Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - at the Naschmarkt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 17156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 17156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Feb 2017
8.9

Only down checked the location because it may not be obvious to some but the hostel is located right next to the underground subway....which will get you anywhere you need to go. Recommend purchasing a multi day pass on arrival. Staff did their jobs...nothing more, nothing less. Very satisfactory

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.3

Great hostel, large rooms, nice staff, cool bar and space with sofas. Large lockers in the room. The area is convenient, you can go almost everywhere walking. Metro station very close too. But rooms and bathrooms are not very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Nicaragua, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.6

Great hostel, have stayed with them in Vienna and in London. The only issue I have is that the halls have an echo when people talk and there is no noise reduction between the halls and the rooms. I would be in bed and if people were talking in the hall it felt like they were in the room right next to me. Also the internet was pretty much non-exitent in my room, maybe it was because I was in the second floor but when I was in my room and tried to connect it was really really really slow.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.9

The price for a 4 dorm room is quite reasonable compared to the one I paid €35 a night for a 6 dorm room in Milan. Very modern furnished and safe as you will have your own e-key to access the room and locker. The characristic Naschmarkt is just right across the road.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2017
10.0

Great location and great service - more of a hotel feel than a hostel feel. The great part is that there is a food market right across the street with some amazing delicacies! It is spacious and the staff are always helpful, would definitely suggest it as of the best in Vienna!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.3

It's a very busy and lively hostel. The staff are friendly and the comedy night is good. The location is great and the facilities are generally good. There could be better walking tours, as in actually stating what day they run on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.1

What I loved most about the hostel was that how it was very conducive for meeting new people, especially the common area and the bar area. The rooms were also really big and spacious, which was a plus. However, I do wish that the beds were newer and less rickety, as well as the blankets could be replaced- as it seemed very much used by so much people, or just have had duvet covers to cover them. Overall, my stay in Wombats was very good and I would totally stay here if I do visit Vienna again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
10.0

Clean hostel, good atmosphere. Social bar. Good walking tour from hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel! My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights in a 4-bed dorm in February and had a great time! The staff was extremely kind and the bar had a great atmosphere. The only small flaws were that it was a little far to walk to the major sights and that they were out of towels both nights. Other than that, we had a great time here and would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
7.7

Nice hostel to stay at, happy I chose it. However, staff is completely overwhelmed with the number of guests and there are often very long lines at reception. Also, the night staff admitted they were not very knowledgeable about things in the city. Other than this though, it was a nice stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback! We will work on improving our customer service in the future and hope to welcome you soon again:-) Lots of greetings from Vienna, your womcrew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.