X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Grand Hotel Reviews

1130 Pukuatua st, Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

58%

Rating
51 Total Reviews
  • 57%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 40%Atmosphere
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 49%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Room was very well priced. It is exactly what it says. You get a bed, a sink in the bedroom, a separate shower and toilet. Everything was clean, and the bed comfortable. The problem is location. The room was situated over a bar, with live music (till 3am on the day we were there). The street also contains other bars, and so there was music from them, and then further noise in the street until 4ish. Okay stay for midweek, but I wouldn't do a Friday or Saturday again.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

The kitchen was completely empty of equipment: There were 1 fork, when we came, and a guest took it to his/room, so last day there were no fork at all. Very dirty. A terrace outside the kitchen also so dirty. Dirty carpets all over the hostel. We got a room, and that's it. But on a hostel we expect more. One of the things we expect is a kitchen, where there is a Little equipment for cooking.


37%

I no I booked a budget room but I still would have expected cleanliness, black mould around the windows, room not vacuumed, scum around the bath tub and not even a change of towels. Overall the place is so run down and I would never stay there again.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You booked a double bed for yourself, mother in law and nephew at $55 per night for 2 nights. Staff offered an upgrade to a Premier room as it would be more suitable but you declined. Your comments on cleanliness are of concern and several staff have inspected the room and this is not correct. With any issues regarding servicing, cleanliness or other fault of the property the reception staff should be notified immediately so they can attend to it and ensure you have an enjoyable stay.



View all Rotorua Hostels

Please give us your feedback