Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Zhangjiajie Zhongtian International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2017
6.9

Staff was awesome and booked us discounted trips. We were there during a lull and terrible weather but still had lots of fun. Room was loud and had cockroaches on arrival, but after we killed them there was no more issue :) Shower was hot and location was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Tommyadev
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Aug 2017
8.3

Incredibly friendly staff helped us organise all the day trips and also helped us with our travel plans.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
7.7

I stayed at the sister hostel in wulingyuan. It was an ok place to stay as long as you know what you're getting yourself into. The hostel is on the main street, so it's noisy at night and in the morning. But it was easy enough to get to the places I wanted to go. The place is really run down (but clean). The hostel owneres (who run the place) were super sweet and really tried their best to communicate with me. They don't speak any English beyond a few words.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th May 2017
5.4

The hostel is run down and tired looking. No western style toilets (despite being an international youth hostel). There was no lamp next to my bed (all other beds had them). The shower looked very grubby and the floor was broken, which meant water just poured onto the floor. Also, the bus from the bus station stops running after 7.30pm - despite what the direction to the hostel claims.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
5.1

It looks like this hostel used to be really nice but now... not so much. The room was not very clean, the toilet was not sealed so things leaked from the base which happens to be where you shower... the road noise and constant horns all night long was a bit much. I would not stay here again... The sister hostel they recommend in Wulingyuan outside the park is worse. No way I would stay here... dark, dirty, and slightly scary...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th May 2017
9.1

Nice stay. Good location. Clean. Staff only sometimes helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • herlathing967
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.3

First impressions of the entrance lift down an alley are not great but upstairs is a wonderful surprise. The hostel is based around a rooftop courtyard garden. Double room was large, clean and good hot shower. Staff were very friendly, especially the girl in the evening shift who spoke top notch English. Really tasty and good value clay pot meals available as well. Location in town is ok, on no 10 bus route and good supermarket downstairs plus local food options.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.0

Great hostel if you want to visit Zhangjiajie national park! It's on the main bus route from the train station so easy enough to get to. They offer a bag transfer to the Yuanjiajie hostel (located within the park) for ¥20 and the staff give very useful advice for how to get there. Beds are comfy and rooms are clean, facilities are a bit basic but nothing to complain about. There isn't much of an atmosphere but likelihood is you haven't come to Zhangjiajie for that anyway!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×