X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Valley House Holiday Hostel Reviews

The Valley, Achill, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
302 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

If you love to stay in a beautiful,a kind of hidden place with very lovely people around you,well equipped kitchen, clean rooms,comfi beds,incredible landscape (Mountains,cliffs, ocean, beaches, lakes,...),.. You are on the right spot! I've spent a unforgettable weekend there.

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

A nice hostel, a nice team, the feeling to be in the end of the world in a haunting house ! I recommand it !!

  • 27th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Pub closed, room too cold and showers way too hot. Would not recommend during off season.


100%

This was a great hostel with plenty of atmosphere and very friendly staff. I would highly recommend it.


94%

The casual and friendly people was fantastic but with that the operations were run very efficiently. I would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • 16th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice security idea with keypads for every room. Unfortunately we found a note with multiple keycodes lying around in the corridor. This was obviously left by members of the cleaning staff.......


83%

Beautiful, unique hostel. Really nice people.


89%

Very comfortable beds, lovely hot shower after doing Greenway, my son loved the pizzas , I loved the dining room, living room and pub on site. We'll definitely go back-haven't tried out the pitch n putt yet!

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

All the staff were amazing and really enjoyed my stay.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Staff were great, bedroom shabby and a bit sad

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

Staff was friendly. House was very unique. Views are spectacular from the pitch and putt course! Pizzas weren't as good as we had hoped.

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Amazing house in a beautiful part of Achill, super friendly staff and great pub attached. However there was some mould in the corners of our room which was a little worrying and the shuttle bus wasn't working so it was a little remote to get out to without a car (we were on bikes after a day's cycling on the Green Way).

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Would highly recommend the hostel, thank you for a lovely. Stay

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Location was not ideal as we had no transport but very scenic if you have a car/bike to make your way there.


97%

A quaint hostel in a beautiful part of the country. The owner was friendly and the pub had the most welcoming atmosphere and great Irish music.


86%

The Hostel was a bit far outside from everything. So one has to go by car oder by bike to get to the next store or anything. The best thing was that there was a bar right next to the hostel, so that you could drink something in the evening :-) .


83%

Very friendly staff and also very accommodating.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

We loved the House. It is in a fantastic setting. Staff were really friendly. The rooms were clean and warm. The pub is great fun. The only down side was the toilets in the house. A little investment in a few toilets that actually worked would greatly improve the experience.


94%

Great staff and location. Showers fairly basic (unable to adjust water temperature) Otherwise great.


100%

A lovely quirky hostel with a great little pub attached .


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(185 results)


View all Achill Hostels

Please give us your feedback