Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ah Shan Hostel Hong Kong

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 1,608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 1,608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 5.8
Ah Shan Hostel Hong Kong Located at Room 1406, 14th floor, Sincere house, 83 Argyle St, Hong Kong, Hong Kong.
Ah Shan Hostel Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Hong Kong Room 1406, 14th floor, Sincere house, 83 Argyle St, Hong Kong
70% 1608
22.3197879 114.1707372
Ah Shan Hostel Hong Kong
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
6.9

No wifi in room. Very close to metro station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
28th Aug 2016
5.4

There was no socialising at the location, staff seemed reluctant to assist, facilities were old and decrepit. Mong Kok was a very cool area however.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2016
4.6

If it wasn't for the Angel behind the counter, I probably would have committed suicide the first night. I know we are in Hong Kong, but I could touch all 4 walls with my arms stretched out. Not that I wanted to because of the poor paint job trying to cover up the mold growing on the walls. The hostel is spread out in sections and we were lucky (or not so lucky) enough to have a little old man who lived (there was literally a bed) in our lobby. No windows either. More like the AH SH!T hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
2.9

Very dirty room with mould in the bathroom and two plug points that didn't work. Room size and bed-firmness was as you should expect at any mansion hostel in Hong Kong. My room key snapped when being turned normally. The staff were unhelpful and at first refused to call a locksmith but then apparently had one who worked at the hostel (he was on first-name terms with the staff and left tools behind the reception), suggesting this was common, especially as there were many different locks on doors.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
7.4

In a good location of Hong Kong and close to a subway. However, hostel is on 14th floor and only one available elevator, one has to wait a long time. The rooms are small but clean. Not really a common area or lobby to hang or meet friends. Overall it was a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bahamas, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2016
5.7

Location is excellent and central and easy to get to from the airport. but it was like playing an iSpy game trying to find the exact access door in the Sincere house building due to literally 0 signage on the exterior of the building and only a little plaque on the ground floor. Staff was friendly and helpful. Private room was tiny with uncomfortable hard mattressed beds. Bathroom was equally tiny.Facilities were generally shabby and there was MOLD on the walls of our room. Health hazard.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
6.6

It's a decent place to stay in a decent area. Rooms could be much bigger but this is Hong Kong people. Don't fault the hostel for that... price is good for Hong Kong. Emailed the staff twice. Took a total of 6 days to respond. Kind of frustrating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
8.6

Wonderful stay, although the building may not look like much the rooms are great! Very clean and lovely friendly staff who were happy to help us plan our trip. Also you can leave your bags there after checking out so you don't have to lug them round all day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
7.4

I stayed in a 4 bed dorm for 1 night. This hostel is fairly basic and there are definitely better value places to stay. The location however is excellent! Right in the center of Mong Kok. Not a huge amount of atmosphere about the place but that's the case for most of the hostel and hotels in the building.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
9.7

I liked my overnight stay there; the staff were so helpful and friendly. It was nice to see a small common area with a big round table and a water dispenser in my dorm area. The bed sheets were clean, too :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.