X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vila Marija Reviews

Padre Perice 8, Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
216 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

We booked here expecting a private room in a hostel, but it is more like a B&B. The lady who let us in was the daughter in law of Marija. She spoke excellent English, offered us drinks and then told us all about what we could see, where to eat, how to travel around - very nice helpful lady. Marija herself offered us coffee for our breakfast the next morning. The room itself was I think the only room, a nice, clean and very quiet apartment with patio, ensuite bathroom, and wifi. Perfect.


86%

We enjoyed our stay at this place. Milica was very welcoming, made us juice and coffee whilst telling us about the local area, and showing us where to go on the map! It's in a great location..an easy 20-30 minute walk to Dubrovnik Old Town, or you can get the bus which is at the bottom of the street.


94%

Lovely host who gave awesome tips about Dubrovnik. Acommodation is a 15min bus journey to Old Town buses are frequent but rarely on time - though you shouldn't wait more than 20mins for a bus there or back. Clean and a n

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

handy to buses, easy to find walking up from port thru the houses, quiet except for elderly relatives alongside flat on ground level- discussions and tv can be heard- from around connecting door. rubber foam seal would take care of this and only other suggestion us to add jug and tea/coffee making facility- there's room atop of bench high fridge- as no breakfast offered.The hot water /bathroom light switch means if you turn off light hard your water doesn't stay heated, a small notice please

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The room was nice size with twin bed plus futon.I had a fridge, table alsoable nice view of port, I could see the cruise ship come in and out along with the ferry. I jad access to a kitchen. Easy to get to from the port snd close to bus station too. About 15 minute walk to old town, bus stop is 2 minutes on main street. Grocery store and bakeries close by less than 5 minutes. Milice was welcoming and gave me an overview of the city. Things to do, where to eat and things. Would recommend


100%

Amazing host and warm friendly woman, Milica helped us with smart detailed advices of our stay in Dubrovnik and all our trips around... Open heart hospitality and delicious cake on the morning (!!)...mmm fresh welcomed garden. we enjoyed our stay there =)

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Chobu
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good place, the lady that greeted us was nice and made us a drink when we arrived. It is just a guest room connected to someone's house so I wouldn't recommend if you were looking to stay out late as we felt a little bad about potentially disturbing the older family members in the house.


80%

Very nice tenant, very helpful and available. Not in downtown but close to the port and the main bus station.


91%

The host was very nice and friendly and provided very detailed information. The room was neat and tidy and equipped with good facilities. Location was slightly inconvenient as it required to take a bus to get to the old town. Nonetheless, it is still a value for money for private rooms.


97%

We stayed one week at Vila Marija. The owner was nice, very good english speaker and always ready to help. She recommended us the best places to visit and best restaurants. The house was nice and clean. Free wi fi available. Even that the house do not have its own parking, you can easily find a safe free parking near the house. We definitly return here. Natalia and Radu

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely welcome from the host, air conditioned room with a fridge and a shared kitchen is also available. Great view over the port, would highly recommend.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The owner was really helpfull, informed us about everything we needed to know about dubrovnik. Location is good, since the city is rather small and reachable on foot. The bus station is very close. Its 15 min walk to the old town. The room had wi fi and cable tv. It has everything you need for a short stay.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

About a 15 minute walk to the old town. The house has a beautiful garden and terrace. The owners are very helpful and accommodating. Good value in beautiful Dubrovnik.


100%

Good value for Dubrovnik, close to the bus station. A 20 minute walk from the centre but it means that the restaurants nearby are much cheaper. Room was very big and clean, the house is very nice! They were very welcoming and told us a lot about what to do in Dubrovnik and we got free drinks upon arrival and leaving. Went out of their way to help us! Thank you so much, this was the best place we stayed in Croatia.


100%

Thank you for making our stay such a relaxed, pleasent one.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The host was lovely and welcoming, giving a good intro talk about everywhere and the buses to use. She gave us her phone number in case we got lost or needed help. Facilities were great, kitchen well stocked, air con, terrace, towels and wi-fi. Only downside for us was the location, as didn't realise everything in Dubrovnik is in the old town. However the buses are great and the bus stop is just up the road so location was manageable. Definitely would recommend!


100%

Had a really nice stay, very friendly staff! I can only recommend Vila Marija!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We loved to stay in this hostel. Milica is very kind, she helped us in everything (sightseengs, programs, tours, weather, etc.). The location is ideal, it is the same distance from the old town and riviera beach and very close to the bus station and harbour. Atmosphere is wonderful.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)




View all Dubrovnik Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback