X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

The Chocolate Five star Hostel and Crew House Reviews

506 SE 16th Str, Fort Lauderdale, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
329 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Good price for the night. Close to airport. Mia was helpful with instructions on what to do and how to get around which was great. Air conditioning wasn't working and no fan so i was roasting all night and wasn't comfortable. No towels. Kinda run down place but i guess that's what you get for the price. Some strange racist dude staying there for a long time now. He's a little unhinged.


100%

Everyone was friendly and they play music all the time. We had fun.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

place has a nice setup. converted apartment building so each dorm has its own kitchen. super convenient when traveling on the cheap

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

fun place with a community feel. everyone that works there is nice.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Armenia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed here on a layover between flight and cruise. Super close to the airport and can walk to port. wish I had more time to check out fort lauderdale.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Late check in was easy. Basic and clean accomodations. Social place.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Yeah not bad, did the job for a night. Couple of really good pubs just down the road from it


20%

If you visit F.lauderdale i do not recommend this hostel. You are better off at a motel. The room was dirty, the bathroom was filthy and full of hair on the floor. The couch was really dirty and seemed yellow instead of the original color white. The bed was very uncomfortable and the shades hanging from the window were broken. The bed sheets were never changed and there was no bathroom paper provided. I also left a box of donuts on the kitchen counter over night and it was full of ants in the am

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

My friends and I really enjoyed the Chocolate Hostel and Crew House. The atmosphere was really nice and inviting, some of the guest are staying longer but they are all so helpful, you can sense a community vibe. The room was really organized and it was like an apartment. The staff was international young and travel minded. It exceeded my expectations for Fort Lauderdale.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I had a good time at this hostel. The travelers were quite nice as well as the facility and amenities. The girl was very friendly and helped us a lot. The location was really close to the airport and bar area.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

a friend who stayed at this hostel recommended it to me. I can truly say it was a very cool spot. Definitely recommended to travel minded travelers.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Average hostel. The bad part is that the reception closes early. Good part is that every dorm has its own bathroom, kitchen and living room.


100%

this hostel was a great stay. the bedroom was comfortable and clean I had a a very good time meeting other travelers.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

nice place, rooms are very private even if you stay at the dorm. the set up is quite nice, kitchen, bathroom common area. we also enjoyed the ambiance of the outdoor garden as well as meeting some very interesting characters. the sfaff arranged a personalized guide of places to go in town, since we were only staying for 2 nights.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Overall my stay at the chocolate was great, the sleeping accommodation was clean and very comfortable. Mia was really cool and inviting. I recommend to any traveler

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

By itself, the hostel was nice. The only thing i didn't like , were some of the people (older men) who were hanging around their the most of the time. A thing i would change or (in their case renew it) would be the map of the hostel and the sights around it. It was hard to read and i wasn't always sure, where the things are located.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

the hostel was more than we expected for sure. there is a very inviting hostel community, made up of people from all over, some students some locals and some travelers, we really enjoyed that. the outdoor garden and pool are really great to hang. the vibe is very chill. my room was clean and housekeeping was really helpful as well as the staff. I liked the feel that it was not a corporate kind of hostel but more family oriented.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I enjoyed my stay at the Chocolate Hostel, I was not expecting so much of Ft Lauderdale but I ended up having a better time than in South Beach, much more laidback and relax, the hostel is close to the main attactions in the city, close to airport and to the party area of downtown. stayed in a female only dorm. I was pleased with the size of the room and the facilities.The atmosphere at the hostel is quite inviting easy to meet people an socialize, The girl and staff working there is very nice.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely one of the best stays in a hostel I have ever experienced! Staff are great, the hostel is clean, there is nice kitchen in the dorm. people very friendly we love the patio by the pool. Room is a good size the pool is nice and has lots of deck chairs, The atmosphere is cool, the music, the people, and there is always something to do!

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you for all the good service!

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Fort Lauderdale Hostels

Please give us your feedback