Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Walaba Hostel and Beach Houses

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.5
Walaba Hostel and Beach Houses Located at 6km after Puerto Viejo, in Punta Uva beach, 100 mts after Selvins Rest, Puerto Viejo.
Walaba Hostel and Beach Houses
Costa Rica
Puerto Viejo 6km after Puerto Viejo, in Punta Uva beach,, 100 mts after Selvin�s Rest
76% 206
9.6376459 -82.7019882
Walaba Hostel and Beach Houses
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
9.7

So many wonderful touches lovingly made to this place by the owner who was extra friendly, sweet, and helpful. There is a rustic beauty which we thoroughly enjoyed!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
6.3

perfect if you plan on cooking meals and chilling. far from PV, especially for nightlife. Accessible taxis (NOT LEGAL ones like the rest of Costa Rica), were safe enough; further than is ideal from PV. Quiet, safe, 5 minute walk from gorgeous Punta Uva beach; free bikes for supermarket runs; easy access 2 public bus; water went out every day, unprofessional receptionist: very chill atmosphere- be patient. Could be much cleaner; likely pay more than is worth; maybe bedbugs-- all got similar bites

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Oct 2016
4.9

Despite being incredibly far from town, the hostel is a two minute walk from a beautiful beach! The owner did not clean, asked that we use the old bikes to go to the supermarket (because she did not want us using the new bikes she previously told us were available), and was not very helpful or knowledgable about the area. During our stay, running water was inconsistent and people were twice stuck in the shower unable to finish rinsing. We did, however, enjoyed the social spaces of the hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
7.4

Nice Hostel, very unique and different then the basic hostel you will find. I wouldn't stay again just for the fact that it is a ways out of Puerto Viejo and taxis or catching a bus is just extra money being spent. But if you have plans that are outside of town it is perfect.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
8.6

I really enjoyed my stay here. We took a private room and had a little porch, our own bathroom, our own kitchenette and a double bed. They allowed us to park our car, and I'd say security was top notch. Couldn't get into the property without a key, and couldn't get into the room without our own key. Our lights weren't fully working within the room but there were several sources for lighting so in the end it wasn't bad. I'd have to say- I don't think the facility is cleaned often.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
24th Jul 2016
7.4

Funky hostel, but a long way from the main town. They have bikes you can rent but they are pretty ancient. Our booking got messed up and we were put in a private room when we had requested two dorm beds. Pretty amazing being woken up by Howler monkeys.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hamid815068
  • Germany, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
21st Jul 2016
7.4

A good place to stay if you are in a Group. The water is not safe for drinking, the owner did not show up until the last night but all other staff members were great. The beach around the cordern (3 min. walk) makes all the game. The sound of the jungle is amazing at nights and i recommend to stay here if you are keen for a backpacker´s experience without a lot of luxury.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
10.0

Adored the two nights I spent here. It really felt like home...was very comfortable and the staff made it an incredibly memorable experience. Walaba embodies the pura vida lifestyle. It literally felt as though I were sleeping in the middle of the rainforest. AMAZING.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
10.0

This is a jungle bungalow palace 3 minutes to the Caribbean Sea. Takes 40 minutes walking from Puerto Viejo, or a $10 cab-ride.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.