X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie Reviews

Jan Willem Brouwstraat 14, 171 LG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
2497 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Owner was a very nice guy! But you can't cook in the kitchen! I hate it when hostels advertise use of kitchen when it's only a microwave and refrigerator


54%

The location is great but the hostel looks nothing like the photos, the rooms were tiny and for the price on a weekend it was ridiculous. there lobby is tiny and the paint needs to be re-done the beds are flimsy the bed covers need to be replaced. However the location is great in a nice area walking distance from everthing

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I've stayed in many hostel all over the world and hostel annemarie is by far the nicest, cleanest and spacious hostel I have ever stayed We were there just for a night but it was enough to appreciate the hostel. Located centrally with all possible facilities, the hostel is great. Enjoyed soo much thanks guys see you next time definitetely reccomende!!!!!!!

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel Annemarie is amazing the staff is very kind and always helpfull the hostel is central located and on the museum square the do have free wifi aswell.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Well, actually the stay was alright... but being nine people we had to do a group booking and pay one extra bed to get a room. Nevertheless, our group was split up in two different rooms. As we arrived late and there was already somebody sleeping in the rooms the arrival wasn´t as smooth as expected. And why did we have to pay an extra bed if we didn´t get our room in the end? The manager was quite friendly when discussing the problem with him but didn´t see the problem...


71%

Location is strategic. Internet connection sometimes has problem

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The personnel staf are very friendly and kind, I found their advices usefult about travelling through Amsterdam. The linens in my room, it was 4 beds room, were clean. The air circulation system was poor, there was only a small window. internet accession and wifi connection were quite sufficient.


49%

Smelled of cat urine. No lockers. No fun.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Too expensive and nothing special offered.


26%

A SHAME! We were there four days, from 1 to 4 May, in a room for 8 people. We call this place "The jail". Dirty, not clean anything, the bathroom just awful!, Poorly designed. A maximum room for 2 people, made ​​it a 8, impossible! Breakfast is worse than jail, in plastic cups, with no room for so many people. VERY EXPENSIVE! We were charged 50 euros per person per day if the price they should be 12 euros maximum. The stay there was torture. Do not go, GO TO THIS HOSTEL.


31%

So many problems with this hostel! So to start, when we arrived, the receptionist told us that the reservation wasn't valid, so we had to pay more 100euros that the initial value. We only that there because others hostel were full... Then only 1 toilet for a bedroom with 12 persons; At 10 o'clock, the cleaning staff literary invaded the bedroom, without knocking, to "clean"... and nobody told us that this gonna happen...; the breakfast was so poor!! Only bread with jam or butter, coffee or tea..


57%

No Security lockers. Dorm so dirty/dusty I had to get a dust pan And brush to clean the floor because I didn't want my bags getting dusty under the bed. . Good computers available. To many rules make the place feel weird and childish.


74%

i read the comments before going and i was not confident, but what a surprise it was very clean and quiet the street is nothing difficile to find and quiet sure!!!nearby a supermarket it s easy to do shopping the staff was nice so feel confident to go there


89%

The dude at the reception is awesome and super nice!


34%

I've never given a hostel a bad review, yet again I've never stayed at a hostel this horrible. No lockers, no bathroom, no service, the owner is arguably the worst person I've ever met, and you can't store your luggage. Go else where.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The owner of this hostel has no hospitality skills, he is rude, overbearing and just not a pleasant person. The young people that work there are very sweet, especially the South African guy. This is a good place to sleep and leave right afterwards. Final thought: Functional, just not very pleasant

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The location is superb. Value for money is a bit poor, quite old rooms, only one toilet and one shower per floor. Friendlyness of the staff can be way better.


86%

Hostel is clean and tidy. The bathroom and the bed also clean and comfortable. But not every bed has electric socket that can't charge my phone easily. But the hostel closer main station is very convenience for tourists. The staffs are very nice and polite to help every guest. But the price is very expensive during weekend.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Downsides 1 no lockers 2 no real kitchen 3 sketchy showers 4 cats in the hostels, not so good for people with allergies Upsides 1 nice supermarket nearby 2 walking distance to most things


89%

the hostel is located near many places of interest, clean rooms and friendly staff, definitely go back to them


1 2 3 Next » last »
(60 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback