Hostelworld.com

Zhuo Ma's Jiuzhaigou Home-Stay

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 152 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 152 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
Zhuo Ma's Jiuzhaigou Home-Stay Located at Shang Si Zhai, Zhang Zha Town, Jiuzhaigou, Jiuzhaigou.
Zhuo Ma's Jiuzhaigou Home-Stay
China
Jiuzhaigou Sichuan Shang Si Zhai, Zhang Zha Town, Jiuzhaigou
89% 152
33.3095138 103.7898159
Zhuo Ma's Jiuzhaigou Home-Stay
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Jun 2016
9.4

I'm so glad we decided to stay here instead of in town. Ama, and her family are absolutely wonderful and it was a blast getting to know them. You get served breakfast and dinner and she also packs a lunch for you if you go into town or to the park. The food is amazing! Rides to the park are also provided for free! If you're looking for a luxury experience then skip, but I think Zhou Ma's is much more meaningful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
10.0

Wish we could've stayed longer! ZhuoMa and her family are incredibly hospitable, kindhearted, and they have great senses of humor. Speaking Chinese will help you a lot during your stay, but ZhuoMa speaks English and someone staying with you probably will be bilingual as well. Something to note is that you have the option of staying in their home for 400RMB per night, which is great, or staying at their newly renovated guesthouse for 650RMB per night, which has upgraded rooms and facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
4.9

I really wanted to love this place. However, I ended up leaving in tears due to frustration and disappointment. Like someone else said, don't go if you can't speak Chinese and CHECK THE WEATHER. It wasn't horrible but for the cost you're much better off staying at the cheap hostels and meeting other people.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th May 2016
10.0

I've been to over 20 countries and 14 cities in China and this is my favorite place ever. Amma is amazing in every way... She and her family will do everything to make your stay great. Please remember it IS a Tibetan homestay, so while the bathroom is simple, it does function and Amma's graciousness makes up for any of the simple amenities. Zhuo Ma wasn't there at first, so being able to speak mandarin with Amma was helpful, but others staying there didn't speak Mandarin and they were fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th May 2016
8.9

Expect a rough around the edges but incredibly warm, pure authentic welcome from Amma and the extended family who visit. This is a cultural trove to which you will gain insight. Strongly recommended but not for those expecting a silver spoon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
10.0

An absolutely incredible and hospitable experience from Ama. It is a must for anyone in the region who really wants to experience what it lives like a local and immerse themselves in the local culture. I cannot recommend them any higher.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Apr 2016
9.4

Zhou Ma's mother was a wonderful host and the food and conversation was wonderful! We really enjoyed the activities, horseback riding, show, the national park and just sitting in their yard. However, pick-up from the airport was a bit expensive as were some of the other activities, and may be difficult if you are on a budget. Otherwise, it was a lovely stay!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jan 2016
8.0

This place is all about the Homestay experience with the Zhou family. If you can enjoy staying and chatting with a Tibetian family in a remote village where chicken run freely along the street and home made honey is served along home made bread, this is your place! If you look for a nice shower in a comfortable room, dont go. On first sight the price looks high, but it includes everything apart from park tickets, which makes it cheap. Speaking Chinese will help you talk to the family a lot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2016
9.7

The host and his sons were very welcoming and eager to help. They made our stay much easier and more convenient from driving us to and from the JiuZhaiGou Park, buying our bus tickets to Chengdu, and providing us lunch before we left for the day. All the meals were homemade and absolutely exquisitely delicious. The products they use can't be found anywhere else. The honey and barley bread was to die for! I wish I could buy this honey and take it home. I highly recommend this hostel! Book now!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jan 2016
9.7

Zhuo Ma's is a really cool experience. Don't come here expecting a hostel. It is a tibetan homestay. The family is amazing. They will pick you up from the bus station or airport, pick up and drop off to and from the park and cook breakfast, a packed lunch and dinner for you (all really delicious local tibetan food). As the house is traditional tibetan, there is no heating, but when in the loungeroom, the stove doubles as a heater, and the (really comfy) beds have electric blankets which was nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.