X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Island Hotel Bali Reviews

Jl. Padma Utara, Legian, Kuta, Kuta, Indonesia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
543 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I stayed in thr Island Hostel for 3 nights and I really enjoyed it. The place is beautiful. With a pool, Roof Terrace and a good Bar (the pizza is amazing). The place is light and clean. My 12 dorm bedroom was huge and the beds are big and sooo comfortable with curtains and walls to have your privacy. The stuff is helpful and speaks good english. The location is 15min by food from Kuta Centre. I'm comming back!!!


86%

nice Pool Clean and spacious dorm rooms lovely cafe - the one bathroom in the first floor is kind of shady

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The common areas make this a very social hostel. The dorm rooms are very spacious, got lockers, reading lamps and the best beds. The pizzas are highly recommended!


89%

It is very nice cross between a hotel and a hostel. The staff are nice and friendly and can speak English. Facilities are superb except sadly for the wifi, which is not working very well and often I had to go to the cafe next door to get Internet.


91%

Very sociable place, if you want to meet people it's perfect. The public showers and toilets are brilliant. Nice pool. All around recommended from me.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Unfortunately the hostel is hard to find, during the day but especially at night! It's only accessible by small alleyways which are poorly lit. The locals drive up these at night and bag snatch so never walk alone. I managed to hold onto my bag but others weren't so lucky! Otherwise, the hostel is good, nice pool, clean, big dorms, great pizza and decent breakfast included. Just be aware at night and don't take anything of value out with you, just enough money for the night.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Beautiful hostel with nice cosy rooms. Gorgeous pool in the middle of the property and sky deck gives a good view of surrounding environment. Excellent staff, always ready to help and are all very friendly. Highly recommended for those coming to Bali. Will be back!

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Don't let the location down the end of a long alley deter you, the place is definitely at the more luxurious end of hostels I've stayed at, with a lovely pool and general area. Staff were friendly and helpful making sure I caught the correct taxi to the airport. The dorm I stayed in was quite large but didn't feel crowded. The bed was generous, clean and very comfortable. I will definitely stay again

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice hostel! Clean and the most comfy beds. Spacious dorms. Nice swimming pool and showers. Good pizza. Social area with WiFi


80%

Great facilities ! Really nice pool (even if I've never seen it being cleaned) and sunset tower. Dorm was amazing. Really comfy beds with privacy walls and lockers. Staffs, especially the bar & restaurant one, could be more friendly (ie. not getting freaking upset when you need to split the100 000 bills that you just got from the ATM...) The alley way is quit and you can get a taxi on Legian street after less than 30' walk


97%

It was a great stay. The food was very good but maybe the price could be a bit cheaper. It has some food places around with more options for breakfast with same price. Could also organize some hostel parties by the pool..The ambiance is great for that and is sad that the bar upstairs is not been used.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel, not easy to find but worth doing so! Everyone here was friendly and te dorms super clean! Great comfy beds and air con! Pool is really lovely and just what you need! Food really really good and cheap would reccomend it to people on their own and in groups, met lovely people here, worth the little bit extra! Close to beach but ask for directions as not obvious! Lots going on near here bars/restuarants/spas but quiet down this little side street


91%

Staff were amazing and helpful!


86%

Nice place with a beautiful pool area, unfortunately the hostel was a bit quiet during my stay but met many nice people anyway. Locationwise a bit tricky, but once you get used to it it's allright!


94%

Excellent hostel! Delicious free breakfast and very helpful staff!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

little pricey for a hostel but it's worth it

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely cafe and central pool area, very beautiful and relaxing! The rooms were nice, not too roomy for the price, and the location is a bit far from the action in Kuta (though it would be ideal if you're looking to avoid the hustle and bustle). A great atmosphere and experience overall.


91%

I love this hotel. It reminds me the good time we have- absolutely fun, youthful, and cheerful.. It is definitely worthwhile to stay in Lagien and explore one of its allies. You see so much local life here. The hotel is nice and clean. The staff a bit proud, but I like their style. They also provide a very useful local map with which you can find restaurants, cafes. The hotel itself is a set of modern Bali structures, which is absolutely charming. Thank you for setting up the hotel.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice place. Pool's great, wifi's good and dorm's nice just not great for meeting people


94%

Best place 2 stay! Loved the swimmingpool


(50 results)


View all Kuta Hostels

Please give us your feedback