X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - at the Naschmarkt Reviews

Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
12239 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Current renovations are a bit of a drag. Also air conditioning would have been great - Vienna was going through a heat wave. Staff were helpful and even mailed our postcards.


97%

One of the best hostels I have ever visited ...!! The place is super clean, the staff is super friendly and willing to assist you in any way, the atmosphere is vibrant and welcoming ....!! What more to ask ...!! Definitely recommended ...!!


83%

Geat hostel, friendly staff. Wifi is ok, the metro is near. The breakfast is really good, but expensive for whom doenst travel with much money


89%

Most obliging in holding our luggage in their secured locker room for us


94%

I loved this hostel ! It was so clean and the rooms were really spacious. The breakfast is delicious and at a great price. The bar is fun but could have better prices and better food. It is not too central in Vienna but it's close to a U-Bahn station so getting around is easy. You should stay here ! Great value for money and nice clean and friendly place


83%

Nice hostel with good atmosphere. Bar is cool and met some nice people. Would stay again.


89%

Great place. Wish it wasn't under construction but overall it was a great experience.


83%

Unfortunately they were renovating when I stayed, but there's not much that can be done about that. 15 minute walk to the centre and maybe 30 to the main train station. Helpful staff and a cool free walking tour hosted by Barbara. Fun bar area at night with a good atmosphere and easy to meet people. Recommend for solo travellers.


69%

Under constant renovations. More of a hotel then a hostel. May be good for groups but not recommended for solo travelling.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback. Sorry for the renovations, they will finish these days and will give our hostel a lot of more chillout-comfy-Hostel style, so come back and see for yourself once:-) happy travels, your wombat´s team

97%

Wombat is just perfect. The Naschmarkt is for me one of the best locations in Vienna. The market across the hostel, restaurants, bars, shops and city center are all walking distance.


100%

I am confident that this is THE best place to stay in Vienna. Well connected by metro, even though I found it fairly easy to walk to Karlsplatz, the Opera house and Museum Quartier. I didn't bother buying food outside of the Naschmarkt. Even though theres some pandering to the tourist crowd there's some real good, authentic food at normal prices. (Don't expect to be wowed by low prices...) The ambience was great since there is a LOT of people staying in this hostel.


86%

- very quiet - location can't be better (walk: tube station 2 min; city centre 15 min) - staff is very friendly - beds could be more stabilised (it would be good to have the opportunity to determine the location of the bed (top or buttom) at the reservation)

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Annoying to stay at the hotel because there was construction. Wouldn't of stayed there if we had been told before.


46%

The hostel was under renovation. From early in the morning until the evening there was loud noice coming from the groundfloor. The renovationworks resulted also in dirt on the floor where the visitors were stepping true. If you do renovationworks, at least close that part for visitors and reduce the noice inconvience! Besides that we didn't had any water in the bathroom on the day of arrival.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback and sorry for the construction noise! We tried to open all areas for our guests in order to reduce any limitations of service. Additionally we Keep the noise of the renovations down in every possible way, especially in the morning.

63%

Good sized rooms, with facilities inside the rooms. Breakfast was good for the extra cost. They are currently under construction, so everything was a bit chaotic and out of order.


80%

Stayed in a 6 bed female dorm - nice big room, quite spacious. Comfortable bed. Sheets were a bit old with a few holes but were adequate. Decent locker (big enough for a small backpack and to hang a jacket). Handy to have the communal kitchen available although it could be a bit cleaner. Good wifi access from room but very limited in communal breakfast area. Good location - easy walk into the centre of the city otherwise the train is on the doorstep. Loved the markets directly across the road!


69%

Unfortunately turned up, and they where doing major renovations that where very load and dirty during the day. If I had know I would have stayed at one of the other wombats, as the bar was in the breakfast area as the main bar was closed, on the plus side they did do a big discount on drinks all night, but it still was not the same. Would stay at wombats again, but not knowing about the renovations did annoy me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and sorry for the annoying construction! I hope you enjoyed our cheap drinks and will come back to see the result of the renovations:-) Your wombats team

63%

We were really excited to stay here, as we've heard great things. However, the hostel was under renovation when we were there, which we were not warned about before our stay. The bar wasn't open (moved to the breakfast room, so nowhere to go for some quiet) and almost all common areas were unusable. I think it would be really nice if we stayed at another time.


91%

Had a great atmosphere and the Naschmarkt was amazing across the road. Staff were very helpful with recommending things to see and do. The newly completed bar will be amazing now as well!


94%

Great hostel, perfect location by the metro station and food market. Staff was very helpful, construction was going on in the lobby and bar area so didn't get a good feel for the atmosphere but overall great experience.


(479 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback