Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Oldmill Holiday Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.6
The Oldmill Holiday Hostel Located at Barrack Yard, James Street, Westport.
The Oldmill Holiday Hostel
Ireland
Westport Barrack Yard, James Street
83% 323
53.8002959 -9.5237731
The Oldmill Holiday Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • whitlock19837548
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
13th Sep 2016
8.9

Pros: Very central. A nice big room. Big kitchen. Cons: Breakfast was simply bread and jam. The room could do with more than 2 plug sockets for a 12 bed dorm. Also there is no way to dry your hands in the communal bathroom.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
8.3

This was my third consecutive year at the hostel. For me the greatest asset is the ability to park my car(free) right outside the door and the short walking distance to some of the greatest traditional music venues. I always go to Westport when I visit Ireland and will always stay at The Old Mill so long as they continue to maintain their present standard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • joryanjo9696
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Aug 2016
7.1

When I arrived the staff seemed very rushed and the girl checking me in was more interested in answering the phone than showing me anything, she basically opened the door and I figured things out for myself. The room was very clean but there were no lockers so I had to leave my stuff in my car. The bed was comfy but got no sleep the walls are very thin so I could hear entire conversations and loud snoring all night. I would stay again if in a groupbut not solo.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
9.7

Not really "free parking" as there's only 5 spaces that were always occupied, but parking in the car park beside was cheap enough. And not really what I'd call a "free breakfast" as it was just a loaf of bread. But for €25 a night these are very minor things that wouldn't bother me really. Very friendly, very clean, and safe. Bang in the middle of the town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
9.1

Great place! Lovely staff who were easy to get on with, very laid back and personable atmosphere, clean as a whistle and generally just a really tightly run ship. Highlights included a spontaneous acoustic guitar singalong, complete with French girls providing drums (French girls who should totally get in touch if they read this, just saying) and that great bread they make for breakfast. I don't have many complaints, only minor nitpicks, (kitchen lights are a bit low, bunkbeds a bit small etc.)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
6.9

The beds are bad and so small. My back hurt every morning. There's no where for privacy in the building, and you can hear every step, door and word no matter where you are, you either get boiling hot or freezing showers, there's spider webs everywhere as well. The people were nice but most of the staff were travelers and didn't speak much English.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Aug 2016
7.7

Very average. There are codes to access the rooms which was a bit different. The beds were not great, but the location was wonderful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ilyalisser7507
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.0

+: Great location, good facilities. - : The girl who worked at the reception was not very kind. She was quickly annoyed and was not very helpful. The guy who worked there as well was great though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jul 2016
8.3

Lovely hostel in a great location, friendly staff, breakfast included

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
8.3

Believe the other review that says the water was too hot. "We have had this problem before", I was told. Besides that and the children running loudly until 11 pm, it's a nice place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.