Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Walaba Hostel and Beach Houses

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2017
8.0

A little disorganized but not a bad place to spend the night. The room was open to nature so make sure you use the bug nets. The best part is that the beach is super close, and the owners are friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2017
8.6

We loved the hosts and the place was extremely clean. The only downside was there was a huge spider by the bathroom who had built a large web, but that's what you get for staying in the jungle! Overall, a great place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
4.0

We reserved an aircon room but got a fan room. The owner made the situation worse by telling me it was unreasonable to expect AC and even told me my Spanish is bad. At least the receptionist, cleaning lady, and Mingo the cat were friendly. Water and Wifi also went out during a rainstorm which left us stranded. If camping is your thing, save money and find a camp ground.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Aug 2017
6.9

This was a charming hostel, the hosts were very kind and talkative. The building itself was very outdoorsy and beautiful, everything was very one with nature and open to the wilderness. For me personally it too closely resembled camping for the price of a nice hostel. If you love the outdoors and camping feel it's wonderful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
9.4

Beautiful place, full of luscious plants and super nice vibe. The owner and all the staff are lovely and will help you with anything you need. A quick bike ride into town or to the shops. 2 minute walk to an awesome beach. The place has a very homely feel to it and I loved staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
9.7

A group of 8 students went for the weekend and we had an absolute blast! The woman in charge is so warm and kind! The kitchen is super nice, all the beds have mosquito nets, and the bathrooms were clean. It felt like we were staying in a tree house! Also there is a friendly cat and dog!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2017
9.4

We loved the location, we took a private room and you can't hear the bunkhouse folks when they feel like partying till 3 am over CR night noises so that was great. Hot water ran out while we were there, but you know you hardly need hot water when it's so warm all night and day. Alexandra is really friendly and accommodating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2017
9.4

Incredibly beautiful this house. And the American lady who was taking care of the house for the owner was super friendly and helpful. So many hammocks and so much time to rest. We rented bikes to get into the city. Took us 20-30 minutes but it was the perfect. The place is really one of a kind, I can only recommend it. Better, however, for people that do not travel alone. We didn't see many people around and the few times we did there was no or little interaction.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
8.6

Solid place. Nice staff. Off the beaten path for sure. Really cool hike to a bluff right down the beach from the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.6

I loved it here, it's really tranquilo and around 8km out of town but near really beautiful beaches. Definitely not a partyhostel, it's a place to relax and have a calm stay in nature

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×