Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - at the Naschmarkt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 18023 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 18023 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jun 2017
8.3

Wombats is brilliant because they are a big well established hostel group, so they know exactly what they are doing. We were able to check in early which was great. Biggest problem was the heat, obviously that's not in their control but the 36 degree outside what definitely inside there was just nowhere to cool down! Basically if you go in the summer you will sweat the whole time. very busy place and constantly people around so just depends what you want from a hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
7.7

Overall facilities were really good- fully equiped kitchen, common room and bar. Aldi next door and 20 minute walk to central vienna. However, there's no air conditioning so I ended up having 2 awful nights sleep. This let the facilities down as the kitchen became too hot to cook in and I couldn't relax in the common room. I'd only stay here again if they installed air conditioning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jun 2017
9.4

Great hostel and a great stay. Walking distance from the centre of Vienna, with a tram stop right outside to get to wherever you want to be. Also just outsidenis the Nachsmarkt, which is fantastic, and the street is steeped in history. Staff were a delight and very helpful. Can end your day exploring in the bar, which always has drink offers on. Room was spacious, clean and they even provided us with a large fan as we stayed in high heat and humidity! Would massively recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jun 2017
8.9

The place was exactly what you need when you are travelling; cheap bar, clean rooms & bathrooms. However it did feel very commercialised and had more of a feeling of a chain hotel. It wasn't my favourite stay as the staff would only recommend what was on the map and they never mentioned the walking tour of Vienna which we would have loved to go. Personally the hotel was overrated, expensive and big range of ages stay there, however was clean, good location and had a cheap bar

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Jun 2017
7.4

Only stay in this hostel if you are prepared to sweat 24/7 and have no wifi. This is supposed to be a branded hostel so you'd expect it to have high standards but they seem to fail to provide any form of air con throughout the entire building. The bedroom was ridiculously hot with only a tiny fan which did nothing, the kitchen and bar were even hotter, it just made our experience even worse. Also you would think in this day and age, they could provide wifi working thought out the building but no

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2017
10.0

Everything was fantastic! Location was ideal--close to the metro and the city center, staff was helpful, rooms were large, beds comfortable. It gets very warm in the building during the heat of summer so be prepared!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Jun 2017
9.4

Clean rooms and entire hostel. I stayed at this wombats last year so it was good to be back despite only isn't a night. Staff were friendly and efficient. Great place for a quick stop over, I would prefer a smaller hostel if I stay for a duration of time. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • spacesmack9426
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Jun 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! I would stay here again if I return to Vienna.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
8.3

Everything was great, but the WiFI was really really really bad

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
9.7

Great place to go. Rooms can be very warm in summertime, recommend finding a fan for the room to help with the heat, if you can...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thanks for your feedback! We do provide fans at the reception for the really hot summer days, as we know that in can get pretty warm in Vienna :) Hope to welcome you again in wombat's! Best, your womCrew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.