Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Academica Summer Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
Academica Summer Hostel Located at Hietaniemenkatu 14, , Helsinki.
Academica Summer Hostel
Finland
Helsinki 00100 Helsinki Hietaniemenkatu 14
84% 1066
60.1699837 24.9216485
Academica Summer Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Aug 2016
7.7

I booked a four bed female dorm and got a two bed, which was a pleasant surprise. We had our own bathroom also. Only issue is the lack of wifi. I had to walk to the main building 2 minutes away to access wifi which is a drag.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Peru, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
10.0

The only thing missing was good direction from the port

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
8.9

It was really nice staying in a two person dorm and only sharing a bathroom with 1 other person. Be prepared to walk or bike though, it's not near many interesting things. There is a bike share rack nearby and a whole week is only 10 euro. Sign up is online

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
3.1

Terrible odor coming from bathroom and Senior staff was really not welcoming or friendly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
8.9

Great place but little help to get around. Place to sleep and stay was safe with a good location, 10-15 minute walk from the main train station, I just wish the staff was more forthcoming to help you to find stuff to do. Very chill hostel though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tsholotiro3947
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Sweden is expensive, and by extension its accommodation is expensive. That was the only minor drawback about this hostel. Other than that, it is a fantastic place. Excellent ambiance with excellent facilities. Highly recommend it!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Aug 2016
7.7

Hostel is nice, clean and in good location near the city center. However, there is no Wi-Fi in the room and no lockable cabinets. Hostel is little bit pricey, but everything is expensive in Finland.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
9.4

Everything is super great, except one minor thing, no locker inside the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
9.4

This isn't really a hostel, it is more of a double dorm room but it is very clean and in a good location ...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
8.9

My one-night stay in the hostel was totally satisfactory. But the most remarkable thing of it was that, initially I booked a place in a 4-bed male room but when I arrived to the hostel I was sent to a single bedroom with en-suite bathroom and kitchen in a different building than the hostel. This building looked like it was a university student dormitory and was used in summer time by the hostel for clients. Good idea!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.