X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ah Shan Hostel Hong Kong Reviews

Room 1406, 14th floor, Sincere house, 83 Argyle St, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1545 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I really like Ah Shan and in every trip to HK I choose it.


100%

I love staying here and every time I choose Ah Shan!


83%

The location was great! It's near the night markets of Mong Kok and near the MTR as well. Just outside the building are street foods, foreign exchange and a 7/11 store which is very convenient. The location isn't as crowded as Chungking Mansion. It's a safe location. There's queue on the elevators at night though but nonetheless it's okay for a budget hostel plus the staffs are friendly too!

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

little bit hard to find, but the transportation is really convenient since it's near Mong Kok station.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The floor in my room isnt clean, the staff not cleaning the floor but the bed linen they change with a new. And the staff not friendly /sullen, only miss Fiona smiling. Not available the trash in toilet to dispose of tissue or the other.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

We got special price for purchasing The Peak tickets, which is very helpful for us. Thank you very much!

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • seanjanitra4535
  • Indonesia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

i had a nice stay in this hostel :) thank you!

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Single room with toilet will be better, charge a bit more of course.

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Ah Shan hostel will charge 3% on top of the hotel price. If this is indicated in the hotel web & was informed earlier, i will choose to book through other booking website which directly charge the credit card without the additional charges.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Budget aside, amenities and facilities were adequate. Rooms were cramped but we were not claustrophobic. As the hostel was located on a high floor, one has to wait relatively long for the elevators to arrive. Will make a repeat visit to the hostel should we ever consider putting up near the Mongkok area again.

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Location was great, near Mong Kok Station. Thought it would be harder to find from other's comments, but thought it was pretty easy. The Lady's Night market was right across the street which was nice. The whole place was very cramped, but as we only needed it for one night, it did the job. Room was clean. If you need to use the A/C you have to turn it on outside in the hallway. Staff seemed nice enough.


54%

not easy to find, the dorm was really noisy and dirty, so the bathroom




View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback