X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - at the Naschmarkt Reviews

Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
12444 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Really nice hostel with good facilities. Great atmosphere - the bar was a really good place to meet fellow travellers! Our room was very clean and the staff were helpful. The all you can eat breakfast was also very good value for money at €4.50.


94%

A cool hostel right next to the train station, a friendly and sociable vibe


100%

I had a great time there! Really nice location, cool hostel, very clean and amazing staff =D I'll definitively will be back!

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
...and we are looking forward to welcoming you back:-) your wombat´s Team:-))

89%

Great stay and friendly atmosphere, the hostel bar is fun. So incredibly hot the few nights I stayed which I realize isn't the hostels fault - but some more fans in the rooms with a lot of people would have been really nice! Also a little hard to meet new people as a solo traveller in the bar , it's so loud it's had to approach people to talk, luckily I met people on the free walking tour and checked out the bar with them. Great hostel and location!

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Full of annoying drunk contiki-type Australians.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Yes, we had a lot of contikis here, but it will change next year/summer as the contract will be different. I hope that apart that, you were able to enjoy your stay in Vienna and our Hostel and we can welcome you again in one of our Hostels all around Europe!:-) Happy and safe travels, your wombat´s Team:-)

57%

Would not stay here again, especially in the summer. In terms of higher-rated hostels, this is the worst one I've stayed at. No fan in the bathroom and horrible circulation in the room. It was hot all day and night and the hostel made no effort to enforce its quiet policy, so we heard the people smoking in front of the hostel all night long. The internet didn't work in the room and wasn't much better in the lobby. For this price, there should really be air conditioning, or at least ceiling fans!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your feedback! Every feedback helps us to improve our service:-) Yes, we had a terrible heat wave we normally don´t experience in Austria and we have now increased our stock of fans (and now it is back to 22 degrees and "normal Austrian summer":-/ ). Our receptionists are really trying to reduce the noise level , but sometimes drunk people forget from one second to the other that they are supposed to be quiet, we are very sorry for that!!!!

94%

The usual good stay at a wombats hostel. Clean, comfy and well appointed. My only complaint was that neither fan in our room worked so it was a bit toasty in the 8 bed dorm at night. Solid place overall though.


80%

It's more like a hotel than a hostel, but it's really nice, the staff is very helpful and the rooms very clean..


94%

Wombats was AMAZING! The WomBar was great for getting to know People, and there were lots of great people to meet, access to a kitchen was clutch. The only Thing is the rooms were extremely hot and there was no air conditioning, but they did provide towels for showers that had great water pressure. The lobby was also a very cool spot to hang out, chill and get to meet people. 5/5!


97%

My sister and I had a great time at this hostel. It was very clean and easily accessible by the train. The Internet was a little sketchy in the rooms but wasn't too bad. We really like hanging out in the bar and common room and meeting other travelers. Absolutely would recommend this hostel!

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

There was no air conditioning, and the staff was very unwilling to provide additional fans to alleviate the heat. The hostel was fun but limited food and beverage variety. Good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. We are currently struck by a heat wave we never had before in Austria, so now we bought a lot of extra fans!!! Air-condition we don´t offer due to sustainability reasons. Lots of greetings from hot Vienna:-) your wombat´s team

97%

Large, exciting hostel that's clean and safe. Good location


97%

Awesome experience! Great place to meet new people. Staff were all welcoming and very nice! Room was really nice. Only downfall is the heat of Vienna and no aircons. But if you don't mind that Wombats is awesome.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

All wonderful, except NO AIR CONDITIONING. I don't think you understand it's been hovering around 40 degrees lately. Not okay. Other than that, lovely rooms, private lockers, clean facilities. Can always rely on Wombat's.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. A heat like that is very unusual in Vienna, that´s why most hotels, hostels, etc. don´t have air-condition in Vienna; also it is a matter of environmental protection. To make it easier to get over this heat wave we have now increased the stock of fans:-) Great to read that you enjoyed the rooms and our facilities and we hope to see u soon again in one of our wombat´s all around Europe:-), your wombat´s team

63%

It was terribly hot. We got no sleep. Very unpleasant.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely loved it! We came way later than we meant to, and the staff were very understanding. Staff was very helpful and friendly. A fun bar in the hostel, and you get a free drink voucher. Breakfast is only €4.5 and includes bottomless coffee, juice, buns, cereal, fruit. Very delicious, and for a great price. The hostel has a really fun atmosphere! The rooms were small and clean. Very secure- we all had our own locker with a key-card. I definitely recommend it!


66%

Got good atmosphere! But wifi connection is very poor in fifth floor. Not sleeping comfortablely due to heat and can't breathe in the room because window can't be opened bigger!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, yes it was really hot in Vienna throughout the last couple of days - we just recieved a shipment of fans to hand out - that should to the trick. Will def look into the WIFI issue! All the best, Boris

57%

There is no aircon in the room for the price you pay to stay here!! Considering it was 38 degrees outside and the price you pay to stay at this hostel it is very disappointing!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your Feedback. Vienna is currently struck by a heat wave never seen before here and we have now increased our stock of fans. Due to environmental reasons we do not provide air-condition (and with our normal weather conditions it is usually not needed). So sorry for the inconvenience of the heat, but i hope that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and had the opportunity to enjoy a bath in one of Vienna´s pools or in the Danube River!:-) Lots of greetings, your wombat´s team

100%

staff were exceptional at this place. so helpful even though i needed help with really tedious stuff. made it so eeasy for me. room was huge and clean. bathroom was great. location great. breakfast was great value. no complaints.


94%

The location is a bit removed, but the atmosphere, staff and overall experience makes up for it completely. The bar downstairs is convenient, cheap and filled with a great crowd. I highly recommend this location ❤️.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(507 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback