Hostelworld.com

The Siem Reap Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 3,452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 3,452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.4
The Siem Reap Hostel Located at 7 Makara St (High School Road), Wat Damnak, Siem Reap.
The Siem Reap Hostel
Cambodia
Siem Reap 7 Makara St (High School Road), Wat Damnak
93% 3452
13.3523350 103.8575738
The Siem Reap Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2016
9.7

Great hostel, very friendly and helpful staff! The rooms were clean and very cool. Definitely recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th May 2016
8.6

This hostel is really cool and the facilities are great but it is just lacking! It is a shame as there is so much potential but the place has zero atmosphere. We went for happy hour three times and no one was there and the music playing was pretty tragic. Queen, abba and rod Stewart, who are they trying to appeal to? Went to the 'Sunday bbq pool party', we were the only ones there. They need to be doing more to get people through the door! Pub street is where it's at! And luckily, great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! Well thanks for the kind remarks. It is low season and this year for lotsa reasons, numbers of visitors are down at present -but as the #1 ranked hostel in the country (like on HW and TA and stuff) we're still rockin' pretty well. If you don't appreciate the few bits of kitche we've thrown in the mix of the 3500 tracks of super cool sh&t we play here then you may need to check your sense of humour - while there's no Abba, we'll certainly consider adding some because their production values and song writing was seminal to many of the great, contemporary dance remixes we all love today - and play here. We cater to those who don't want a 24 hour noisy party hostel, with a chill and relaxed vibe for those wanting to explore the Temples and the culture of the local area. That said, our bar and restaurant is a great place to meet others - just check all the other comments here about this. All the Best!:-)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th May 2016
8.9

Rooms were big, huge lockers were a bonus. There was a balcony off the room which was perfect for hanging out towels. Pool was great, covered from direct sunlight. Food was alright but fairly expensive, and the location is a bit further out than what we had expected. Over all, good place to stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hiya - if you're in doubt about our location, check the Maps tab here. We're only 500m from Pub St and one of the closest hostel to the action, while being far enough away to not be bothered by the noise. Our food is presented with quality, heath and sustainability in mind - no msg, no palm oil (in fact our used oil gets recycled into biodiesel) and prepared in a western style kitchen by trained local chefs. Glad you enjoyed your time here! :-)

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th May 2016
9.4

Just great, I can totally recommend this place. The value for money isn't great in whole Cambodia, but I did the best deals in this hostel (breakfast for 2$ 😉😍)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2016
9.7

Would absolutely stay here again/recommend to anyone traveling in siem reap. The location is great, very close walk to the old market, pub street, bars, restaurants, ice cream. There is a cinema room where they play movies every night, & cold pool!! Stayed in 6 bed female dorm, great air con, facilities were clean and well kept. Our tuk tuk driver really made our trip! He treated us like royalty for such a low price. He even gave us a bag of mangoes from his own property everyday to snack on!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
7.7

The hostel is conveniently located near the Old Market and Night Market. They provide access to tuk tuk drivers who will organize travel to Angkor Wat. The 18-bed dorm I stayed in was basic - beds were comfortable, AC was great, but the room was a little cramped. The lockers are a bit difficult to get to, especially if you have a giant bag. The facilities could use a little updating, but the staff were friendly and the food decent. Would come back again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for the review - yes you stayed in our basic dorm. We also have deluxe 6 bed dorms for just a couple bucks more. We have a range of choices for accommodation types and prices but everyone gets access to our unmatched range of facilities and activities - pics are available here of the various room and bed types, for those who are wondering. All the Best! :-)

  • E_salter1990
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th May 2016
9.7

Nice hostel, good location, lovely staff. Nice big rooms which were kept clean and great a/c. Food good but a little pricey especially for the local dishes. Nice cinema room. Food walking tour was fun and the organised tours/sharing tuk Tuks were a nice touch. The bus from the hostel to Battambang was a nightmare and took 5 hours instead of 3. Cheap beer! And good pool. Great atmosphere I would highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
10.0

The best that I have seen for quite a while. The house staff were hust brilliant. Wish them well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th May 2016
10.0

Such a good hostel. Cold pool, AC, good beds, good food, good atmosphere. Stay here for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I can confirm that this review is completely correct and you should do what she says. (Thanks!) :-)

  • Anonymous
  • US Virgin Islands, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2016
10.0

We had private rooms for 4nights. Close by to temples and walk to Pub Street. Very clean and good pool/food/staff. Free airport pickup, just email them your flight info and we be waiting. Nice balcony view from 3rd fl. Nice bathroom and ac. Stay here! They treat their staff well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.