Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

XiaMen International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
XiaMen International Youth Hostel Located at No.41 Nanhua Rd., Siming Dist., Xiamen.
XiaMen International Youth Hostel
China
Xiamen Fujian 361005 No.41 Nanhua Rd., Siming Dist.
88% 242
24.4410866 118.0928805
XiaMen International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • felixschmitz8312
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
8.0

The hostel has a friendly atmosphere, the staff was always helpful. The hostel has a nice rooftop where you can chill and have a drink. The room was clean and comfortable. The drinks were reasonably priced. The area around the hostel wasn't very interesting. Across the road is a half empty shopping centre and in the street are some restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.4

Lovely staff, very friendly, extremely helpful and they speak English. Hostel & facilities great and clean as well. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jun 2016
7.1

PRO: Good location, very clean, AC works CON: Shower is nightmare, small water pressure and either very hot or cold water, can't adjust. Many mosquitos in room during my stay. Sound proof is not very good. Room is small.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jun 2016
9.7

Location close to the university and the beaches convenient. Staff friendly and helpful. The hostel has a homely atmosphere with its common area's furniture and decoration. Room was clean and comfortable (four-bed mixed room). One issue: You need to put your room card into the slot to activate the electricity. That's a little inconvenient if you are leaving early, your card is inside and others are sleeping. Small thing though, and I would definitely stay there again for all the other reasons!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
9.7

Very close to Xiamen University, Cat Street, restaurants, Nanputuo Temple. The Gulang Yu ferry is about a 20 RMB taxi ride away, or ask the staff for directions via bus if you're confident. Staff was helpful and efficient and friendly enough (maybe not super warm by the standards of some cultures, but I thought they were very nice). My only concern was the wooden locker in my 4-person dorm. They do have additional security if needed. Would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
7.4

Shower didn't always have hot water and the guy that was at the reception desk during the morning was really not helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
8.9

Staff were a little unclear about communicating when we could get into our room, and had to ask about my friends' rooming situation multiple times because the day and night shift employees didn't communicate. Otherwise, a wonderful experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
10.0

lovely spot. close to everything and affordable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd May 2016
10.0

The location was great for us, but we only had half a day there so we just wandered, ate, and came back. I dont know how close it is to things at all. The directions on HostelWorld were awful, we had a difficult time getting there. Coffee shops galore around here! Lovely building and atmosphere. Great patio. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The night guy was playing guitar all night - he was great! There was a dog too! We saw one cockroach in our room. Great shower - it has a door!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
9.4

Excellent in all ways EXCEPT the shower: they do not have temperature control installed and temperature can fluctuate from cold to scalding (dangerous). One of the two nights we were there, there was no hot water at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.