X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Vertigo Vieux-Port Reviews

38 Rue Fort Notre Dame, Marseille, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2735 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel was great! Right near the metro stop, shopping and restaurants. Close to all monuments and other tourist attractions as well. It was perfect for making your own meals and staying in, or going out all day. I would definately come back, and or recommend it to others! :)

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for this great comment. We are happy to know that you had a great stay here. Regards, Vertigo team

89%

A very good hostel, I had a great stay! My only comments are in regards to kitchen facilities... There are two kitchens and they each have only one hot plate to cook on (though it is a very efficient one), and few kitchen necessities (such as a spatula) not well suited to making dinners every night. But otherwise a wonderful stay! The 24 hour access is great.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

the staff is great!!!!!

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, We are very happy that you liked staying with us! Hopefully we'll see you soon again. Vertigo Team

80%

The location was nice, quite close to the main street. However, we would advise you to travel light since the hostel is kind of on the hill and it would be difficult to drag a bit luggage on the tiny sidewalks. Breakfast was included in the price, which was a real good value for money. I stayed in the four people dorm. Our beds were in the upper floor in the room and the stairs was a bit steep. I actually tripped a couple time. Overall, I would recommend this hostel to a traveler.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, You are right, marseille can be quite exhausting as it is made of a lot of hills! I'm glad you enjoyed your stayed all the same! Thank you for your comment and hopefully we'll see you again here! Vertigo Team

100%

My stay was wonderful. The hostel is in an excellent location for the metro and all other sites to visit while in Marseille. The staff is very helpful with directions and tips.

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The rooms were very spacious and clean. The bathrooms were excellent. Well maintained , spic and span. The dining area was very nice . It looked like an old house converted into an hostel. The staff were very smiling and welcoming. But it was quiet far from the train station ( St Charles ) . We had to walk a lot.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice comment, we are happy to know that you liked your stay here. Next time, you don't have to walk from the train station, you can take the metro and you'll be 5 minutes away from the hotel ;) See you next time Vertigo Team

100%

well-located, clean and cheap!we were 3 but we wanted a private room: by booking a four-bed room, we had en entire room with bathroom only for us!just perfect! plus they let us leave our backpacks for the whole day after!

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location, rooms, and facilities. Only downside for me was lack of social interaction among guests. Other than that all you could ask for in a hostel


91%

No towels Pas de serviette de toilette

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff was extremely knowledgeable about things to do in Marseille and very nice. The beds were pretty comfortable for a hostel. The location was great, minutes away from the port, bars, and Notre Dame. Breakfast was good and includes juice, coffee, and cereal. Highly recommend this hostel if you're staying Marseille.

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect! No additional comment needed.


100%

Very central. Near to downtown and the good night life in Lisbon. Friendly helpful staff. Clean rooms.

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms were great, they had free WiFi and also free PC with internet, also Free Breakfast (bread, milk, juice, butter, cereal, marmalade, coffee). And it's very near the Vieux-Port


91%

There wasn't much going on in the hostel. But apart from that the hostel is perfect.


89%

More of a quieter place, told to be quiet by 8.30pm - however clean, safe and great breakfast


100%

Had a kitchen, lounge area, was close to the metro and easy to get too. Staff was friendly and went out of their way to accommodate me even offering the breakfast when I had to leave before 6am which was really sweet. This place was walking distance to many museums/churches/attractions and the rooms were lovely and clean.


77%

had a great stay here! the rooms were quiet spacious compared to other hostels so definitely a big win there! is close to heaps of bars and eateries which was great too! the breakfast was not bad but not very varied but i think that is quite normal for this price range in europe. the laundry facilities were the cheapest ive found so far. a good 2euros cheaper than e.g. paris for washing, drying and laundry tablet which was great met some nice people there and has a cool lounge/ common area


80%

There might be bed bugs!! we have had red bites all over our arms and legs after the stay!

  • 19th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Not great party atmosphere, and staff were sometimes difficult to communicate with, however the American guy on reception was great and very helpful. Bed and rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, as was location.


63%

The breakfast was getting worse than last year.

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey guys, I'm sorry you felt that way, you should know that we still serve the exact same breakfast as last year. If you were missing something, you just needed to come to reception and ask. Sometimes people eat a lot and we don't have time to come back to put more bread or spreads before new clients arrive. Thank you for your stay. Remy

(77 results)


View all Marseille Hostels

Please give us your feedback