X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Venice Hotel Villa Dori Reviews

Via Cesare Piva, 1 Venice, Via Colombara, 213, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
817 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 57%Location
  • 62%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Wifi didn't work most of the time except in the lobby and it was slow. We had wasps in our room and other bugs. Not much to do around the hotel. They make you pay "taxes" when you arrive additional to the fees you already paid online only in cash.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

We booked this 3 weeks before arriving and I emailed to double check it was all fine, but when I arrived they said they had given our room away to a bigger group booking. So we had to stay in a separate hotel, which was fine but just a bit annoying they didn't tell us. We stayed somewhere else for the rest of the trip because this hotel is WAY too far away - NOT worth 25 min bus plus time waiting for bus, we got a twin room in the centre of venice for 110 euros a night - 55 euro per person!


66%

A good choice if you just want a place to sleep at a lower price than the the hotel in the city of Venice. Maybe a bit far from Venice but very quiet place.


89%

The facilities in our room were great - mini fridge, ensuite, TV, comfortable beds. The facilities in the hotel were great too - taxi service to & from Venice centre, taxi service to & from the airport, a restaurant in the hotel, and a takeaway service directly to the hotel.


31%

We spent half day trying to find the directions and couldn't contact the staff on the phone. We arrived some 3 or 4 hours later than expected and were send to the room which wasn't cleaned from the previous guests. Staff looked like they couldn't care less, no bar facilities, no restaurant, it was in the middle of nowhere. Half of lights didn't work, otherwise it was quite romantic. It was a real Best Exotic Marigold Hotel! :-)

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Its more of a couples hotel than a hostel. But its nice.


80%

This felt like a couples hotel. There was a closet with karma sutra carvings in it. It really is a kinda cool unique place.


40%

An unannounced change in shuttle vehicle from blue small minivan to large silver one neither of which have signage (it's been ripped off) left us stranded in Venice as we could not identify what vehicle to get into. Staff were uninterested and rude. Manager was supposedly on holiday and Claudia informed me that nobody was in charge. We had to get a taxi because of poor instructions on what buses to get, and just generally the whole place is ruined by uninterested staff

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The stayed was pretty bad. They people working there is not nice. I paid there cash and my bank was charge after two more time after I had left. I email them about and haven't got reply back yet. If anything I will try with my bank.


46%

The hotel is not in Venice, which is why they offer the transfer for a charge. The staff wasn't welcoming at all, it felt more like we were trying to be nice with them rather than they making us feel like home. The room was very outdated, holes in the towels, unpleasant smell and some visible molds. You may be lucky to get a better room, but I wouldn't offer the hotel to anyone.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Quite good, but I reccomend to use the shuttle service they have to go from Venice Mestre/Roma Square to the hotel. You have to book it and it's only 3€ (bus costs 2,5€).

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff weren't very smiley at all. Tended to lounge around the reception eating ice cream. Terrible first impression, got better after that. The night time staff at reception by far the best. 'American style' breakfast consisted of fried chicken, rice and other dishes you would never class as a breakfast, would suggest buying your own things in the previous day to have your own breakfast in your room. Other than that it was good value for money. Shuttle service was ideal for getting to Venice.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Villa Dori is good for those who are looking for a cheap accommodation. It's pretty hard to find for the first time, the description is not written properly and consider coming before 21:30, because after you should take a taxi and it will cost from Mestre train station around 40 euros. The best thing about the hotel is that they have a shuttle right from the hotel to Venice for 6 euros. You can take it early in the morning, and come back to hotel late at night, around 23:00.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Armenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The hotel is an average hotel in the outskirts of Venice. They provide a shuttle into the city for 3 euro. The hotel itself has a quaint feeling. The problem here is the staff. By far the worst stay I had in Europe. They are lazy, slow, and to quote the blonde female hostess Marie/Maria "it is not my problem." The hotel is staffed with crooks and thieves that care very little about your stay. Avoid at all possible costs. OH, the driver of the shuttle is a cool guy. So there's that.


71%

Not close to the city at all, and taking the bus was a hassle but the price was decent and the rooms were nice.


51%

One receptionist excellent but the owners attitude indifferent to contemptuous

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

The staff was very unhelpful and unfriendly. They were also not at the desk the majority of the time. We waited 30 minutes at the desk to check out, but nobody showed up and we ended up leaving the key on the desk. Everything was an extra charge, including a van ride to the city center. We paid for the van, which was 20 minutes late. Save yourself the trouble, and pay extra for a nicer place. This hotel was expensive in the first place and definitely not worth it.




View all Venice Hotels

Please give us your feedback