Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Oldmill Holiday Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
The Oldmill Holiday Hostel Located at Barrack Yard, James Street, Westport.
The Oldmill Holiday Hostel
Ireland
Westport Barrack Yard, James Street
82% 306
53.8002959 -9.5237731
The Oldmill Holiday Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
9.7

Not really "free parking" as there's only 5 spaces that were always occupied, but parking in the car park beside was cheap enough. And not really what I'd call a "free breakfast" as it was just a loaf of bread. But for €25 a night these are very minor things that wouldn't bother me really. Very friendly, very clean, and safe. Bang in the middle of the town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
9.1

Great place! Lovely staff who were easy to get on with, very laid back and personable atmosphere, clean as a whistle and generally just a really tightly run ship. Highlights included a spontaneous acoustic guitar singalong, complete with French girls providing drums (French girls who should totally get in touch if they read this, just saying) and that great bread they make for breakfast. I don't have many complaints, only minor nitpicks, (kitchen lights are a bit low, bunkbeds a bit small etc.)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Aug 2016
6.9

The beds are bad and so small. My back hurt every morning. There's no where for privacy in the building, and you can hear every step, door and word no matter where you are, you either get boiling hot or freezing showers, there's spider webs everywhere as well. The people were nice but most of the staff were travelers and didn't speak much English.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ilyalisser7507
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.0

+: Great location, good facilities. - : The girl who worked at the reception was not very kind. She was quickly annoyed and was not very helpful. The guy who worked there as well was great though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jul 2016
8.3

Lovely hostel in a great location, friendly staff, breakfast included

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
8.3

Believe the other review that says the water was too hot. "We have had this problem before", I was told. Besides that and the children running loudly until 11 pm, it's a nice place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
6.0

My experience at this hostel was AWFUL!!! 1. They put us in a 5-man room that had 5 beds and 1 cot. They only had 2 beds available for the 3 people in our group, so I had to sleep on the cot. I couldn't even fit on the cot because it was so small! 2. They charged me more than the agreed amount, because they did not recognize the deposit I had already paid on HostelWorld. 3. Our neighbors partied SO loudly until 5 am. No staff available to help all night or in the morning. No sleep all night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.However, a few corrections need to made to your account. You were given a 4 bed dorm which has an extra pull out bed. We did not charge you anything extra, we only charged you the balance of the booking. Hostelworld charge a booking deposit from both the guest and the hostel property. This can be confusing for guests. Our staff are there all night in case of emergencies but they do not try and control / vet noise in bedrooms. We ask all our guests to be quiet after midnight.

13th Jul 2016
7.1

Male and female showers and toilets are good but are on different floors whilst there are no toilets in the "kitchen/lounge area". This area is not opened until 08:00hrs. Area outside the kitchen/lounge is still a mud and stone chipping road. Hostel is popular with larger organised groups that can overwhelm other users and make kitchen facilities very limited. Three nights with three different beds as a result. Staff friendly and informative. Location excellent with adjacent car park if required

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
8.0

Nice room, good kitchen. showers couldnt be locked.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2016
7.7

No shelves or lockers for storage. Water temperature in showers was not adjustable and was set at nearly scalding temperature. Otherwise was a decent place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.