Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Travel Talk Taipei Backpackers Hostel

  • 2F, No.96, Sec.2,, Minquan E. Rd. Zhongshan District., Taipei, Taiwan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 729 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 729 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Feb 2017
4.0

The big problem with this hostel is the check in time ! If you are arriving late you would be left outside. The stuff isn't there for you ..There is no office basically...only a computer and a guy who would come as late as 10 am. Don't try to send them an email to notify them that you are arriving late...They wouldn't answer !

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our staff cannot check the email all the time, especially after midnight. You booked here last minute and came very early, so we did not see your message before you arrived. Also that day our staff started late, so we weren't here when you arrived. We will try to avoid this happening in the future, but please give us more than a few hours notice, especially if arriving early. Thanks for your comments.

8th Feb 2017
9.7

Good location in Central Taipei, 5-min walk from metro and airport direct bus stop. Helpful staff. Next to a market, good for ones who like street food. My 30th hostel experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.1

The staff at the hostel were incredibly friendly and insightful. They showed me a map with local amenities and showed me around the hostel in a welcoming manner. The facilities were generally very good, and I didn't feel like hygiene or security were an issue. Overall, I had a great stay! And the central location definitely helped with that too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
9.7

I loved my stay here. The aura of the building and the staff were so warm and welcoming and helpful. It was hard to find, since its located on the second floor of above 7-11 and there were no "sign" of the hostel. The WiFi has really weak connections, but it's better than nothing. The place was clean and well kept, unless your unfortunate and have a messy roommate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
10.0

Couldn't ask for better staff. Also the place had a good homely feel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Saint Kitts And Nevis, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.6

This hostel was difficult to find as it has no visible sign. There is a very small sign at the door though. The entrance is right next to the 7-11. Rooms and bathrooms are always clean and the beds are comfortable. There is a simple breakfast with toast and peanut butter. You also have a selection of tea or coffee. The MRT station is about 4 minutes walk away. There is a grand piano for all the pianists. My only problem here was the Internet kept dropping, especially in the bedrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jan 2017
10.0

Big thanks to Willy and Jean for making my introduction to Taiwan so pleasant. Very helpful staff and the location and cleanliness of hostel is fantastic. Free simple breakfast (mmm peanut butter) is a plus! Am coming back before leaving Taipei.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • zshuttleworth
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.3

It is a little hard to get to with no sigh but if you just look at the building numbers it is fine. The staff are really helpful and even hung our key ready for our arrival at 1am. They also booked our train for us down south. The beds are really comfy and we had a great night sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
8.3

Simple and easy hostel in a decent location just a short MRT ride from all the sights. Friendly and flexible staff. Good to be able to leave luggage after check out. Worth checking out the temple just across the road.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
9.4

This hostel is just located 3 mins from the subway station and 2 mins walk from the airport bus station 1841. Staff is friendly as I saw her cleaning the place all the time to make sure the bath room and toliet is clean and the floor is dry . I really appreciate her effort..I stayed in a 2-bedroom , spacious but no window. 15-20mins to Zhongshan , Taipei , xinmending station by subway ... 50mins travel from taoyuen airport by 1841 bus. 7-11 is juz at the ground floor of the hostel. Good to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.