was fairly quiet apart from one very late night from a bunch of girls

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving us some kind feedback. We are glad you and your wife overall enjoyed staying with us. Just a quick heads up regarding the TV Room – There was a big match on that day, which many guests requested to watch. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and really hope you still enjoyed your evening and night - even though a group of girls was coming back very late. We wish you all the best for your on-ward travels and hope to see you again. Best regards, your Burren Hostel Team.

30th Jun 2017
10.0

Only thing I didn't like was there wasn't a plug next to the bed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2017
10.0

This hostel is a gem. Very nice comfortable common areas, staff was extremely nice and accommodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th May 2017
7.7

Not exactly close or accessible to the cliffs if you don't have a car. Friendly staff, we stayed in a 6bed dorm which was very roomy. The hostel itself is super cute with a bunch of outdoor space, & lisdoonvarna is a cute small town. Would definitely recommend for people with a car!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
8.9

a nice hostel with good wi-fi, very important these days. and a good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.