Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

University of Glasgow - Cairncross House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 530 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 530 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jul 2017
9.7

Great place to stay in Glasgow. Very clean and comfortable. I had my own room with a double bed, sink and mirror, and a super clean, modern kitchen. Bathrooms are modern and there re plenty of them. Overall, a very comfortable stay, definitely my best in 2 months of hostels

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
9.7

The facilities are excellent and a great value considering they are in the middle of a city. The kitchens are clean and stocked with good dishes and cutlery.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
10.0

Quiet, wonderful, after weeks of hostel travelling I almost cried when I saw my single room. Great location too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
9.4

The staff was great with one exception. On my day of check out a security person checked in an early arriving guest into my room at 7am. My check out time was 10am. Situation was taken care of. Overall, my stay was good. Someone from housekeeping helped me to my room and carried my bag because I have a broken wrist. Staff was helpful with any questions I had.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
5.7

Despite being given to choice of what time to check in, selecting 11am, we arrived to be told we would need to wait until "around 2pm" to be allowed into our room, this being that they were busy. Staff came across as quite rude and very uninterested. We then returned at 2pm to check in, despite wishing to pay by cash we were asked to pay by cash. The room was pleasant but lacking in mirrors,the bathrooms were filthy and we had no access to a kitchen area as promised. Parking was very poor also.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
7.4

Good sized room and common room, only issue with myself and many others was that we were told we could check in (and tick a box when booking) at 11, however we had to wait until 2pm, therefore we were late for our event. Hope this can be rectified in your booking system, make it clear that check-in time is 2pm and don't have an option to check in earlier to avoid confusion.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
8.9

Everything was very good and the staff was friendly and kind. The location is excellent, walk distance to Botanic garden, train station and University of Glasgow.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
8.6

By definition, student accommodation outside of term-time is going to be a little quiet, but the plus side of that is privacy and peace and quiet. Staff were helpful, and despite being down the road in a separate building to my room, there was a direct line that went straight through to reception from the phone in my room. The room itself was clean and comfortable, and spacious for one person. The ensuite was also clean. All round it was great (although I would have liked a bin in my room!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jul 2017
5.7

Facilities were generally clean (bathroom could have been cleaner). Just seemed impersonal. No access to Wifi with Canadian postal code. Fine accommodation for a business trip, not for vacationing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
7.4

Really high potential let down by: - no control of heating in the bedrooms making them like saunas - all showered tried flooded. When reported was told nothing could be done until after we had checked out - staff that struggle with the simplest tasks With this being said, I still would recommend as the quality of rooms is top notch

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.