Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Academica Summer Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,078 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,078 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
Academica Summer Hostel Located at Hietaniemenkatu 14, , Helsinki.
Academica Summer Hostel
Finland
Helsinki 00100 Helsinki Hietaniemenkatu 14
83% 1078
60.1699837 24.9216485
Academica Summer Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Aug 2016
6.3

Student accommodation used for hostel during the summer. Beds are comfy. Facilities basic but for the price you cannot moan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 47 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
7.7

This place isn't a hostel. It's basically student accomodation type apartments. There are different buildings located which are in residential areas and form part of the hostel. The wifi only works in the common area so you basically have to get out of the building and walk across to a different building. Makes it hard to plan stuff while relaxing in your room. Staff are informative, but they only answer what you ask,don't give any tips, just point you to maps and brochures. Not social

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
4.9

The room was not cleaned before our arrival. We asked kindly to clean the room again. However, we had to ask twice so that the room including the bathroom was finally cleaned. Staff told us before that they have cleaned the bathroom and only after we showed them pictures they were willing to finally clean it. The most important thing in a hostel is that rooms are clean! Also throw away the waste in the corridor immediately, not after some days. I hope you will manage this better in the future!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
7.7

I booked a four bed female dorm and got a two bed, which was a pleasant surprise. We had our own bathroom also. Only issue is the lack of wifi. I had to walk to the main building 2 minutes away to access wifi which is a drag.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
9.4

Own two-man Bedroom, own Bathroom - Like a hotel room without the decoration. Perfectly clean and very well situated in the city. Only disadvantage for me was that there aren't a lot of young people, so there's not a lot of party or meeting other people happening. Of course this is advantagous if you're not looking to party. Still there are bars close by so you can always go out and meet people outside of the hostel. Would recommend this hostel to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Peru, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
10.0

The only thing missing was good direction from the port

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
8.9

It was really nice staying in a two person dorm and only sharing a bathroom with 1 other person. Be prepared to walk or bike though, it's not near many interesting things. There is a bike share rack nearby and a whole week is only 10 euro. Sign up is online

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
3.1

Terrible odor coming from bathroom and Senior staff was really not welcoming or friendly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
8.9

Great place but little help to get around. Place to sleep and stay was safe with a good location, 10-15 minute walk from the main train station, I just wish the staff was more forthcoming to help you to find stuff to do. Very chill hostel though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tsholotiro3947
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Sweden is expensive, and by extension its accommodation is expensive. That was the only minor drawback about this hostel. Other than that, it is a fantastic place. Excellent ambiance with excellent facilities. Highly recommend it!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.