X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tribu Hostel Reviews

Av. Pedro Joaquin Coldwell, Holbox Island, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
404 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

One of my favourite hostels!Stayed here twice,once in a dorm and a private room. Both great! Great location (2min walk beach, town centre) chilled hammack areas, well equiped kitchen which is cleaned everynight, 3 roof terraces, cinema room. Staff are really friendly and helpful! Excellend bar with different event on each night (live music, quiz, body painting). They often have yoga on at sunset too! In private rooms towels are provided and the room is cleaned everyday - only no AC but fan!

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I really love this place. Happy hostel :)

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Tribu is a great hostel it's almost like living in a house rather then being in a hostel! Beautiful clean space with a great kitchen to make your own food or if you prefere you not far to great restaurants. Your less then a block from the beach and Tribu has different activities each night to join if you like! I I've this place and look forward to my next time there!


86%

really nice activities every night. Great chill-out areas, and the whale shark and kayak tours were just amazing! Some areas could be cleaned more often and including a breakfast in the price would make this great place even more perfect.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This is definitely one of my favorite hostels so far! Always good vibe there. Also, I absolutely enjoyed the $80 trip that Tribu Hostel provided for me and my sister (along with other hostel guests) to swim with the whale sharks! It was a breathtaking experience! HIGHLY RECOMMEND! :)


94%

It was the best hostel I stayed in 6 months travelling through South and Central America. Clean, relaxed atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff.


83%

I had a great experience at Tribu! Friendly staff, super clean, excellent information and helpfulness about the island. The girls dorm was spacious and the bathroom and shower were in great condition (even with hot water!) They really strive to give their guests a good experience. Great value. Areas for improvement: The dorm was soo hot, but they are working on it. Choose a top bunk near a working fan. Noise from the bar continued until late, even though they try to establish "quiet zone".


91%

My stay was fantastic! The facilities were pretty good, especially considering the price of the other places to stay on the island. There were a ton of people there, so there were plenty of friends to make all the time. I booked a kayak tour and a whale shark tour through Tribu, and both of them were awesome. They also watched my stuff during the day after I checked out in the morning for free. There are activities every night, so as soon as I got there I started meeting people.

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great stay !

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We really enjoyed staying here, the place was clean, the staff friendly, and it was close to the beach. One thing to note would be that the music from the bar is pretty loud at night. We found it ironic that you have a sign saying it's quiet time after 23:00 but the music from the bar doesn't stop till 1AM. This was a bit frustrating when trying to get a good nights sleep, especially when having to leave at 5am to catch the ferry.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing place, social hostel, good kitchen, and great location ~2 mins from town and ~30 seconds from the most beautiful beaches in the yucatan!


89%

Great stuff, lots of information and very friendly! Be careful: either some of my stuff was stolen out of the fridge or someone throw it away to early! I had the date of my departure on the bag, and the bag was gone one day before... I was really upset about it!


89%

AMAZING! You legends do everything right. Tribu felt like a home. Thank you for nurturing some of my most memorable experiences in Mexico xxxxxxx


100%

Great hostel ever!


97%

Tribu was the most incredible hostel! I was so impressed with how well organized it was and the overwhelmingly friendly staff. We were give extremely good advice on activities to do on the island. The whale shark diving is definitely a recommended activity. Wednesday and Friday night sunset yoga was also an extra bonus. Loved the hammocks, kitchen and bar areas. 30 second walk to the beach made it the perfect location for four nights in paradise!

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Absolutely fantastic hostel, lovely staff. Places to socialize and places for time out. Almost right on the beach. 5 min from everything else. Clean, well thought out, great kitchen. Basically ticks every box I could think of, the only tiny suggestion I could make is maybe to have hooks in the dorm for towels etc? Thank you guys for a great stay, one of my top hostels of all time and I will definitely recommend you to everyone heading your way!


89%

Awesome location and really cool, chilled vibe. The rooms, even with ac, are super hot. The bar is nice but sometimes it's difficult to socialize when they have live music. Literally around the corner from the beach and they give you a great map of the town to find local spots!


97%

Really enjoyed staying here! Went on my own as a solo female traveller and felt at home so quickly. Staff were really friendly and gave me any info I needed,. They even took a group of us out for dinner one night to a great cheap traditional Mexican restaurant. Atmosphere was really friendly and open. Kitchen facilities were perfect - all clean and everything you need! Free water Comfy beds Great location!! from places to get brekkie to the nicest spots on the island


100%

I don't know where to begin but most of all, I felt like it was my home from the very beginning. The owners and people working there are the nicest. It had really made my stay in Mexico. You really feel like you are part of something amazing there. The hostel have everything you need. Don't even think twice and stay here for as long as you can! The island is paradise, streets are made of sand. I can't wait to return.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, the best service and a really nice atmosphere!


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Holbox Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback