Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tribu Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 670 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 670 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
Tribu Hostel Located at Av. Pedro Joaquin Coldwell, , Holbox Island.
Tribu Hostel
Mexico
Holbox Island Quintana Roo 77310 Av. Pedro Joaquin Coldwell
89% 670
21.5228705 -87.3817133
Tribu Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Dec 2016
10.0

Best time ever. Would always come back. Awesome for socialising or having time for yourself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Nov 2016
8.6

Nice wee hostel full of backpackers; hostel puts on activities in the bar at night which is cool but does mean the hostel is quite noisy until 1am. Also the bar is expensive even by Holbox standards - paid 100 pesos for a drink even though it was supposed to be 80 (typical Scot, hah). All the facilities are fine - nice kitchen, comfy beds though steps up are a bit of a death trap, hot water sometimes, not too far from the beach or main square. Overall good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 41 reviews
28th Nov 2016
4.6

I've been staying at a lot of hostels and this was by far one of the worst ones. The bathrooms we're dirty, the pillows and mattresses very old. The receptionist also provided misleading information and "reserved" me a seat with a ride to Cancun that never showed up and when I eventually contacted the person he said that he had no intentions of going there. that resulted a lot of stress for me as I nearly missed my flight.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • jacquigavin5748
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
9.7

I spent 3 really relaxing days at Tribu in Holbox. The hostel is perfect, everything is close on holbox but it's near the beach and the town. It has a great bar with fun activities when I was there a quiz, art night and salsa. Beds are comfy, warm showers, a hammock area. There's also a BBQ/grill which we cooked fish on (straight from the sea). Defo stay here when you visit holbox x

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mancamenca8653
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.7

The bedroom was big and well ventilated. We loved the kitched, which was very well equiped and spacious. Toilets and bathrooms were clean. Hostel is really cute and colorful. We loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
6.9

There were locks on the doors of the dorms, but the lockers inside were tiny. The common areas are really nice, though the WiFi is pretty rubbish. Holbox is a beautiful place and this is a decent hostel, however, they had just opened the bar upstairs when we were there and there was loud music until 1am, which was kind of strange as there were signs in he hostel saying "silence after 23:00". It was hard to sleep, especially as the room was super hot as the air con hadn't been switched on.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hello! first of all, thanks for choosing tribu hostel! :) But… as we REALLY love our job, our hostel and what we do every single day, we checked your reviews (yes, we did some investigations :) ) of different hostels from Mexico, Chile, Peru, Argentina… just the last 12 reviews get an average of 6.9 in total! and it’s hard to believe than in so many different places, beautiful I would say :), there was no hostel that suited you. Have you thought that maybe the day arrived, maybe a hotel rather then a hostel?! Every single guest that stayed in the hostel knows that there is a lot of work behind the scenes, many free activities, courses, nights in the bar... just because we love it when our guests are happy. It really takes a huge effort for every hostel in this world to “repare” or adjust a bad review and in this case we are sorry if you had a problems with your roomies about the fans. This night was freezing and 8 people of 10, asked us to turn off the AC, what else could have been done to make your stay better? safe trips around the world, enjoy it...

  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Nov 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, nice staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Nov 2016
10.0

the BEST hostel so far. Facilities are awesome, lots of activities (the activities are changing all the time, some are fixed and other changes). The volunteers and the staff are awesome. The kayak tour is a must in case you are an adventurous type of person and at night, don't bother to look around, Tribu's bar is the BEST on the island. I'll be back for sure. thank you for having me and made my stay so beautiful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Nov 2016
9.4

Very friendly staff! Realy nice location and atmosphary! A pleace to be and chill! The toilets not that clean!i will back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
10.0

Best hostel we had in Mexico so far!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.