Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

University of Glasgow - Cairncross House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Aug 2017
8.3

You get a single room in a university campus. Very ideal if you want some peace and privacy and an environment to work, but it is not a place to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2017
8.9

Nice clean en-suite dorm room and a change from staying with 3 others. Towels and linen we're provided. The location wasn't the best, as it was far from the central city area. Though, there were many restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk. Buses are readily available and cabs were an option. Overall, nice place to stay that is far cheaper than any of the hotels in the area. And you still get a room to yourself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
8.0

We found the staff only knew two words 'don't know' and they were frustratingly slow and useless sorry but we nearly walked out and other customers felt the same. Apart from that we were very impressed with everything else

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
8.3

Great location by "the Strip", with all kinds of bars, pubs, cafès, restaurants, etc., and a short walking distance to the city centre. Late arrivals mean you will deal with the most helpful Security Guard, Daniel. The ensuite single rooms are quite simple, but tidy and clean. All the street noise and sounds are heard, even through the shut window.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2017
8.6

Good basic accommodation at a very reasonable price. City centre was an easy 20 mins walk, so as the weather was fine we didn't bother with the bus. Within 15 mins walk of the SEC/Hydro, which is why we were there. Good neighbourhood, never had any worries about leaving the car parked there. Kelvinhaugh Street was a bit hard to identify (couldn't see a street sign): it's the one with a small Sainsburys on the corner!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2017
8.6

Clean and good value for a single room, with access to a kitchen, bathroom and shower. Although on a quiet street there was some noise from other guests standing outside or in the corridors, and it would have been nice to have somewhere a bit more secure to leave luggage. However, overall it did the job at a reasonable price, and the location was great for the West End.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2017
9.7

Great accommodation wish I stayed more than one night was a problem with my door and the hostel upgraded me and dealt with the problem quickly. Great staff and good location 5 minutes walk from Exhibition Centre Station so your quickly in and out of the centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
19th Aug 2017
7.4

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Cairncross house for one night in a twin room. The room itself is modern and well decorated and mainly clean although in our room there was a chocolate bar wrapper in between the bed and the wardrobe that must have been from a previous guest. The rooms have plenty of storage space, a sink, desks and comfy beds. The shared areas (bathrooms and kitchens) were not as clean, they weren't awful but they weren't great. I would stay again but it wouldn't be my 1st choice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Aug 2017
8.6

The student dormitory is really clean, perfect for travellers who want to have quality sleep. The bed is comfortable, the room is basic but comfy. Worth the money as it is a single room. The location isn't the greatest as you have to walk 15-20 minutes to the city centre, but it's a 5 min walk to Art gallery and nearby park. Supermarkets and restaurants are just around the corner. However, this is not the one for those who want to make friends in hostel as I barely see anyone in the kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Aug 2017
6.6

I was disappointed when we arrived after paying for a room with 2 beds online, they told us the price we payed was only for 1 of the beds and we needed to pay for the second bed. Even though online it clearly stated we would be paying for 2 beds. Not very happy with that. Being a student doing some traveling before school with not much cash, this was DEFINETLY a set back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×