Hostelworld.com

The Oldmill Holiday Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.5
The Oldmill Holiday Hostel Located at Barrack Yard, James Street, Westport.
The Oldmill Holiday Hostel
Ireland
Westport Barrack Yard, James Street
83% 266
53.8002959 -9.5237731
The Oldmill Holiday Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Jun 2016
7.7

No shelves or lockers for storage. Water temperature in showers was not adjustable and was set at nearly scalding temperature. Otherwise was a decent place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
2.9

Terribly unsecure facility. No place to put your bags. The best they could tell me was "we have never had anything stolen". Terribly showers/bathroom. Small, the door doesn't even close. Dirty facility, nasty staff. Receptionist spoke very broken English (French accent), and was very rude. I didn't even stay the night. I picked up and moved that instant. This place is an abomination.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your account and review run contrary to most if not all of our other reviews. We have a French lady who works with us and her English is very good and her manner is normally very,very friendly. Our toilets and showers are all new and less than 2 years old. We do have lockers for valuables which you can hire for a small price. It is true that we live in a safe place with very little or no crime. I think you might have had a bad day and we are sorry about that but your score is not reflective of the real situation at the Old Mill Holiday Hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th May 2016
6.6

Very average. There are codes to access the rooms which was a bit different. The beds weren't great, but the location was wonderful!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I would contest strongly that this is not a fair comment. We are consistently ranked as well above average in the hostel market with repeat guests coming every year to us, for over twenty years, telling us that we have made huge improvements over that last 6 years and that we have a great facility which is well run and maintained.

30th May 2016
10.0

Elise was a marvellous hostess baking fresh Irish soda bread for the guests. A delightful stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th May 2016
5.7

Loud guests, no security on site. Good location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
8.9

Very welcoming staff. Had a great 2 days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
10.0

I have been staying at this hostel since it opened in 1991 (I think). I have watched the changes taking place but one thing never changes - the lovely people who work there, the friendliness and the help given. Also, the way you are invited into their lives and their conversations and their laughter. My last stay in May was the best ever. Thank you all - you know who you are. x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for you kind and generous review and we hope to see you again soon !

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
8.9

Very good facilities but could be improved by a television/lounge room and more facilities in bedrooms including facilities for clothes storage, a few chairs and bedside lights. Can sometimes have noisy parties at weekends back excellent at other times and value for money

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, we don't have a TV room and we never have had one since 1991. We believe that the common room is a great place to meet people and share tales of travel and life. There's usually no time to watch TV :) if the conversation is good enough.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th May 2016
9.4

Had an absolutely lovely stay here, friendly informative staff, comfy beds - didn't take a shower so can't comment on that, but loved everything else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2016
8.0

Great location and facilities. Friendly staff in particular the workaday girls and Anthony. Thank you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.