X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ah Shan Hostel Hong Kong Reviews

Room 1406, 14th floor, Sincere house, 83 Argyle St, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1503 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Insufficient and taking long to wait for lift cars to travel up and down.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

stay five night but supply one tower only trought out the whole stay which i think need to be improve

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


29%

The lobby and outer surroundings were very dirty but the rooms were okay as it is in a different floor. The rooms were adequate but do not expect so much as this is a cheap hotel. Filipina staff was very unfriendly and wasn't helpful plus the surrounding area outside smells as it is on the poor side of Hongkong and very downtown-ish. Plus side though is the two night markets outside the hotel but this is also available in other parts of HK which are cleaner like YMT or even Central.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Anges, Thank you for your reviews and ok for our rooms For the outer surroundings , this is managed by the property management Which is not control by our hostel. Regards Fiona

60%

In hostels I am looking for cheap accommodation. A decent roof over my head at a fair price is all I ask. Ah Shan provided that; no need for more in depth analysis.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Everything good enough, but the problem with less plug.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

friendly,accomodating and nice staff clean rooms near to mtr,ladies market,nathan road,bus stations,shops excellent location no hassle

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent location. Close to Mongkok MTR station (2 min walk) and very close to nice markets. It was perfect for what we needed. Clean rooms.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

i took 3 adults and 2 kids room but the toilet flush is not working. anyhow it's okay for the budget hostel. it's better if the can maintain their facilities so as not to inconvenience their guest.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The location of the Ah Shan is more convenient than other Hostel and easy to look for it. We enjoy our stay in Ah-shan because of their facilities and security and also their Staff are friendly. Keep it up Guys. Looking forward to stay in Ah Shan soon.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Generally are good. The elevator is a bit slow!

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff was very helpful and friendly but there is no 24hr desk so you might not get your key deposit back if you have an early departure. The facilities include a refrigerator for general use and both hot and cold drinking water. The AC machine was very old and loud in the first of the two rooms I had here.


80%

Staff was very friendly.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

the location is good, near MTR Mongkok. every morning the starr always clean the room, the air con works, and i wanna stay in here gain if im back to HK


89%

The hostel is really worth the price I paid for. Although the room is small, the room and bathroom is really clean. Furthermore, it is located less than 100m away from Mongkok MTR which makes it easy to travel to everywhere! Also, the staff is pretty friendly when bringing us to our rooms. I know some people complained about the lifts, but its really not that bad, I didnt have to wait for more than 2 times on a busy night.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I stay at dormitory room and I like the atmosphere there. the room is clean. the staff always clean the room every morning. Even the provided blanket and towel. The offer many discounted ticket to many tourism atraction in Hong Kong. The location was excelent, just in front of ladies market and walking distance to famous street food area at mong kok. I'm not dispointed staying there. Thanks


86%

Great location, just 3 min walk from Mongkok MRT station.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Comfort and cleanliness room, and convenient for traveling, located near nightlife with many shopping store.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

It was okay. The good things are cleanliness and location. But about the atmosphere it's terrible.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

They should provide the clients with a locker. Anyways, the staff was very friendly and patient and the Internet is for free also if you log on from the public computer in front of reception.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Bit lacking in atmosphere but then most hostels in HK seem to be that way. Good location and decent value otherwise.


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback