X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Munich Reviews

Senefelderstrasse 1, Munich, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
15317 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Good hostel, great staff. The tour to Dakau Concentration camp was amazing and the tour guide was incredible. Poor wifi at the hostel though. Has a pool table though!


94%

Whole experience was top notch. Staff incredibly friendly and helpful and hostel had a great vibe.


94%

Great hostel, in a really good position!! Felt very comfortable here.

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

thanks all of staffs ! i felt comfortabel and yours really kind . facillity is good enough for stay.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed with three friends for three nights. We had a great stay. As hostels go this was definitely one of the better ones. It was spotlessly clean and was nicely laid out. I particularly liked the benches and lockers in the bedroom. However there was no air con and even with two fans for 6 ppl the room was very hot. The bathroom was very small for 6 too.The breakfast and bar were great.some staff were friendly but some not so helpful.


100%

Close to the Munich Central Train station, great if you're travelling by train. They had everything I needed(big plus for hairdryers for free or well with a deposit!) and it was nice to have an ensuite bathroom. I was a bit nervous about sharing with 7 other people(only stayed in 4-6 people rooms up until now), but it turned out okay. Everyone was considerate and I got a good night's rest!


97%

Great hostel. I enjoyed the bar on the weekends and the breakfast in the mornings is worth it. The only problem is that one bathroom for 8 people is not enough in the mornings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello and thank you for your comment :) just a small hint. we have spare showers as well. just ask for the extra key next time. happy travels.

69%

The first night we stayed on the first floor. Seems like there was a party all night long. It was quite noisy and hot that did not bring us to a good sleep. The second night we stayed on the second floor. It was way better, at least there was no party noise. The travellers came back pretty late and left so early. The rooms are spacious but the high tech lockers are sometimes not working.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi guys! We're sorry that you didn't have a great time on the first floor. If you have noise or temperature issues please feel free to report to reception right away. They will definitely help you out on this. Enjoy your time onwards!

71%

An industrial sized and run hostel. Everything costs additional money, and they even have a twenty euro bond for a billiards cue and have DIY sheets. While clean, with adequate amenities, this hostel is geared toward young backpackers who dont venture out, and there isnt a pub crawl. Staff are unhelpful, especially the australian male at reception. It is located near the central station, not in the nice central town but is a short 10 minute walk from there. Not a place for solo travellers.


94%

Fantastic hostel, great bar, lots of fun people to hang out with, right by the train station (and not far at all from Munich zentrum). The breakfast wasn't great and the door to our room's bathroom was a bit finicky, but other than that, a fantastic place. Just try to use the internet when no one else is in the room or else it gets real slow.


83%

The locker nr. 4 in the room 407 doesn't work!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks very much for the tipp! We'll set our janitors on it immediately. Stay safe & happy travels!

83%

Only real complaint is that the rooms were super hot at night! Definitely made it hard to sleep. Need to invest in ac units or better fans!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks very much for your rating! I'm very sorry that you couldn't Sleep well. Actually, we're equipping each room with a fan even now as I write. :) Anyway, if it gets too hot still feel free to ask for a second one at reception anytime. As Long as we have spare ones our front desk staff will be happy to help you out! Have a great time onwards!

100%

Everything was great. The Aussies at the reception desk were always helpful.


83%

The location is really good, just 5-min walk from the Munich Hauptbahnhof. And it's good that the key card for the door can also open the locker, where the valuables can be stored. The room is spacious.


66%

The good things: breakfast is very delicious and cheap (in comparison to prices in the town) and there is very nice rest room with hammocks so you can get rest after long trip. And location is, well...on the one hand - it's in the centre of the city, just a few steps near to the main train station and 15 minutes walk from the bus station. But on the other hand the neibourhood is not very nice - a lot of brothels, sex shops and casinos, and in consequence, a lot of suspicious man around hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks very much for your rating! Although it's similar with every main station area you're quite right. But you can believe me when I say that even if it seems to be a dodgy area there's no need to worry since Munich is one of the safest cities in Germany, also in our quarter. You have to watch out for the cops rather for petty gangsters. ;) ... If I don't answer a rating for two weeks from now on call Amnesty!! Stay safe & happy travels!

80%

Everything is good except the only thing is the hostel wifi sucks

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location! Very closed to the train station!


77%

A bit expensive

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
... but only a bit. :)

94%

Great price. Good location right next to the Train Station. Nice that the dorms have included bathrooms/showers (at least for the 6 bed dorm room).


94%

Fantastic hostel and staff. The hostel is huge and looks professional, clean, and impressive. I am so amazed that they made a key that opens up your room and your locker! The dorms are rather big and the one we stayed at had its own washroom. Many attractions are walkable. One of the best hostels I stayed at. Highly recommend.


(442 results)


View all Munich Hostels

Please give us your feedback