X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Warung Coco Reviews

Jalan Majapahit, Kuta, Indonesia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
286 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Booked a single room for one night since I had a stop over between Gili and Singapore. Room was not located at the main compound, but further up the alley. Room okay, but bathroom was in need of some paint and cleaning. Bed okay, but the only duvet was a thick one that most likely is not cleaned after every visitor. Quiet area so got a good night sleep. About 20min walk from Legian Street and 30min to beach.


94%

nice small rooms and awesome breakfast, only remark is that the shower water was cold


69%

Very nice place to relax. If you want a nice room make sure its at the poolarea. The only disappointing thing was the management and the service.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Pool area is very nice, dorms are excellent. It is a little far from the main area but a highly recommended place to stay. Stayed here for Nyepi (Day of Silence) & it was a good place to spend the day trapped "inside". My only gripe was the lack of information given. The small staff would say or do one thing, then the owner would either yell at them for doing it wrong or yell at us for having something given to us by the staff. Information at the start would have made the whole thing easier.


20%

Worst Place in Kuta I have stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sir, as with your other review i urge others to read it, only difference this time was you DID NOT WANT TO PAY AT ALL ?, please tell us all where you get these free hotel rooms you seem to think are out there ?Sir i think you are being used by the despicable local person with the disgusting accommodation you got free to try to discredit us in return for your free room but as your review has no substance or points of why it is the worst place in Kuta then we will let the real reviews describe

97%

All the staff were really lovely, friendly and helpful. Constant cleaning and sweeping. Pool is cleaned everyday, I was up early every day so I saw this done every morning. Bedrooms cleaned every day. Breakfast was delicious and really filling, as much tea and really good coffee as want during breakfast hours. A/c very good! Lockable wardrobe. We left laptops etc on bed which they would carefully move if cleaning when we were not there. Nice distance away from town. Excellent place to stay!!!!!

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff the first night very welcoming, great breakfast. But sometimes, things are not very clear.


89%

Very nice 'hostel' more of a hotel, access to the pool and free breakfast. bit of a walk to the main reception area, but the cut through alley at the back came in useful. would stay here again!


97%

Stayed at Warung Coco for 5 nights and enjoyed our entire stay! We had a beautiful poolside room which was such a pleasure on hot days. Room was spacious and clean (cleaners come in everyday). About 15 minutes walk to Kuta beach and about 10 minutes from Jalan Legian for shopping and restaurants. Very quiet which is nice when you just want to lay by the pool and relax. Staff are extremely accommodating, even allowed us to stay and use the pool all day after checkout until our redeye flight!


20%

Unfriendly and not well organized.


51%

THEY ARE LYING while they clearly say on their description that this is not a dorm, well THIS IS A DORM no matter what they tell you at the reception, i had to share a really small normal hotel room with two beds with a total stranger. WEIRD . especially because they is only a see through curtain on the bathromm/toilet. door... no intimacy. when i complained at the reception staff were extremely RUDE

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do not tell lies ?, the description means not a dorm in the traditional sense of 10+ people in a room, YOU booked a bed for $ 9 and wanted and tried to demand a poolside room to yourself for your superbly low price DUH ???. The HOTEL STANDARD TWIN ROOM you got was perfect and clean and was and still is the best value in Bali according to past and present guests. this negative review is spite as you did not get your way with a room by the pool to yourself. Either grow up or up your budget .

74%

Very friendly staff. So nice hostel!

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

More like a poolhotel for the price of a hostel, truly value for money, stayed at the marginally mote expensive private next to beach, great big clean rooms wirh working wifi,shower,fridge,beer for 15k for sale also, great possibilities for hanging out by the pool. Good with a group, good for 2 peeps also. Location is only average as its a bit hard to fund your way in the dark and some way from the mainareas. Staff was mixed, most dont speak much english, breakfastlady was fantastic. Recommended


74%

The hotel is good but not great. Staff are lovely and very friendly. The breakfast is pretty poor when you consider how other places in the rest of Indonesia do it but the main point is the rooms. There is quite a discrepency between rooms by the pool and in the annex. Yes the rooms in the annex are cleaned everyday by the staff but they're still not clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your comment about the FREE BREAKFAST is utterly astounding, you get 3 choices of hot dishes + toast/ jam/ butter etc as much tea and coffee as you like for 3 hours and cooked fresh in front of you for 2 persons for less than $20 in an air con room with hot and cold shower, sir in Bali you are lucky to get a fan room with cold water and no breakfast for that price. Your negative responce is based on the fact you would not pay the small ammount to be beside the pool. The real reviews can be rea

80%

nice place. really nice and helpful staff. quite a walk to the beach but close to kuta markets.


49%

There are two parts of Coco, one is right next to swimming pool, another is far (8 minutes of walk) and old and dirty, right up some random alleys. You can better values at other places. Not a good place to meet other travelers too.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
In reply to your negative comment of the 8 MINUTES walk from the room is utterly ridiculous, the guest review under your one from an elderly guest we had said it is a two minute walk and she always stopped at our temple to take photos so you are way way off with your untrue comment. The rooms are not dirty as reviews show and your ulterior motive for these comments are unclear and surely it was up to you to speak to the other 160 travelers that were enjoying their stay at the same time as you

80%

Great pool. I stayed in a shared room "2 minutes away" down an interesting alley...away from the crowds of Kuta.


89%

Great out of the way guesthouse, which will please those who want a more local experience and those who wish to avoid the touts near the beach. If you're looking to be within steps of the action, this is not the best choice, as it is a 15 minute walk through narrow streets. The location is worth it in my eyes though, due to the quiet at night, the divine pool, and the unique "dorms" that are more like a hotel room with a random roommate, making it easy to truly meet new people!


80%

Good hostel/hotel in kuta, nice swiming pool, staff is very friendly. it doesn't have much hostel atmosfere but people make the place!!

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Definitely worth staying here for the price. The pool area alone is just amazing. The free breakfast…ON POINT. I got an enormous bed in a 2-bed room (though I had paid for a cheaper more crowded one). My room was a 3 minute walk from the actual hostel/pool area…in a separate complex but it didn't feel unsafe. Getting OUT of the hostel and into downtown Kuta at night however…discouraged me when I tried it. The area around the hostel is a bunch of little unlit quiet alleys. Take a buddy.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Kuta Hostels

Please give us your feedback