X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie Reviews

Jan Willem Brouwstraat 14, 171 LG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
2447 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Just a few minute walk from the Iamsterdam sign and about a 20 minute walk from downtown which is a perfect location if you're like me and like to walk a lot in places like Amsterdam. The staff members were super friendly and everything was clean. My only complaint is the fact that there's only one bathroom for 14 people. It wasn't a huge deal though.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Annemarie is a Great hostel, very very clean and comfortable. Nice and polite staff. Great breakfast, good wifi access.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Some staff were really friendly but the owner was horrible. Bathrooms seemed to only get cleaned once a day in the morning, location is excellent, free map and wifi. Not worth the money, better off paying a little extra and staying somewhere else.


91%

My stay at hostel Annemarie whas amazing the staff are always helpfull And verrry kind i did read the reviews before but nothing to complain. Central location next to museumsquare and the very good supermarket. Thanks guyssss!!!!!

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Lock on door broken and not fixed when promised. Locked out of room for 1.5 hours and not told when fixed. One key taken by staff by staff member to fix door and then they tried to charge us for it. Staff seemed generally uninformed about door situation. Cat and mouse discovered in room. Guests added to room at 4am with no warning. Electrical plugs dangerously placed near sinks. Good wifi and great location. Suitable for short stays but wouldn't recommend for long trips.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, thank you for staying with us. the door has been fixed, after you have told us. as for the rooms you booked a 10 person mixed dorm, so other person will be in the room. we hope you had a nice stay in Amsterdam. greetings hostel Annemarie

63%

Good value for money.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The staff are rude, our dorm got woken up both nights I was there, the first at about 6am the staff came in yelling because they were apparently trying to find someone hiding in the hostel, the second night was at 2am when the staff had booked 9 people into an 8 bed dorm and they decided to wake everyone up to ask for out receipts to prove we had paid to sleep there. Theres so many awesome hostels this isnt one of them

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, thank for staying with us for next time you should book a private room. We always do our best to give the best service thank you for staying with us. hostel annemarie

46%

The staff were great however the overall facility was very poor, was dirty and was not told in any clear indication that when we booked a 4 bed room for 3 people that we would have a n extra stranger in the room with us, we felt that we could not leave any valuables in the room often carrying them into town for fear of loss of them. Would definitely not stay here again and am unhappy of the false representation on your site.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for staying with us. you have booked 3 person in a 4 person mixed dorm, and not a private room. we have offered to store your important things in our safe room. we hope you had a nice stay in Amsterdam. staff hostel Annemarie

43%

This was one of the worst hostels we lived in on our trip, and it was also the most expensive. The rooms were way to small and the bathrooms were a nightmare. You can walk to the city center, but it´s very not central. The best thing was the staff, they were helpful and nice.


51%

location was good ! the staff were really rude and short with all the guests and they said kitchen but there was a microwave that didnt work very well. breakfast consisted of stale bread and jam. wouldnt go back !


51%

The staff were friendly enough but not always that helpful. The property on arrival wasn't very tidy lack of space in the 12 bed dorm however it improved slightly with less people over the stay. One toilet wasn't that great for 12 people also was outside the dorm. No ladders for too bunks and it didn't help being in a seperate bunk to my friend I was travelling with. Also a lack of plugs on only one main light which made things awkward when people were sleeping. However the fridge was handy.


60%

One of the smallest bathrooms I've seen in a hostel. There was no curtain or door on the shower, so the entire bathroom was always really wet. Location is great, very close to Vondelpark.


91%

I fell great! Very nice receptionist, warm acceptance, and nice atmosfere with visitors!


86%

Owner was a very nice guy! But you can't cook in the kitchen! I hate it when hostels advertise use of kitchen when it's only a microwave and refrigerator


54%

The location is great but the hostel looks nothing like the photos, the rooms were tiny and for the price on a weekend it was ridiculous. there lobby is tiny and the paint needs to be re-done the beds are flimsy the bed covers need to be replaced. However the location is great in a nice area walking distance from everthing

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I've stayed in many hostel all over the world and hostel annemarie is by far the nicest, cleanest and spacious hostel I have ever stayed We were there just for a night but it was enough to appreciate the hostel. Located centrally with all possible facilities, the hostel is great. Enjoyed soo much thanks guys see you next time definitetely reccomende!!!!!!!

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel Annemarie is amazing the staff is very kind and always helpfull the hostel is central located and on the museum square the do have free wifi aswell.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Well, actually the stay was alright... but being nine people we had to do a group booking and pay one extra bed to get a room. Nevertheless, our group was split up in two different rooms. As we arrived late and there was already somebody sleeping in the rooms the arrival wasn´t as smooth as expected. And why did we have to pay an extra bed if we didn´t get our room in the end? The manager was quite friendly when discussing the problem with him but didn´t see the problem...


71%

Location is strategic. Internet connection sometimes has problem

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The personnel staf are very friendly and kind, I found their advices usefult about travelling through Amsterdam. The linens in my room, it was 4 beds room, were clean. The air circulation system was poor, there was only a small window. internet accession and wifi connection were quite sufficient.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback