Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 814 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 814 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof Located at Sonnwendgasse 11, , Vienna.
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
Austria
Vienna 1100 Sonnwendgasse 11
72% 814
48.1814324 16.3791990
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jul 2016
5.4

This is a huge hostel over 6 floors which is most used by school/student groups. They do a breakfast which is good but expensive. The actual guest kitchen is very poorly equipped. The bar on the 6th floor was never open when I was there. The wifi is ok is reception but poor in the rooms. It is close to the Main railway station (Hauptbahnhoff) and there are restauarnts and shopping close by on Favouritenstrassse, but it is far from the city centre. Not really for independent backpackers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
7.1

Checking in took a bit of time. There were 5 employees behind the counter and only one person helping guests while the others stood by and chatted. No info about facility amenities, services etc was provided. Was left to figure it all out for myself. The cleanliness of the patio area and elevators could have used more attention. There was plenty of space and places to be, however. The location is very convenient but the room was really hot with little air flow. Decent place for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
8.6

It's a great place, specially for young people. The WiFi works fine, and the space is nice. There's only two things. First the cleanliness. It wasn't very clean. Of course that also depends on the guests staying there. And there was not shower gel, although in the bathroom says that they will refill it when necessary.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.3

Excellent location, within walking distance of station and only a couple of stops away from the main city. Good security. I had a 4 dorm and the facilities were decent, clean. Not a great atmosphere though, wouldn't want to stay there for more than 4 nights and not a great living space.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jul 2016
4.9

The worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The worst service possibly due to under staffed. Stand at the bar for 30mins and still not even get served. Wifi is terrible could not even use it had to walk to McDonald's to use there's. Would not recommend this hostel to anyone.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
2.3

While they took my sheets away for no reason, they all took away my sleeping pet that was very important to me. The staff didn't help resolving the issue, and they were very rude. One person even hung up on me on the phone. In the end, they decided to blame this to other people who stayed in the room. They never apologized for anything, and they only said that they could not do anything about it

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jul 2016
5.1

No atmosphere whatsoever- if you're looking to meet people and have fun, I wouldn't stay here. Literally a bed and shower- have to pay for everything else, including 3.50€ for bead sheets and 7€ for an average breakfast- the whole feel was slightly prison like. Staff were quite rude/disinterested when I needed help, and it was way too expensive for what it was.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
10.0

This is a great hostel because the rooms were very clean, the wifi was great, and the location was perfect for me. I also loved how the bathrooms were inside each dorm instead of hall bathrooms like other hostels I've stayed at. I took a taxi to the hostel from the other side of the city, but I didn't see the hostel at first because it's not on the main street. There's a large sign that says A&O hostel with an arrow that you have to walk to. Best part: 3 minute walk to the main train statio

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Katjaravn
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2016
6.6

Good for one night but nothing more than that. More a cheap hotel then a hostel. The breakfast cost 7 Euros and was not very good.. But very clean rooms and you get own bath and toilet. Very close to the main station!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
6.0

The building is a combination hotel and hostel and you can immediately tell the difference. There's no atmosphere for meeting people, and a lot of the people staying there were young schoolchildren on some sort of summer trip. In addition, the rooms were sweltering hot, there was no ac or circulating air so you just have to crack the windows and hope for the best. Overall it had too much of a corporate feel and not enough personal touch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.