X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Siem Reap Hostel Reviews

7 Makara St (High School Road), Wat Damnak, Siem Reap, Cambodia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
3138 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I've stayed at some damn good hostels, but without a doubt, this one was the best, everything was awesome, this place has one numerous awards that are on display at the hostel and they absolutely, 110% EARNED them, if you go to Siem Reap, you HAVE to stay at The Siem Reap Hostel, thank you Gus, Ramorn, and everybody else. -matthew

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review - and you're very welcome. Always nice to hear people love it here at the SRH as much as we do. Cheers, From all the team here! :-)

100%

This hostel very quickly made my short list of places to stay that are homes away from home. I have never met hotel employees as genuinely kind as those from The Siem Reap Hostel. The lounge space, yoga classes, pool, on-site spa, 3x daily movie screenings, and large dining and entertainment area downstairs demonstrate management's accommodation of guest's needs. I also really appreciated the organized tuk-tuk tours and system for sign-up on the white board-- great way to save money.


86%

Good hostel, great swimming pool to relax after walking around the temples. Bathroom was not so clean, though.


100%

We loved our stay here! The tuk tuk pick up from the airport was great (and included!) The common area was large and the yoga space was beautiful. All of the staff was very helpful. The extra things were what made this hostel great. The hostel has set prices for certain routes with their tuk tuk drivers which took the whole anxiety of planning our trip around the temples. We stuck with our driver who picked us up from the airport and were so well-taken care of! The free bikes were great too!


97%

The best! Recommended, i stayed at dorm and the air conditioner was not cold, but the staff really helpful and assist me to move to another room.

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The food was amazing quality, I wish there was a field to rate the food! Great hostel atmosphere and all really friendly. The pool is really cold which is awesome when you're boiling away in Siem Reap

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I have stayed in. 50 cent beers were awesome. Very sociable hostel and met a lot of good people. Great tours to Ankor wat available at the hostel.


100%

This hostel really has it all. Got a free pick up from a super friendly tuk tuk driver. Rooms are spacious with air con, seperate bathroom and toilet. Staff is really friendly and helps you out with booking activities or onward travel. There is a bar with food/drinks that are good value for money and it's easy to connect with other travellers. There is also yoga, a tv room and a spa. Would recommend and stay here again.


100%

I've been travelling for four months and stayed in many hostels and I would put Siem Reap Hostel in the top 2 or 3. It's perfectly placed being just a 5 minute walk from pub street. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Appreciate the fact that although there are a couple of western staff, majority of the crew is from Cambodia. The bar, pool and common area really provides a great atmosphere to meet fellow travellers. Beds were very comfortable with good AC throughout the dorms. Highly recommend!


100%

This was one of the best hostels I stayed at in my entire 3 month travels across Thailand, Indonesia, Cambodia and Laos - didn't want to leave! Fantastic facilities, indoor pool with excellent usage hours, comfortable spacious and clean dorms, fantastic staff who are friendly, fun, helpful and very knowledgeable about the local area, great bar/restaurant area, tour and travel desk and options for local reliable transport set up.....absolutely everything you need! Thank you for an amazing stay!


97%

Like all the initiatives that this hostel has implemented for both its staff and environment. Very helpful staff.

  • 6th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice place with a cheap happy hour and a place for just lounging, playing pool, or sitting at the bar. Love the free cinema screening 3 movies a day and the sign up board for tuk tuks.


89%

There is a reason that this hostel is pretty popular. Enough area for socializing. Not like a noisy party hostel though. Kind staffs.


100%

Can't recommend this place enough. Cheap beer. Nice pool. Clean air conditioned rooms with large bathroom and separate toilet. Big, comfy beds. They can organise any tour you need at a very reasonable price. They have their own tuk tuk drivers who are very reasonably priced and won't rip you off. Great for meeting people and very helpful staff. Hostel kitchen food very good (unusual for a hostel in my experience) in case you need a quick meal and no time to head out


100%

No complaints about this hostel! Good staff good rooms(awesome ac) lots of board games etc to keep you busy! Would return.


66%

Too many lizards!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! You make us sound like a lizard farm! The Common Asian House Gecko,is a friendly acrobat that can run across ceilings & does nothing but good by munching up any bugs that might be around. As the name suggests, they're everywhere across SEA. If cute little lizards worry you then maybe a trip to the region isn't a good plan. You only stayed less than 24 hours here b4 you left for the airport so I'm not sure this is a fair appraisal! We offer so much more than cute lizards! All the best! :-)

94%

Great stay - helpful staffs.


100%

Superb hostel! Definetly up there with the best. Great place to meet people, great food menu, and awesome drink specials. Rooms are well kept with good amenities. Great for booking excursions and the hostel has its own legit tuk tuk drivers waiting out front to take you anywhere in the city. Thanks Gus & Driess!


97%

Amazing place and one of the best hostels I've been to in Southeast Asia. If you like some comfort, it's definitely worth spending a bit more. It also helps the local staff enjoy some of the benefits we take for granted when applying for a job in Western countries. All the best!


100%

Excellent service from all of the dedicated members of staff. Great atmosphere. Great people. Great location. The Siem Reap Hostel's comittment to taking social and environmental responsibility makes it stand out even more, leading the way and setting an example for others hostels and businesses. If I ever return to Siem Reap I know where I'll be staying.


(211 results)


View all Siem Reap Hostels

Please give us your feedback