X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Walrus Hostel Reviews

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
701 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Hostel located on top of a bar, which closes at 11pm. Good area, great for exploring Southwark, one of London's underrated neighborhoods. Staff very friendly and helpful. Standard hostel breakfast (coffee, juice, cereal, toast). Walking distance to many top sights. Decent room and beds.


77%

The Walrus was great but the bathrooms were smelly and I have had much better hostel stays for way cheaper.

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

DECENT BUMPBEDS GOOD SPACE BETWEEN BEDS


97%

Loved the friendly staff really made the experience.


80%

Loved the vibe of this place! Cool, easygoing, down to earth people that were always very genuine and welcoming. Felt like a home away from home for the 5 nights I stayed. Will always come back to the walrus when I´m in London, and have already only recommended to stay there to travelers I´ve met along my way. Made good friends here. Clean facilities, very comfy beds, and everyone was respectful of each others space. Literally have nothing bad to say.

  • 19th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A fantastic stay, all staff very friendly and helpful from arrival to the very end of the stay. Atmosphere in the bar was great and discount was a lovely little bonus. Everywhere was clean and tidy, will be sure to visit again.

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice atmosphere, just a few blocks from the London Eye, etc...There are lockers in the rooms, but you have to put a small down payment to get a lock which you get back when you hand it in. No problems with the Wifi, and the facilities were clean. The rooms were a little small, but didn't really pose any issues. I'd say the best thing about this hostel is the staff and location.They were really friendly and had a lot of suggestions! There is also a bar too, which was a great way to meet travelers

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It is under a train bridge, it's too noisy when trains operate.


66%

Perfect location, but not that good hostel! Stayed in the 16 bed room and my bed was attached to another one, that was quite uncomfortable. They should put extra effort to cleaning and have more light in the hostel.


83%

Really like the hostel!

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

the bed was not comfortable, too much noise because near to train station. But staff are very nice, location is much good.


89%

Only negative feedback I have is that it is very loud. However, I did my research before coming and knew this ahead of time which was nice, but anyone looking for a good night's sleep should probably not stay here. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and my friend and I felt very comfortable talking to them. As well, the cocktails at the bar are awesome!

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Room 22 rocked at walrus. Staff are fantastic. Would stay there again Tracy - Australia

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Its a really nice place, the ubication is perfect cuz the metro station is close and you can go there easy, and the bar its also good to relax


89%

Rooms are cramped but all the sites are walking distance away - it's a compromise. Great free breakfast and good atmosphere in the pub at night, but rooms are quiet. One of the toilet rooms has no curtain which is off putting when there are people standing on the roof just outside. Hotel generally clean but there arent many bathrooms so they fill up quickly. The key is that this hostel is really close to everything and it is great value for that.


100%

It was the best hostel I have ever staid in! Excellent location, excellent atmoshere

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

An average hostel. The facilities were ok, but the washrooms were really freezing. The lockers were not very secure. Overall, the location and value are the reasons why I would stay here again.


86%

Enjoyed a great time with awesome staff! Thank you!


94%

Very nice staff! The location is perfect, 5 minutes to Big Ben and London eye!


100%

Had a great time there :) The staff is so friendly and helps you with everything. I can really recommend this hostel and also its bar. It is easy to find and really in the heart of the city (from our bathroom I was able to see Big Ben). It is clean and I felt very safe there.

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(69 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback