Hostelworld.com

Academica Summer Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 996 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 996 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
Academica Summer Hostel Located at Hietaniemenkatu 14, , Helsinki.
Academica Summer Hostel
Finland
Helsinki 00100 Helsinki Hietaniemenkatu 14
80% 996
60.1699837 24.9216485
Academica Summer Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Aug 2015
8.0

Decent sized rooms and well equipped, just lacked a bit of atmosphere. Great if you just need a place to stay, but not a place to meet other travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Aug 2015
6.6

The double room was big and perfect for a couple. I felt the place really lacked any atmosphere though and I wouldn't have wanted to stay there as a solo traveller.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2015
7.1

I certainly did not appreciate, instead of being placed in a 4 bed dorm as booked, to be squeezed in a 2 bed room with just a 65 year old Indian business man. Otherwise, utterly devoid of any hostel atmosphere, but clean and convenient, and for a great price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2015
8.6

We are a family that needed a cheap place to stay the night in Helsinki. The staff was friendly and the facilities were good (beds/bathroom/etc.) it's not a hotel though - no coffee or kettle I'm the room. The kitchenette is nice but wasn't very well equipped with glasses, bowels, etc. We had our own coffee but had to go downstairs to drink it. Overall good value for money in comparison to a hotel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Aug 2015
8.3

Large, well furnished rooms, even equipped with kitchen. Close to Shopping Centre "Kamppi" and the City Centre Easy to reach by public Transport. Minor Queue for Check in NO WIFI in HOSTELROOMS (only LAN, ie not suitable for Smartphones)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2015
7.7

kitchen in the room with no equiptment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2015
8.0

Only downside is there is no wifi in the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2015
6.6

Wifi is only accessible in the lobby area and the common room (which is open from 7-12am... what a joke), but no connection anywhere else. You always have a crowd of people sitting on the stairs at the lobby, trying to catch the wifi. Also, kitchen in the rooms is nice but without any proper equipment its somewhat pointless. I'd expect these basics for the rather hefty price. On the plus, staff are friendly and efficient.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Aug 2015
8.0

Very Good, but no WiFi in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2015
7.1

My sisters and I stayed at this hostel for the second time after more than one week of traveling. Although we reserved a four bed dorm room, we were split into two upgrade private rooms. Unfortunately, the handle on one of the windows was broken down that could not shut off the noise from the outside---- there is a pub across the street that's full of boisterous crowd. We had a hard time to fall into sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.