Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

This Old Place International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
This Old Place International Youth Hostel Located at No.2 Yiwu Road, , Guilin.
This Old Place International Youth Hostel
China
Guilin 541001 No.2 Yiwu Road
86% 393
25.2772708 110.2894547
This Old Place International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Nov 2016
8.0

Hostel is good value in a good location. Staff were helpful and organised the river cruise for us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much, we really appreciate that. Hope you a nice trip:)

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Oct 2016
9.4

Great hostel in Guilin, with an awesome rooftopgarden. Great starting location to explore the rest of the province (e.g. the rice terrasses of ping'an).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the review. We really appreciate that:) Have a nice day:)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Oct 2016
10.0

The location sits right in the the thick of it on the river and it is very clean and great value for the money. But there are two fantastic things about this hostel: ONE: The have a sister hostel in Xing Ping so we were able to leave the bulk of our gear at this hostel while we toured and visited the sister hostel in Xing Ping for 4 days. TWO: The staff will are super friendly and go out of their way to accommodate, especially the manager MANDY who runs the place. She's beyond awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank GG:) I really appreciate that:) Wish everything goes well with you:)

4th Oct 2016
9.4

Would of been a 10 but any place that doesn't have a kitchen can't be a 10 in my books. Great place though and the staff are class, really helpful. Directions were spot on especially as we turned up at 8 pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for that:) We'll try to get your 10:) Have a nice day:)

13th Aug 2016
7.4

In general, the hostel is very nice, clean and the rooms are comfortables, but some part of the staff, the staffs were during afternoon and evening were very unpleasant, they only help you if you buy their tours. I asked anothers travellers, and said me the same. Maybe needs change their attitude.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Aug 2016
7.4

Stayed here for about a week, the room and bathroom were clean. Drinks were quite expensive and the only food they sold was pizza which wasn't to bad. We had to stay an extra night and on talking to the girl at the desk she ensured that it was okay and we could pay the following morning. The next day our key didn't work and we were told that we needed to check out even know we had booked an extra day. The staff said that they could not help us and we needed to find our own place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm so really sorry for what happened to you during your stay. As a manager here, I feel so ashamed of that. It shouldn't happen. I'll try my best to make it better. Thank you so much and hope you a nice journey:)

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.0

We stayed in a private room which was very clean and pretty. location was good, a short walk to the walking street. overall a pleasent stay :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
7.7

The hostel is at a veyr good location and it's easy to arrive it. All it's ok, but some member of the staff, the staff who does the check in during the evening and nigth is very awful, at least at me, they didn't help in nothing and when I asked some questions, they answer me with bad face and unpleasently. Somebody has to say something to change their attitude.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much. A new staff training is going on after you left. I'm really sorry for what happened to you during your stay. We're getting better and better now. Welcome back :)

3rd Aug 2016
9.1

Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Best I've encountered in many hostels in China.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much, welcome back here some day:)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
7.7

The room was fine and the hotel was clean. The staff seemed stressed when we checked out and were quite rude and abrupt. Good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. It might be a misunderstanding between us. He was quite nervours and didn't wanna say goodbye to you. You know, our English is not that good as yours:) Anyway, hope everything goes well with you:) Welcome back here some day:)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.