X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Island Hotel Bali Reviews

Jl. Padma Utara, Legian, Kuta, Kuta, Indonesia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
524 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Second time I stayed here after a trip around Bali. Very friendly staff who're willing to help you with anything. The pool is nice, food's good and you'll meet lots of lovely people. Definetly worth a visit if you want to stay in the more relaxed area of Kuta/Legian.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Love this place! Stayed 3 times on our travels round Bali. Good location, slightly out of the way from Kuta proper (this is a good thing!) but still plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. Staff are excellent and extremely helpful, facilities also great (pool, restaurant, masseuse, satellite TV in the private rooms). The only annoyance is not being able to get wifi in the rooms (you can get it in common areas) but otherwise a great place to stay and meet people. Would recommend.


91%

Our stay at at the island was excellent. The staff was very helpful in arranging bike rentals and taxi rides. The private room was simple and clean.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location, really relaxed, fair price.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel I've ever stayed in! It's not hard to find and is only a five minute walk from the beach and shops/restaurants. You can grab a 10 min taxi ride to kuta for very cheap. Staff are really friendly and the pool and cafe are great. Beds are incredibly comfy and everywhere is very clean. Met loads of great people here as it seems to be the favourite place to stay in legion/kuta.


89%

I stayed in thr Island Hostel for 3 nights and I really enjoyed it. The place is beautiful. With a pool, Roof Terrace and a good Bar (the pizza is amazing). The place is light and clean. My 12 dorm bedroom was huge and the beds are big and sooo comfortable with curtains and walls to have your privacy. The stuff is helpful and speaks good english. The location is 15min by food from Kuta Centre. I'm comming back!!!


86%

nice Pool Clean and spacious dorm rooms lovely cafe - the one bathroom in the first floor is kind of shady

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The common areas make this a very social hostel. The dorm rooms are very spacious, got lockers, reading lamps and the best beds. The pizzas are highly recommended!


89%

It is very nice cross between a hotel and a hostel. The staff are nice and friendly and can speak English. Facilities are superb except sadly for the wifi, which is not working very well and often I had to go to the cafe next door to get Internet.


91%

Very sociable place, if you want to meet people it's perfect. The public showers and toilets are brilliant. Nice pool. All around recommended from me.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Unfortunately the hostel is hard to find, during the day but especially at night! It's only accessible by small alleyways which are poorly lit. The locals drive up these at night and bag snatch so never walk alone. I managed to hold onto my bag but others weren't so lucky! Otherwise, the hostel is good, nice pool, clean, big dorms, great pizza and decent breakfast included. Just be aware at night and don't take anything of value out with you, just enough money for the night.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Beautiful hostel with nice cosy rooms. Gorgeous pool in the middle of the property and sky deck gives a good view of surrounding environment. Excellent staff, always ready to help and are all very friendly. Highly recommended for those coming to Bali. Will be back!

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Don't let the location down the end of a long alley deter you, the place is definitely at the more luxurious end of hostels I've stayed at, with a lovely pool and general area. Staff were friendly and helpful making sure I caught the correct taxi to the airport. The dorm I stayed in was quite large but didn't feel crowded. The bed was generous, clean and very comfortable. I will definitely stay again

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice hostel! Clean and the most comfy beds. Spacious dorms. Nice swimming pool and showers. Good pizza. Social area with WiFi


80%

Great facilities ! Really nice pool (even if I've never seen it being cleaned) and sunset tower. Dorm was amazing. Really comfy beds with privacy walls and lockers. Staffs, especially the bar & restaurant one, could be more friendly (ie. not getting freaking upset when you need to split the100 000 bills that you just got from the ATM...) The alley way is quit and you can get a taxi on Legian street after less than 30' walk


97%

It was a great stay. The food was very good but maybe the price could be a bit cheaper. It has some food places around with more options for breakfast with same price. Could also organize some hostel parties by the pool..The ambiance is great for that and is sad that the bar upstairs is not been used.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel, not easy to find but worth doing so! Everyone here was friendly and te dorms super clean! Great comfy beds and air con! Pool is really lovely and just what you need! Food really really good and cheap would reccomend it to people on their own and in groups, met lovely people here, worth the little bit extra! Close to beach but ask for directions as not obvious! Lots going on near here bars/restuarants/spas but quiet down this little side street


91%

Staff were amazing and helpful!

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place with a beautiful pool area, unfortunately the hostel was a bit quiet during my stay but met many nice people anyway. Locationwise a bit tricky, but once you get used to it it's allright!


94%

Excellent hostel! Delicious free breakfast and very helpful staff!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all Kuta Hostels

Please give us your feedback