X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - at the Naschmarkt Reviews

Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
12797 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This was a fine hostel to stay at, good layout and eating area. Breakfast was worth the €4.50. Wifi was superb in the rooms too. Staff were also super helpful and friendly. Great to have own power plug by bed, only thing to make it 100% would be a towel! Stayed one night at the wombats down the road once checked out, and can confirm it pales in comparison to this one!


80%

Room was clean and spacious. Wish we didn't have to pay to look up valuables in your own room.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I high recommend this place. My stayed was so quickly, unfortunately but so happy.


89%

Was awesome, every staff member was really friendly and helpful. Just a great time thanks!

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Please put in A/Cs in the rooms as it gets very hot at night!! :( other than that everything was great so keep it up :)

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Typical Wombats Hostel - majority of the guests are travelers from around the world in their early 20's and thus is the atmosphere. It's quite a big hostel, so you won't run out of people to run into. Staff is there 24 hours, friendly and helpful - and would fit into the same description as the guests. Rooms are quite basic, but clean and with modern showers. Location is very good - especially if you like Asian food or flea markets.


54%

Close to U-Bahn but notto things we wanted to do. One male staff member who checked us in was great, but the other staff we dealt with weren't very nice. Atmosphere was non-existent, the hostel was too big that people stuck to their own groups and didn't socialise while we were there. Facilities were basic, although the kitchen was good, but lack of air con (one small fan for a whole room) made the stay very uncomfortable. washing machine and dryers weren't great. Expensive for what we got.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback. We will work on the points mentioned by you and imprve our service in the future. Lots of greetings from Vienna, your wombat´s team

80%

Great hostel! Nice bar and common area. Nice with a free walking tour. Just some small complaints; Could do with some more bathrooms, one shower and toilet is enough for 4 people but can be annoying in a 8 bed dorm. Rooms are quite hot in the summer, they have small fans but more is needed. Kitchen could need some air conditioning!


91%

The stay would have been perfect if there were more fans or better ventilation. It was so hot almost everywhere - reception or room. But overall, great hostel.


86%

It is a good hostel , very central. the rooms are very big, clean and the beds are comfy. the hostel is very very huge so it may be a bit too anonymous if you travel by yourself.


71%

I stayed in a private room which was very expensive and I didn't sleep at all because of how ridiculously hot the rooms became at night. I have stayed at 4 of the wombats hostels in Europe and I love them all but air con in summer seems to be a huge problem for ALL of their hostels. Otherwise it's great! Please fix this for 2016 summer :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. Due to environmental reasons, air-con is not common in wombat´s hostels, but as summers seem to get hotter in Europe we will think of alternative ways to cool down the rooms in an environmentally friendly way. Best regards, your wombat´s team

94%

Superclean and amazing atmosphere!

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very friendly staff, good location, nice atmosphere but there was a pity that during these hot days there was no air condition at least at the bar. Besides of this, perfect hostel!


49%

Room wasn't particularly clean (hairs all over the mattresses, dirty floor, stains all over the fabric on the stools). Insanely hot up in the attic room, only one tiny fan provided for 4 people. Staff weren't particularly helpful in terms of providing information about what to see and where to eat/drink in Vienna. Location is quite far out, you end up having to get a few different metros to get to the centre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! We will see through the points that you mentioned we should improve! Happy travels, your wombat´s team

86%

Hostel is 15 min walk from train station. 10 min into Vienna centre. Right next a market with plenty supermarkets nearby. 6 bed dorm with bathroom included. Room was clean as was rest of the hostel. Guest kitchen could be messy due to other occupants. Bar facility was good, cheep enough drinks. Laundrette facilities available and plenty of washers/dryers available. Staff were friendly and helpful. Decently recommend the free walking tour, very good. Hostel seem more group tours than solo people.


89%

This hostel had a great bar and atmosphere with good facilities and lots of space and friendly staff. There is a luggage store as well which is helpful, however there is no aircon in the hostel so was very hot (there were two small fans in the large dorm but they didn't make a difference) and the bathroom could have been cleaner. The kitchen doesn't have an oven and is really hot - other than this, a good place to stay.


100%

This place is amazing! Very clean and yes, loud, but that made the atmosphere and meeting people great. The staff is very friendly and help as much as they can. The hostel itself is maybe a 10 minute walk into the centre, but there's a really nice market right across the street and always something to do. It's also right next to the metro station.


94%

No aircon :( everything else was awesome!!!


83%

Facilities wise, this is a very good hostel, very clean and big lockers. It did lack atmosphere though as it is such a big hostel. If your a solo traveller, I wouldn't recomend as there are a lot of tours that go through the hostel that keep to them selves.


83%

WAY TOO HOT! Walking tour was awful- extremely boring


(571 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback