X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - at the Naschmarkt Reviews

Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
10106 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

LOVELY hostel, our room was so nice. Really good kitchen and bathroom facities. Nice bar that was cheap, in a good location. Just a really pleasant hostel!


83%

The room was nice and clean, so was the hostel. This was one of the biggest hostels I have stayed at and for me, that felt like it's downfall for the atmosphere, there were too many people to get to know/talk to. Facilities were good though, as was location and the lockers with the security card was amazing.


80%

Good location. Good breakfast provided for good price. Clean and warm showers.


91%

Great chain of hostels, recommend to any and all


97%

I'd go back to a Wombat's again without a thougt!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Pros: Easy to get to no matter where you are, cheap laundromats, good security, complimentary drink. Cons: the shower floods everytime someone has a shower, they provide you with a squeegee, which does nothing, and you constantly have to dodge deep pools of shower water while going to the toilet at night (because everyone, shock horror, bathes once a day). Some of the staff have a bad attitude, which I hope the manager will pay attention to, as there have been a lot of complaints around the web.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the shower, there was actually a missing part which caused the flooding and it is now repaired. Concerning the bad attitude of some staff members, we would be happy if you could describe that closer to us by sending an email to office-naschmarkt@wombats.eu We would really appreciate a detailed feedback so we can improve our work in the future. Best regards

86%

Amazing breakfast, it's not included but it's definitely worth the extra €3.90. The bathrooms were always spotless and the staff generally very helpful! It would have been helpful to have extra bathrooms as one toilet between eight people and no extra bathrooms except in the bar was extremely hard sometimes. Wifi was also generally very weak and poor quality.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel. Everything you need, very friendly staff. The bar was good, location was great and the tourist maps, ideas, bike hire etc was spot on. Thanks for a great stay.


97%

Everyone working there was incredibly efficient and helpful. Our stay was brilliant- I would definitely go to any of the Wombats hostels again.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel was very sociable and easy to find. The rooms were clean and the bar was fun. Breakfast was good value for money.


94%

Only here for a few nights, but it was good! One of the dryers didn't work well but this was a pretty minor issue.


91%

Noisy at night with the bar and the wifi in the rooms was temperamental. But, overall a very nice hostel with a good, friendly vibe. Would definitley recommend.


97%

Very nice, well equiped hostel.


94%

It was clean and modern. Would stay again.


83%

there were bedbugs!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! We are very sorry that you had problems with these nasty bugs, we are trying everything to prevent them from coming to our hostel, but, just as our guests, they love travelling and are a problem all around Europe, from trains to buses, from 5 star hotels to hostels. If there is a room which is affected by bugs, we always get a professional exterminator and close the room until the bugs are gone.

94%

Really good hostel. Its clean, ita has a lot of services and you wont miss anything on your trip. The staff was helpfull and i recommend it to every kind of hostel traveller


57%

The Wombats hostel is normal chain hostel. The atmosphere though is quit anonymous and unpersonell. The staff was a bit sensitive in regards of the typical backpacker-attitude to make party. Its a nice hostel with fair value for money, but People who like it more indiviudal and like to have a closer relation to the staff in terms of real backpacker feeling are definetly wrong here..

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, we are sorry that you did not feel comfortable; we are trying to comfort all guests, from younger to older, from the typical backpacker to the ones just doing a short city trip to Vienna. All these people have different needs (sleep, party, etc.) and we are trying to make everyone happy:-)

77%

The room/facilities were excellent, however we didn't enjoy the atmosphere so much as we found the bar was too dark (no windows and at back of the building) and didn't really have the wide range in age groups (only young people).


89%

This was a quality hostel. It's right next to a market with fresh produce every morning and a grocery store next door. The building is very nice with a great kitchen, nice rooms and bathrooms, and a bar with pretty good prices. My only problem with it was that it felt more like a hotel. It's a perfect place to stay if you're traveling in a group of 3-4 or more people, but for a solo traveler, it wasn't a good place to meet people.


89%

Great location, useful staff and info, clean, good value for money - great hostel, would recommend to anyone!


(549 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback