Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tribu Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 790 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 790 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Jun 2017
8.9

Nice hostel and a cheaper option for an expensive island. Not very social within the hostel in the day, and it was very cliquey (staff hang with staff, groups don't interact with other) but this might have just been luck of the draw. Hostel has activities every night and the bar is great (and has amazing staff- especially Toby the dog!) and is very close to the beach. Kitchen is very well equipped. Rooms are VERY VERY hot but I'd stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jun 2017
8.0

Tribu deserves the amazing reviews it gets. The island paradise location, the hoards of backpackers from around the globe, the bohemian vibe - great! There were just a couple of things that we felt could be improved - the WiFi was non-existent whatever time of day you tried to connect. For the price, we felt breakfast should have been included, especially considering that Holbox itself isn't very cheap. Also, more fans are needed in the bedrooms as it gets very hot and sweaty!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jun 2017
9.4

Staff is super friendly and the facilities are quite comfortable, the bar has a cool vibe and lots of activities to meet people without leaving the hostel. You can also book tours with them and get all the information about the island, if you wan to enjoy the beach you're a block away from a really nice part of the beach (not too crowded) Remember to take your lock for your locker ;)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jun 2017
7.1

Stayed in the deluxe 10 bed dorm with aircon. More of a basic feel, wifi didn't reach room, lockers were quite small, shower was outside room but that meant you could use others if yours was busy. Kitchen was good but had maggots and things on some of the shelves. We had some trouble with our roommates and the staff were quick to sort it out as well as arrange a refund when we decided to move hostel. Overall good atmosphere and staff, facilities ok

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
10.0

Stayed for 5 nights, could have stayed for 15. The staff are very helpful, there's always events on, from quiz nights to salsa to jam sessions, it's as clean as a hostel on a sandy Island can be, plenty of hammocks, good kitchen and free drinking water. All the food recommendations were excellent and the staff doing events got to know the people staying there, rather than just do the event and wander off. Great place on a great Island.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th May 2017
8.3

Great kitchen, just a block away from the beach, and fun people. My only advice would be to make sure to book a room with air conditioning!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
24th May 2017
6.9

I found this hostel overrated and overpriced. The location was good and the buildings/setup was cool. However, the lockers in the dorms are tiny so everyone's stuff is all over the place. The kitchen was well equipped and large, but often full of dirty dishes. And I know the staff said it was out of their control, but the first night I was there the power was off for nearly 24 hours - every where else on the island seemed fine. An ok place, but I was disappointed given the great things I'd heard

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd May 2017
9.4

Loved this hostel! Great atmosphere and amazing location, would definitely recommend the kayaking to spot some flamingos and see the island. There was a storm and overnight black out while we were there (no electricity or water) although staff did try to do everything to help including free drinks the following evening. Ideally right next to the beach and great social but chilled atmosphere, also different themed nights which were fun (including pub quizzes!).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th May 2017
9.1

Good. Naya, the barwoman was super nice and maybe the staff could be nicer like her. The hostel has everything that you need and some activities like yoga, and music every night that you can enjoy for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
9.7

Tribu has a great vibe and daily activities that make it easy for solo travelers to meet new people. Some rooms do have AC that is controlled by the staff (from 8pm-8am is on) and they leave it at 26 degrees. It's nearly impossible to not be bitten by mosquitos in Holbox in general. However, inside the rooms, I think the staff could spray mosquito killer at night at least to better accommodate the guests. Sleeping in heat and with mosquitos on you all night is not fun. I would def come back tho

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.