Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Academica Summer Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,038 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,038 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
Academica Summer Hostel Located at Hietaniemenkatu 14, , Helsinki.
Academica Summer Hostel
Finland
Helsinki 00100 Helsinki Hietaniemenkatu 14
84% 1038
60.1699837 24.9216485
Academica Summer Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
17th Jul 2016
8.9

Had a good stay. The beds and accommodation was good. The only thing is the limited wifi in the rooms - although it is fully available in the common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
7.4

Typical hostel. You won't be disappointed. It seems to be a dorm converted into a hostel for the summer. Not the cleanest/most luxurious I've been in especially for the price but I loved the convenient location and nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
13th Jul 2016
8.9

I basically just slept here. It was clean and secure and the staff were nice but I didn't really have a chance to meet many people. It's about a 30 minute walk from the train station along a cycle path which is really nice 😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
7.1

The Hostel don't have wifi in the room. And the room is in the another building. The Hostel is too clean, and you have free food. It's close to the city center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
9.1

Nice summer hostel close to the city center and very well thought out. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
9.4

I liked the facilities, but the common room/ kitchen didn't have coffee cups for guests to use. It felt a bit thrown together - what was there. I would have preferred a decently stocked kitchen- cups, glasses, etc. It's a bit of a walk from the cruise ship port.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
9.4

Amazing location, amazing staff! very very sweet and helpfull! Clean, very central, very calm to sleep! It was such a nice place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jun 2016
7.4

It is more like sharing an apartment with other people, as kitchen and bathroom are included in the unit. I think they put people of the same races in the same unit, which is both a good and a bad thing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2016
8.9

More of a dormitory for students rather than a hostel. Helpful staff, location is nice, and clean facilities. Not really a hostel so no friendly vibe or opportunities to hang out with other guests

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
6.3

Now that I have been in "hostels" in Norway, Sweden and Finland, it seems they have a different definition of a hostel experience than what I am used to in the rest of Europe. This might be the best hostel in Finland, but it lacks atmosphere, is the most expensive hostel on my month long trip, there isn't wifi in the rooms (only cable internet) and the rooms do not have lockers, plus you have to pay extra for a security box at the front desk. The location is convenient and staff respectful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.