Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tribu Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.9

Amazing location just off the beach and two blocks from the Main Street makes it a great base for staying on Holbox. Has a great bar area, free activities/events every day and a good kitchen. Only downsides were the room was a bit messy (lots of left over bits from other travellers and don't think it got cleaned during my stay) and no breakfast included, which you'd hope for as it's a bit more expensive than the average hostel in Mexico. But still v cool place and would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • laurenwinch8591
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Jul 2017
7.7

I really liked Tribu overall, but there were a few small issues. The bar had events every night and was super loud, which actually made it difficult for solo travellers to meet people (others said the same), hammock area was better but also the best wifi spot so people tended to glued to their phones! Met cool people in the dorm though. Fantastic kitchen and location. Book whaleshark tour early to get the 'good' company - some of us got a more budget version. Lady at reception v helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Jul 2017
9.1

I loved my stay here! Everyone was really friendly, and it was super easy to meet other people. The hostel organises events most nights, so I went to quiz night and a live music night. The kitchen is well-equipped and clean, and the bar at the hostel was great. Ask about going to see the phosphorescence at night - it's amazing!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
9th Jul 2017
9.4

Lovely hostel with good kitchen facilities, helpful staff and right next to the beach. The whale shark tour they offer is definitely worth it. There were events on each night and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Would definitely recommend booking in advance because they do get full as it is a small island!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
7.4

Just an ok hostel. Cleanliness in common areas like toilet and shower could have been better. Good location close to beach tho. Could get loud some evenings as hostel also has a bar and hosts small events every night, but we could still get a descent nights sleep. Overall nothing special, good for a few nights at Holbox. Wifi barely worked, but same went for almost the whole island.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2017
8.0

Fantastic location just a few minutes walk from the main square and a minute walk to the beach. The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming and they always have events on (bands, open sessions, yoga etc). It was expensive for Mexico but probably because the island is now attracting a premium and an influx of tourists. If you want a quiet time however I would recommend somewhere else. The bar is loud and open very late. The wifi was intermittent but I think this was an issue across the island.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Jun 2017
8.9

Large bunk beds in dorms however when booking a room with ac they don't mention they automatically turn on at night and off in the day which is slightly annoying. Bar is open till 1am meaning music is playing but it's not awful. The kitchen is great though as Holbox is expensive so can save some money. Staff are helpful with activities and questions & tours can be booked at front desk for a good price

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jun 2017
8.9

Great hostel, great vibe and helpful friendly staff! Good kitchen, bar and organised tours. Unfortunately no aircon in our 10 bed dorm which resulted in zero sleep, so we moved hostels the next day. Other rooms had aircon but they were full so we couldn't swap (which would've been our preference).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • clareh1480
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
8.6

I was in a room with a ceiling fan only and had trouble sleeping because of how hot it was in the rooms, the fan didn't reach my bottom bunk at all so would definitely recommend paying that bit more for air con! Good location and atmosphere with onsite bar and friendly staff. The whale shark tour I booked through the hostel was great too I'd highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

Excellent place. Close to a great beach. The all you can eat pizza was surprisingly good, especially for 100 pesos per person. Would definitely stay here again. :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.