X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Wada Hostel in Guilin Reviews

No.212,Huanchengxi 1 Road, Guilin, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
1324 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The best staff I have ever met at any place. They not only hear, but also listen to what you have to say or request and they always gave pertinent, tactful and useful answers. The facilities are functional and clean and the common areas are cozy and welcoming, although the rooms would look nicer if there were some retouches on small details like doorknobs and plugs.


89%

We loved our stay because of the Wada girls, they were always smiling and ready to help us. The room was ok, but maybe just be taken care of more in terms of moisture and possible mould. The bathroom should be cleaned more often and tolitet paper please! Otherwise the common lounge is nice and the food and coffee they offer is excellent. Thanks for the stay :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are very diligent in keeping our rooms well-maintained to ensure they are always clean and mould-free. As for the bathroom, we routinely clean it on a daily basis in the afternoon and after our initial clean, we expect roommates to be courteous to one another and clean up after themselves. The toilet paper is replenish daily too but we are always available to provide additional toiletries when needed. We're glad you enjoyed our lounge and our delicious food! =)

100%

This is the best hostel I've stayed in in China. Very friendly, very helpful staff; well-priced food and drink, and pretty much everything you could want. There are several good hostels in Guilin, but this one is the best.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for amazing review! We're always trying our best to be the best! =)

97%

Rooms are cleaned and big enough. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is not very good (both dinner and breakfast).


94%

- Outstanding staff: literally amazing people! SO HELPFUL most helpful ever in fact. - Good food in the hostel restaurant - Excellent Wifi - A lot of arrangements can be made through the staff - Great location next to the train station - Bikes for hire - Free towels Cons: - Bathrooms were a little dirty - Not exactly in the center of town, but can hire a bike - Guilin 'city' is more expensive than its neighboring cities (without the views) make sure to visit other parts !


86%

Great place, helpful staff.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

People that work there are REALLY friendly! Very good hostel.


83%

the staff are all very nice. they have excellent arrangement for my rush booking of the bus to Longsheng Rice Terrace. The decoration in the hostel is good and we love it. The rooms is nice too. Will definitely recommend to our friends and any backpackers who wanna go Guilin.


97%

Very friendly staff! and I did have fun in the BBQ event on Friday night, great food and atmosphere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you had fun at our weekly All-You-Can-Eat BBQ! It's always a fun and delicious time! =)

94%

The Wada girls are amazing. Their presence certainly sets the mood for the hostel. Everyone mingled. The tours were fair and hassle-free. Even the food was great! (They make a mean to-go sandwich for the tours!) Thanks for making my trip to guilin so easy and hassle-free!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We are always here for a quick mingling and we're happy you loved your stay here! =)

80%

The staff were great! Very chatty and their English was excellent. We had a lot of fun and I learnt a lot from them. Food was good too, especially the chips!


100%

I had a great stay at Wada hostel. I can't think of anything bad to say about it really. The staff were so helpful and friendly and it was just a really laid back place. Great value for money! Very happy!

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We're happy too! =)

100%

Wada staff great. Monday dumpling night a good icebreaker. Cozy reading room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and your kind words! We love breaking the ice. Next time join us for our BBQ for more fun! =)

91%

The people at the front desk were amazing! I was only staying one night in order to explore the Dragon's Backbone terraces and they made me feel awesome. Their english is better than mine and they helped me with all the navigating questions I asked. Cannot recommend enough. Also, all the locals seem to know where this is, so it's not hard to find your way back to it if you get lost. Just ask!


97%

Real great hostel, stuff makes big effort to have very good atmosphere! Highly recommended! But trip from this hostel are very poor and rather expensive, for example only transport included. Probably you will buy it despite it because there is no other way to go there..


97%

The Wada girls are the best at making you feel like you're at home, enjoy their company you won't find any hostel like this in China!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

very friendly staff, always willing to help :-), food very good - the best Thai Curry I ever had!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words! We also think our Thai curry is very tasty! Happy travels! =)

83%

Located in a pretty good part of Guilin with easy access to the bus station and a fairly vibrant, commercial area with a good night life. The staff were super friendly and helpful when we asked for information, and were patient when we asked a lot of questions. The hostel's food was not bad, and the room's facilities were fine. The shower was a small room with the toilet and shower in one, and the drainage was a little slow so the floor was quite wet after showering.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We're very happy that we were able to help you with everything you needed. For the shower, we appreciate it that you brought this to our attention. We always address every guest's concern in a prompt manner and have fixed this minor problem to ensure a more pleasant stay for future guests. Thank you for staying with us and happy travels!

91%

Thank you very much your welcome and advices ! And also for your smile. Good luck. Thank you.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

For me, the atmosphere of a place is the most important thing, and that's where Wada Hostel excels. The staff are nothing short of breathtaking in making you feel welcome, and you enter their (well stocked) bar, managed by a (very talented) bartender feeling like a close friend ushered into a reunion. Everyone is cheerful, friendly and helpful here. Add to this the comfortable beds, great location and night time security and you have possibly the best hostel in the world, ever. Seriously. Visit.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your amazingly kind words! Please come back and visit us soon!

(136 results)


View all Guilin Hostels

Please give us your feedback