Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Munich Reviews

Senefelderstrasse 1, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained


13937 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Wombats was nice! Only stayed for one night, but enjoyed it. Cool hang out area, a working elevator, very clean.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Great stay all around.


Everything as expected, staff provides good information and some extra things like free walking tour, I was not into party (probably the only one in the whole building :) but looks like Wombar is a good place to hang out and meet people. Thanks guys.


Wombats has a reputation as the best hostel in Munich. And it totally deserves it. Absolutely no complaints. In particular, I like the fact there is a shower in the room, the Beer Garden crawl is an absolute must, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and the facilities (including the common room and bar area) are top notch. The problem is, we can't stay in any other hostel in Munich now because we've stayed at the best. Everything else is rubbish in comparison. Don't go to Jaegers.


Wifi does not work most of the time. They probably shouldn't claim they have wifi it's terrible.


Room was very very hot. Other than that, it was a good hostel and good happy hour specials in the bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks very much for your comments. If it gets too hot in the rooms feel free to ask for another fan at reception. We've got some spare ones in our storages. :) Have a great time onwards!


We stayed in a double private room - huge plus is having a hair dryer :) the room is a little on the small side - not really anywhere to put your luggage without it being in the way - however room and ensuite were exceptionally clean - they do get very got though (fan provided doesn't do a whole lot) Breakfast is $3.90 I think - nice cheap brekky plenty of easy options.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The location is right across from the Hauptbahnhof, it's really convenient to walk from the hostel to anywhere in the city. My stay was great, lots of young travelers, engaged staff, and a very nice conservatory/lounge with a really nice bar right on the ground floor of the hostel. Really safe with key access required to enter the lobby, the room floor, and the room.


Was surprisingly shabby when compared to the Vienna wombat, and in a slightly dodgy neighbourhood. Wasa. Little bit disappointing.Everything was decent enough though. It's a pretty social hostel- the beer garden tour was awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks very much for your rating! What exactly do you mean with "shabby"? Our house is older than most of the Vienna babies and there's quite some construction going on right now. But feel free to write us an e-mail: office@wombats-munich.de to give us some hints. We're always happy to improve. :) Also, don't worry about the area. Yes, it's the train station but Munich is safer than a Montessori kindergarden. ;) You'd rather get bullied by cops when crossing red lights. Have fun!


All in all a good one night stay. Two things can be better though. The room was a bit too warm in the night, and we had to leave an ID-card as a deposit for the card-key. I'd rather have left money as a security.


Its a great hostel, great atmosphere, nice bar and rooms with their own toilet. The fact that they don't have a kitchen was a letdown, as they didnt even have a microwave or a kettle for guests to use. Location is good, walking distance to the main attraactions, couple of minutes walk to the underground station and a supermarket right on the corner. Got a free breakfast for staying in their partner hostel in Vienna which was nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi from Munich! Yep. The kitchen problem. It IS a shame I know. Unfortunately it is chronic and there will be no solution until the world is changed and German bureaucracy will have to burn in hell for all eternity. And beyond. Aaaaanyway the matter of aching fact is that we're not allowed to have a kitchen due to fire safety regulations. Check. We're so sorry about that! Anyway, you can still ask our front desk or bar staff to heat food or water for you. Rock and Roll! ;) Happy travels!


Awesome experience all around; room got hot the last night, could use a better fan or A/C. Great breakfast, bar, staff.


Two staff members eating breakfast at reception during peak check out hours-no a good look. Pissed me off cause I had to wait and they were eating an chatting instead of serving customers


Wifi was terrible! Does not work most of the time. They really shouldn't claim they have wifi because it does not work. Other than that it was fine.

21 22 23 24 25 26 27 Next » last »
(534 results)

View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback