X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House Reviews

506 SE 16th Str, Fort Lauderdale, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
339 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

This was not a crew house/hostel, it was filled with bums and people that were permanently living there, treating it like it was their personal home and that you were invading. There 'guests' that were staying there were very disgusting, one man trying to punch a female and the police getting involved. I never felt safe there. You had to provide your own toilet paper, there was no housekeeping, stunk of smoke everywhere, dirty and uncomfortable beds, aircon didnt work. Worst stay ever!!!!

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Cool Cool Cool Place. Loved it here!

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place with Rad People. Super Friendly staff

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The stay was fine. We were just staying the night on a layover and it worked perfectly for that. Not somewhere I would want to stay at for too long but it does the job!


100%

Love this hostel! I will be back again, next time in South Florida!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I loved the Atmosphere of this place! So much fun to just hangout around the pool!

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

More suited to older (30-40) crowds.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Good price for the night. Close to airport. Mia was helpful with instructions on what to do and how to get around which was great. Air conditioning wasn't working and no fan so i was roasting all night and wasn't comfortable. No towels. Kinda run down place but i guess that's what you get for the price. Some strange racist dude staying there for a long time now. He's a little unhinged.


100%

Everyone was friendly and they play music all the time. We had fun.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

place has a nice setup. converted apartment building so each dorm has its own kitchen. super convenient when traveling on the cheap

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

fun place with a community feel. everyone that works there is nice.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Armenia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed here on a layover between flight and cruise. Super close to the airport and can walk to port. wish I had more time to check out fort lauderdale.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Late check in was easy. Basic and clean accomodations. Social place.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Yeah not bad, did the job for a night. Couple of really good pubs just down the road from it


20%

If you visit F.lauderdale i do not recommend this hostel. You are better off at a motel. The room was dirty, the bathroom was filthy and full of hair on the floor. The couch was really dirty and seemed yellow instead of the original color white. The bed was very uncomfortable and the shades hanging from the window were broken. The bed sheets were never changed and there was no bathroom paper provided. I also left a box of donuts on the kitchen counter over night and it was full of ants in the am

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

My friends and I really enjoyed the Chocolate Hostel and Crew House. The atmosphere was really nice and inviting, some of the guest are staying longer but they are all so helpful, you can sense a community vibe. The room was really organized and it was like an apartment. The staff was international young and travel minded. It exceeded my expectations for Fort Lauderdale.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I had a good time at this hostel. The travelers were quite nice as well as the facility and amenities. The girl was very friendly and helped us a lot. The location was really close to the airport and bar area.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

a friend who stayed at this hostel recommended it to me. I can truly say it was a very cool spot. Definitely recommended to travel minded travelers.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Average hostel. The bad part is that the reception closes early. Good part is that every dorm has its own bathroom, kitchen and living room.


43%

While I am used to European hostels where there are common areas and events organised for residents to meet each other, this was really just a run-down motel that fell far from my expectations. Our room was ok, no frills and our sheets seemed to be thin pieces of poorly cut fabric from a fabric store. We really barely stayed there and tried to get out as much as possible, very dodgy crowd at night and tons of locals (not the good ones) hung out all night drinking


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Fort Lauderdale Hostels

Please give us your feedback