X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Valley House Holiday Hostel Reviews

The Valley, Achill, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
287 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very comfortable beds, lovely hot shower after doing Greenway, my son loved the pizzas , I loved the dining room, living room and pub on site. We'll definitely go back-haven't tried out the pitch n putt yet!

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

All the staff were amazing and really enjoyed my stay.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Staff were great, bedroom shabby and a bit sad

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Staff was friendly. House was very unique. Views are spectacular from the pitch and putt course! Pizzas weren't as good as we had hoped.

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Amazing house in a beautiful part of Achill, super friendly staff and great pub attached. However there was some mould in the corners of our room which was a little worrying and the shuttle bus wasn't working so it was a little remote to get out to without a car (we were on bikes after a day's cycling on the Green Way).

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Would highly recommend the hostel, thank you for a lovely. Stay

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Location was not ideal as we had no transport but very scenic if you have a car/bike to make your way there.


97%

A quaint hostel in a beautiful part of the country. The owner was friendly and the pub had the most welcoming atmosphere and great Irish music.


86%

The Hostel was a bit far outside from everything. So one has to go by car oder by bike to get to the next store or anything. The best thing was that there was a bar right next to the hostel, so that you could drink something in the evening :-) .


83%

Very friendly staff and also very accommodating.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

We loved the House. It is in a fantastic setting. Staff were really friendly. The rooms were clean and warm. The pub is great fun. The only down side was the toilets in the house. A little investment in a few toilets that actually worked would greatly improve the experience.


94%

Great staff and location. Showers fairly basic (unable to adjust water temperature) Otherwise great.


100%

A lovely quirky hostel with a great little pub attached .


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Lovely hostel ensconced in the heart of achill . Great music session went on into the early hours , great guinness , overall a perfect traditional stay. The main man could play!


97%

Great hostel. Best location you will ever sleep in.


66%

Wonderfully decrepit in places, but clean where it mattered and all part of the experience.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Lovely rambling house in magnificent location. It's definitely not a boutique hostel, which adds to its charm and character. The kitchen is very well equipped, the showers (much maligned by some other reviewers) were efficient and hot, the dorm comfortable and quiet, and the fresh filter coffee at breakfast an unexpected treat. Many thanks to the friendly and welcoming staff. I'll be back next year.


74%

Room looked a bit mouldy in areas which can be critical for some customers with allergies.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Loved it booked for one and stayed for three, good staff very helpful and pleasent, relaxed atmosphere, good craic in the bar.pity no trad irish music but good none the less.ended up missing bus stop in westport and ended up taking the german girl to destination of galway.good company, i carried on to shannon for my flight back to england early next morning.i'm smitten with achill island.loved it .keep up the good work jonno.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Pub, "Pitch & put"... : super The kichen wasn't very clean...

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(178 results)


View all Achill Hostels

Please give us your feedback