Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

This Old Place International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
This Old Place International Youth Hostel Located at No.2 Yiwu Road, , Guilin.
This Old Place International Youth Hostel
China
Guilin 541001 No.2 Yiwu Road
86% 382
25.2772708 110.2894547
This Old Place International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
7.4

Stayed here for about a week, the room and bathroom were clean. Drinks were quite expensive and the only food they sold was pizza which wasn't to bad. We had to stay an extra night and on talking to the girl at the desk she ensured that it was okay and we could pay the following morning. The next day our key didn't work and we were told that we needed to check out even know we had booked an extra day. The staff said that they could not help us and we needed to find our own place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm so really sorry for what happened to you during your stay. As a manager here, I feel so ashamed of that. It shouldn't happen. I'll try my best to make it better. Thank you so much and hope you a nice journey:)

10th Aug 2016
7.7

The hostel is at a veyr good location and it's easy to arrive it. All it's ok, but some member of the staff, the staff who does the check in during the evening and nigth is very awful, at least at me, they didn't help in nothing and when I asked some questions, they answer me with bad face and unpleasently. Somebody has to say something to change their attitude.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much. A new staff training is going on after you left. I'm really sorry for what happened to you during your stay. We're getting better and better now. Welcome back :)

3rd Aug 2016
9.1

Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Best I've encountered in many hostels in China.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much, welcome back here some day:)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
7.7

The room was fine and the hotel was clean. The staff seemed stressed when we checked out and were quite rude and abrupt. Good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. It might be a misunderstanding between us. He was quite nervours and didn't wanna say goodbye to you. You know, our English is not that good as yours:) Anyway, hope everything goes well with you:) Welcome back here some day:)

11th Jul 2016
9.1

Yeahssfine

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
9.4

Great hostel with a fun atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and provide a lot of activities. The beds were comfy and the AC was good. The hostel did offer trips however we were told that the bamboo raft down the li river we couldn't do because the worker was on strike. When we asked the staff if it was possible to do it elsewhere they said no, all the workers were on strike. Howecsr we found another hostel offering the trip with better prices.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for the review, we are sorry that you feel we are perhaps untruthful to you but please let us reassure you we were not. On that day we were told there was a strike, it makes no sense for us to lie as we obviously charge a commission for arranging tours and only try to use the best services available for guests, as we try to maintain high standards, we think our rates are highly competitive as there are a lot of tour agencies offering similar services.Our costomers health and safety as well as enjoyment matters to us & we would never send anyone with unlicensed tours. Once again, we are sorry that you feel we did you a disservice but note that you enjoyed your stay apart from that. Thank your review & we sincerely hope you will come again.

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
9.1

Great location & nice staff, definitely stay here for short term touristic stop

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us and welcome back here again some day:)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th May 2016
9.4

Loved this hostel, conveniently located and they offered a good range of food and drink. Staff were amazing - both friendly and very knowledgeable about the area, things to do and transport. Room was great - very much recommend this place and would def stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the nice Comment and the good review. Thanks for staying in our Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2016
8.3

The staff here are amazing. Very helpful in booking day trips to the Longji rice terraces & xingping. Highly recommend, really good location too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the nice review, and for staying in our hostel. Hopefully see you again :)

15th Apr 2016
8.6

This hostel is right on a lake and is next to another lake. Both lakes are gorgeous during the daytime. But at night they are lite up with soft colored lighting and are mesmorizing. The hostel staff tries to please guests. And problems were addressed immediately. The breakfast was above average. But thier map was all of 3 inches big. After I left there I went to a hostel in Yangshuo and received a free 28x32" map of Yangshuo and Guilin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.