X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Burren Hostel (Sleepzone) Reviews

Lisdoonvarna, The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
641 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great Hostel in small town with perfect start to discover the west coast. Staff is really nice and helpful. The rooms are big with enough space for the travellers. It's an old hotel, so the bathrooms are great. Only the flush is slow and little bit loud. I liked the stay and would come back. Travelling by bus is not perfect because it comes only every 90 minutes, but it's okay.


100%

5 star attention from Aoibhinn who had a big job on her hands but nevertheless put everyone at ease. Thanks to her and her staff I had a delightful stay. I had much appreciated help with travel plans and recommendations for enjoying the area..


100%

Had a great time, defo the best hostel I ever stayed in and better than a few hotels too. Staff were great, the light continental brekkie was a bonus I didnt expect and it was clean throughout. Highly recommend the hostel

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very cozy hostel with nice rooms and food options available. Great price for all the we could get. The only complaint is that there was definitely a mold problem in the room we were in, and it was difficult to breathe at night, even with the window open. Very stuffy room and damp. They need to fix the mold problem. Other than that it was a great and the staff was very friendly and helpful!


69%

The staff were wonderful! Bathrooms in my room could use a good clean/TLC


91%

We loved this hostel. It was rather difficult to get to as you have to take a bus from the airport to Ennis then wait for another bus. Its entirely worth it when you get there. The people are lovely and the smoked salmon that is made across the street is delicious. Its a short bus ride to the cliffs of moher too which is great. We hope to be back there again soon!


74%

Mouldy Film corners in the dormitory room, who is allergic to that should look somewhere else. The walkable fridge is also not very well kept, nobody would store food in sth. like this at home. But as to cleanliness: I have seen much worse in Irish hostel kitchens so that would not keep me back from booking again.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was friendly and super helpful!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

This was the second time we stayed here and enjoyed the experience both times. Great location. Hostel a bit rundown, but comfortable and worth the money.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I came to your hostel with family and friends and everything Was great. We had two very welcomed surprizes: breakfast included and a very nice playground for our little children nearby. Thanks

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

We only stayed for one night at the hostel.. Lady at the reception very friendly and helpfull, took her time even tho she was very busy! We slept in a 6 dorm room, enough space in the room and clean. Short drive to Cliffs of Mohir and other sightseeing, local bar around the corner was a great recommendation!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - thank you very much for your lovely positive review - which I have passed onto our team here. Pity you only got to stay one night. We were very busy when you were here. We are very lucky to be near such an amazing attraction as the Cliffs and the Roadside is a great spot. Take care & hope to see you maybe in a quieter time. Thanks Aoibhinn

89%

Unbeatable value for money and perfect location to scout the wonderful Burren area. It feels like a family and the staff is super nice and ready to assist in any request you may have.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very lucky with our location as there is so much to do in the area for all ages and many guests comment on the homey & familial atmosphere that we have created. Thanks again Daniele - please feel free to visit anytime again. Warmest Regards Aoibhinn

94%

Really neat place to chill, close to the village and to a nice traditional pub. Quiet, clean dorms. No lockers in the dorms but otherwise awesome facilities and fantastic common areas. Super lovely staff.


97%

very nice hostel, and there is a pub about 3 mins walk that's the best in Ireland!!


94%

Great atmosphere, calm and quiet village. Ideal for prople with own vehicle.


83%

We had a nice big room with plenty of space (twin room). The hostel is very comfortable with a cosy dining room and lounge room. The kitchen needs more tea towels and needs to be renovated to provide better storage space. Hot water took a long time to come through when washing up. Some guests didn't keep the kitchen clean and so the kitchen needs to be better monitored by staff. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Overall, an enjoyable stay and plenty to do and see in the area.


91%

We had a great time at the Burren Hostel. It is an excellent location to explore the environment (Burren, Arand Islands, The Cliffs, ...). The lady who is running the hostel is energetic and very customer oriented.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

It's a good hostel with a perfect location. The staff was correct and they helped us for everything we need.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive review Antonio - really appreciate it. Hope to see you again sometime. Aoibhinn

91%

Perfect place to rest after a day hike at the Cliffs of Moher.


86%

Definitely for backpackers and cyclists who are going to explore the countryside and don't mind the small, quiet town. The building's quite old (used to be a hotel) and has a charm about it. Our ensuite bathroom needed some work, but it was a good stay otherwise!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Cliffs of Moher Hostels

Please give us your feedback