Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Zhuo Ma's Jiuzhaigou Home-Stay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 159 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 159 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
Zhuo Ma's Jiuzhaigou Home-Stay Located at Shang Si Zhai, Zhang Zha Town, Jiuzhaigou, Jiuzhaigou.
Zhuo Ma's Jiuzhaigou Home-Stay
China
Jiuzhaigou Sichuan Shang Si Zhai, Zhang Zha Town, Jiuzhaigou
87% 159
33.3095138 103.7898159
Zhuo Ma's Jiuzhaigou Home-Stay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Aug 2016
9.7

The people who run the place are SUPER nice, and very energetic. My bag broke because the airport was too rough with my bag, and Zhou Ma went out of her way into town and got it fixed for me while I was at the park. The house itself was very beautiful, but there is only one bathroom that the whole house shares. They do also run a new beautiful "hotel", where you can get your own room and bathroom. It's double the price, but it's worth it if you want your own space and privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
9.4

My stay here was amazing, and I couldn't have found better. The family takes care of everything you need, even packing us lunch and providing us with water bottles for the day! They are so generous and friendly, and staying here feels good and authentic - I really felt like I was supporting a local enterprise and meeting local people; it didn't feel fake or tacky at all. I would highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jul 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved our stay with Ama at Zhou Ma's! Ama will take care of you as if you were one of her own grandchildren. An incredible authentic experience in an incredible part of China. Great way to experience traditional Tibetan Culture. Her family works hard to make your stay comfortable and we couldn't have been more thankful!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
9.7

Staying at Zhuo-ma's home stay is a very unique opportunity! The house itself is located not too far from Jiuzhaigou near beautiful mountains. It's a sanctuary away from the large crowds of the national park (in the summer). The food that A-ma and her family prepared was delicious (I gained a love for yak meat!). The family was very sweet and went above and beyond -- Zhuoma's brother picked us up from park and helped us catch a taxi in town to the airport. Would def. stay here again and again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
9.4

Zhuo Ma's Homestay is really a different experience. The location is incredible, you wake up in a beautiful Tibetan village surrounded by mountains covered in green. It is a bit a ways from the park, and restaurants/shops, but they'll drive you over to the park, and Ama, Zhuo Ma's mother (such a sweet lady) will make all of your meals while you're there. The house itself is a real Tibetan village house, so if you're looking for a unique experience rather than a luxury room, this is the p

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
9.4

I'm so glad we decided to stay here instead of in town. Ama, and her family are absolutely wonderful and it was a blast getting to know them. You get served breakfast and dinner and she also packs a lunch for you if you go into town or to the park. The food is amazing! Rides to the park are also provided for free! If you're looking for a luxury experience then skip, but I think Zhou Ma's is much more meaningful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
10.0

Wish we could've stayed longer! ZhuoMa and her family are incredibly hospitable, kindhearted, and they have great senses of humor. Speaking Chinese will help you a lot during your stay, but ZhuoMa speaks English and someone staying with you probably will be bilingual as well. Something to note is that you have the option of staying in their home for 400RMB per night, which is great, or staying at their newly renovated guesthouse for 650RMB per night, which has upgraded rooms and facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
4.9

I really wanted to love this place. However, I ended up leaving in tears due to frustration and disappointment. Like someone else said, don't go if you can't speak Chinese and CHECK THE WEATHER. It wasn't horrible but for the cost you're much better off staying at the cheap hostels and meeting other people.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jun 2016
4.3

To start with, the facilities are what we knew to expect, nothing too special but we were going for the authentic Tibetan experience. On that the mother of Zhou Ma, who hosted us could not have been nicer. The price included pick up to and from Jiuzhaigou national park. When we wished to return we were forced to wait on another family for 3 HOURS by Zhou Ma's brother, also Zhou Ma was literally absent throughout our stay. The most we paid on accommodation but the worst experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th May 2016
10.0

I've been to over 20 countries and 14 cities in China and this is my favorite place ever. Amma is amazing in every way... She and her family will do everything to make your stay great. Please remember it IS a Tibetan homestay, so while the bathroom is simple, it does function and Amma's graciousness makes up for any of the simple amenities. Zhuo Ma wasn't there at first, so being able to speak mandarin with Amma was helpful, but others staying there didn't speak Mandarin and they were fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.