Hostelworld.com

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - at the Naschmarkt

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 17130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 17130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.3

It's a very busy and lively hostel. The staff are friendly and the comedy night is good. The location is great and the facilities are generally good. There could be better walking tours, as in actually stating what day they run on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.1

What I loved most about the hostel was that how it was very conducive for meeting new people, especially the common area and the bar area. The rooms were also really big and spacious, which was a plus. However, I do wish that the beds were newer and less rickety, as well as the blankets could be replaced- as it seemed very much used by so much people, or just have had duvet covers to cover them. Overall, my stay in Wombats was very good and I would totally stay here if I do visit Vienna again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel! My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights in a 4-bed dorm in February and had a great time! The staff was extremely kind and the bar had a great atmosphere. The only small flaws were that it was a little far to walk to the major sights and that they were out of towels both nights. Other than that, we had a great time here and would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
7.7

Nice hostel to stay at, happy I chose it. However, staff is completely overwhelmed with the number of guests and there are often very long lines at reception. Also, the night staff admitted they were not very knowledgeable about things in the city. Other than this though, it was a nice stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2017
10.0

Great hostel, so popular I ran into friends from other countries in the bar! Great facilities - can't fault it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bbblicious
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.3

Great location, right by the Naschmarkt, one block from the metro, and couple stops from the city centre. Rooms are spacious, clean, and the locker and room access are secure since access is through room key only. Because it's a hotel-like hostel, it's very hard to meet people if you're a solo traveller. One free drink voucher per person at the bar on arrival and all-you-can-eat breakfast every morning for 4,5€ which was well worth the price for a simple inexpensive meal (cold foods only).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
8.9

Staff was very nice! Clean room and common areas. Location is right next to the U. My only complaint is they were out of towels, so we had to use bed sheets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place!!! Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.3

Is one of those big hostels when is sometimes difficult to meet people if you travel alone. The bar is nice though and breakfast is also good. Rooms are big, beds are ok but pillows are bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
8.0

Cool hostel, definitely a chain, but that means a lot of different people to choose to stay here and it has a great vibe overall. Nice to have a free drink at their bar to meet a few people and socialize. Location was good and it was definitely clean. Can't go to wrong staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.