Hostelworld.com

Vertigo Vieux-Port

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 4,587 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 4,587 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
Vertigo Vieux-Port Located at 38 Rue Fort Notre Dame, , Marseille.
Vertigo Vieux-Port
France
Marseille 13007 38 Rue Fort Notre Dame
87% 4587
43.2913417 5.3717994
Vertigo Vieux-Port
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jun 2016
8.0

Pros: Awesome location two blocks in from the port and only 15 minute walk from the Notre Dame. Great common area to meet either travelers. Cons: a bit expensive for average facilities. No fans in room, so they are very hot, and the hostel is noisy because you can easily hear the doors opening and closing all night. Whenever I asked the staff any questions, they made it seem like they did not want to help at all. Bring your own lock for the lockers!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2016
8.6

Great hostel, good atmosphere. Would reccomend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2016
8.3

Wifi keeps disconnecting in the reception area. Also no wifi in the 8+ bed dorm rooms. Otherwise staff were really friendly and helpful. Location is excellent 😀

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • garside100287
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jun 2016
9.1

Very good location, right next to the port. Clean and tidy with large rooms. Very nice hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
6.0

The hostel wasn't as social as I expected. I just think it's improperly structured where people staying cant really communicate. No bar as well which usually is the best way to get people together. Other vertigo residence is a lot better

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
5.4

Had a very unpleasant experience here. The facility is infested with cockroaches and very dirty overall. My linen and pillow were stained, the blanket covered in hair from previous guests, and most surfaces in my room were quite dusty. The breakfast was basic and WiFi terrible. The staff seemed friendly and the location was great, but I definitely would not recommend or stay again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2016
9.1

Have stayed here twice now. Great facilities and great location central to much of what you want to see and do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andrew12beattie
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th Jun 2016
8.0

Pretty ordinary hostel, in a great location. About 5 minutes walk to the port and main area of the city. Common room and eating area are pretty good and easy to meet people. Rooms were spacious, did the job.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
8.3

The hostel is within a few blocks of the port which has a ton of restaurants. The kitchen was fully stocked, clean rooms, and the staff was nice and relaxed. The breakfast was some cereals, fruit, and baguettes, nothing special. I was surprised that for the price locks and towels weren't included but I guess that's just me being picky.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
6.9

Vertigo Vieux-Port is basic hostel accommodation - clean, efficient, and someone is always on the front desk. The area in which Vertigo Vieux-Port stands out is the staff - they were fantastic and really went above and beyond to help me out. On the day I arrived, the strap on my carry bag broke, and it was a Sunday so most shops were closed. The guy on the front desk spent some time trying to fix it, and in the end managed to ingeniously use a bandaid to secure the strap!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.