X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Wombats City Hostel Vienna - at the Naschmarkt Reviews

Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
11412 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This is a great hostel. The staff is super friendly and helpful and there is a great 3 hour walking tour of the city. However, there are problems with the internet so don't expect to use it unless you pay to use their computers.


86%

Very bad internet connection. We can't use internet in our room even open google and the pillow very slight. But it's very clean, friendly staff and very easy to find. Near market and public transport. Nice!! Except for internet


69%

1. a bathroom for an 8-bed-room is horrible: quickly dirty and everything that happend inside could be heard, beside the fact that it was used frequently DURING THE NIGHT. 2. the beeping of various phones and computers during the night in the room was quite stressful.


71%

The hostel was nice and modern, very secure, and close to the metro. The wifi was HORRIBLE, though. About 70% of the time it wasn't working. A little annoying when you're trying to get things planned out. Also a little overpriced.


100%

Absolutely Great!

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Really helpful staff and information on offer. Great bar if you want to chill out but not venture far or feel alien, good prices. Very clean, bed linen comes wrapped up so you know it's fresh! Spacious rooms, I even managed to get a non bunkbed, so no head banging! The only downside is that the toilet in the room has no sink, so if someone is in the main bathroom/shower for a while you can't wash your hands! Oh and Wifi is patchy. I would recommend this hostel, you get what you pay for.


91%

An amazing, cheap and clean hostel in Vienna's center! Great facilities!


69%

Internet connection was very bad!

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff were all very friendly which was nice but the internet was not working in the rooms and very rearly at reception.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Its a nice place, but the net its always over loaded, the front reception staff is very active and polite.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there; we are very sorry for the annonyance of the broken, the IT company finally managed to find the mistake and it is working all fine again, so next time you come to visit, you can surf like a pro through the Internet:-)

97%

Great place to stay in Vienna. Would recommend this hostel for anyone

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very knowledgeable friendly staff, location near everything you need to visit, atmosphere is different, it's neither a hostel nor a hotel, always busy and I really liked the market across the street, I really enjoyed my stay at the wombat


100%

nothing to say, just love it!


97%

Very enjoyable and very nice place, where you can stay, meet people, have a drink in the (very cheap) bar and have a delicious breakfast for a low price. Moreover, you are 10 minutes (by foot) away from all the museums and the most interesting buildings in Vienna. Very cool atmosphere, good music everyday, with quiet and central neighboorhood... The place to be when you are young and not so rich in Vienna !

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place with awesome Shower and brilliant WiFi !! I could stay there again comfortably!!


94%

Facilities were impeccable, great atmosphere, especially due to the awesome bar offering great happy hour deals. Conveniently located close to the main market and within walking distance from the opera and good restaurants. Free quality walking tour provided by the hostel. Would definitely recommend it and stay again at.


94%

The staffs were really helpful...the location is perfect...just one station to karlsplatz! The breakfast was good...the rooms were clean! Wifi was always available! Two things I would like to recommend are: 1. If the bed was prepared before arrival and not to be done in person, most of the times the person travelling is not in the best condition to do such work. 2. The check out time is 10 am...so the check in doesn't have to be 2pm..rather 12pm would have been optimal.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice reception, good service, low price and good location. but luggage storage room didnt seem safe enough


89%

Because of its location, cleaness and private rooms this hostel is used by working and business people (like me) as a great option (value for money) for meetings arond the Opera area of Vienna.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Really great hostel with its own bar. The staff was always busy but always helpful and pleasant. My single room was spacious and clean and the bathroom a good size. I was surprised really. It was equal to that of a hotel. They give you a free drink ticket to the bar but drinks are only $3 anyway. Great location right across from Naschtmarkt. The lobby is always hoppin so you can do some work if you want and also meet people. There are free walking tours that leave from the lobby, too.


(394 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback