X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vertigo Vieux-Port Reviews

38 Rue Fort Notre Dame, Marseille, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3553 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Breakfast is only bread and cereal, tea and coffee and orange juice. At 9:30 some of the cereals had run out as well as the coffee. There was no towel given and no soap in the toilets. In German hostels breakfast always includes meat, cheese, eggs etc (may have to pay separately). Soap us usually provided. German hostels have proper cotton sheets and linen as opposed to the polyester blanket.


100%

Great staff. Safe, great location, clean. Great showers and privacy. Very helpful staff members.


94%

The hostel was lovely, especially the kitchen/living room area in VeritgoB. The only negative point is that the hostel no longer sell towels. Thanks

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great atmosphere. The wood in the ceiling was a nice touch. Staff were very helpful and went above and beyond expectations. Breakfast consisted of jams and baguettes. Coffee and tea were provided.


86%

The wifi from my laptop only worked once, for a very short while, so I ended up using hte computers in the lobby.


80%

The directions were confusing as the Hostel is on a side street, but Remi changed it to be easier. It is uphill from the Habour but ony 3 blocks. The Hostel is really well designed and comfortable. Reception is helpful and storage available for returning travellers. Special mention to Receptionist, August, who was exceptionally helpful and professional. I will return to stay again, the hostel is everything you can expect. Thanks everyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU for this great comment! All the best to you and hopefully see you soon! Remy

91%

Everything was awesome but there were no towels!

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We used to rent towels but you have no idea how many times they got stolen... We're trying to find a new solution to make sure they are handed back. Best regards, Remy

86%

Great place, clean room and location..some soap in the bathroom would be nice though :)


100%

I will come back and stay there again

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Vertigo was really great. I stayed in the 4 female dorm and it was really big and met some cool girls to hangout with! The hostel was really easy to find, the staff was super nice and the breakfast that was included was good. I would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey. We're so happy to know you had a nice time with us! All the best! Remy

94%

An excellent hostel; the buildings are beautifully designed it has a great common area!


77%

Very good overall. Would stay again


86%

Good hostel and nice staff!! A bit far if u bring a large luggage!


83%

The 8-Bed-Dorm is really big. It contains an own Kitchen and Bathroom and is perfect for cooking, drinking, playing, talking with the other roommates. Had a great time there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So happy you had a nice time here! See you next time! Remy

89%

Good location. Big rooms. Staff very helpful.


94%

Very nice hostel with helpful staff. I appreciated a lot little services like the possibility of having breakfast earlier, print for free, etc. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed, this is not a hostel with a backpackers atmosphere, but ideal for older budget travellers who don't want to be disturbed by noisy people. Cleanliness of the bathroom was ok but could be improved. The room was overheated as well, but this was the only negative point.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so sorry to hear it was too hot in your room. Just so you know, every room has a different heater, and we can adjust the temperature for everyone's desire. Next time, don't hesitate to come and ask us to turn it down a little. See you next time!

69%

The location is really great, you only have to go down the little mountain and you are at Vieux Port! I liked the couch and TV station in the lounge.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Stayed in the 8-bed separate dorm. No plug outlets by beds. No wi-fi in the room. Bathroom was really dirty. Strange atmosphere. Not ideal for lone travellers.


97%

This was a great place to stay, I would definitely go again. It's a great deal for a hostel. The facilites are very clean, there are computers for use, free wifi, and free breakfast. Room access is via card and there is a person at the desk 24hours. Most importantly, the location is walking distance from lots of bars, great restaurants, etc. so you can feel comfortable going out later at night and walking without passing through any bad neighborhoods. The staff is very friendly and welcoming.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

+ : Bathroom is inside the room, so it's very convenient. Hot water in the shower was great. Room and bathroom is clean. Kitchen in the room!! - : No access of wifi in my room, I had to go to other building to access it. Not very convenient. It's a big room and doesn't give feeling that it's a place to rest (for some people). I had a group of awful roommate that treat the room as living room (playing music out loud, turning on the light just like that when they went back from a night out)

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're s sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the people in your room although, the bigger the room is, the more chances it will be noisy because of the people coming in and out. Maybe you'll give us a seconde chance and try one of our smaller rooms! ;) Regards, Remy

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all Marseille Hostels

Please give us your feedback