X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie Reviews

Jan Willem Brouwstraat 14, 171 LG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
2659 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

I had a nice weekend stay here. ots of great roommates and friendly staff. My only complaint is the lack of bathroom facilities: one tollet/shower for a dorm of ten people means that if someone takes a long shower a lot of people have to wait to use the toilet. Speaking of the toilet, it leaks every time it gets flushed and really needs to be fixed. I slept on a bunk underneath a lady with a bad cold and her snoring sounded like an angry dog all night, but that is not the hostel's fault.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • the North
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was very good, nice rooms, fast internet and very friendly and helpful staff

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Be aware to walk thru small stairs everywhere in Amsterdam! Bathroom should be cleaned more frequently. It smelled and there were stains on the floor under our whole stay in the hall between the shower and the restroom. Each room should have their own toilet paper or buy bigger rolls like company does - it runs out in the bathroom! Do not stay here if you are allergic to pets or sensitive to fur, there are carpets in the building and there's a cat at the hostel that runs all over the place

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

No lockers, no wifi beyond first floor, and the staff made us pay in cash with no receipt. However, it was right next to a tram stop and close to the museums and a bunch of bars, restaurants, and coffe shops. This hostel is very dirty. Someone threw up all over the bathroom on out floor and it was not cleaned for 2 days. Also, people's phone chargers and adapters were going missing. Not sure if it was the cleaning staff or the guests... Do not stay here unless it is your last choice.


40%

Majority of the staff were so rude! We arrived in Amsterdam at 5.30am and the guy running the desk wouldn't even let us sit in the common room when we were checking in later that day. The place is filthy and smells like mould. Showers are small and dirty! Breakfast is bad, no toaster just bread and jam? There is no atmosphere what so ever. No ladder to the bunk beds. Bad experience/10! Would not recommend to anyone!


66%

Very friendly staffs and perfect location! But they do not have enough AC power outlet in a room.

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent hostel, excellent price and in a great location! The rooms were clean and the staff were super friendly. Will stay again!


100%

Love love love!

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Extremely well located hostel. Very clean and staff always willing to help. Would definitely stay there again???

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I had an amazing experience with hostel annemarie, throughout my entire stay and I have nothing negative to comment about. I would also like to especially thanks the staff, they are very approachable providing excellent services as he makes sure that everyone felt welcome (even if you're traveling alone!).The rooms are spacious and clean and the beds comfortable.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really helpful staff. Upgraded my room for free! Beds were clean and locker system is great. The location is perfect close to my favorite museums and a nice supermarket where they have everything.

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Not the greatest hostel. the room was nice enough but the bathrooms werent nice and there was no real common area which led to poor atmosphere. The breakfast included means they provide bread and a toaster. They also preauthorized my card and it has been 3 weeks and they still have not removed it even though I have been repeatedly emailing them and hostelworld.


51%

Basic facilities. Mediocre hostel. Good location. Customer service was not polite or accommodating. Good value for money if staying for a few hours or one night. No ladder to reach upper beds.


37%

The only good thing is hostel near the museums and 20min far away from on foot to center. They show that they have bigger rooms on photos and they say that have locker room,microwave and breakfast. There is no locker room,just 1 microwave for whole hostel and breakfast was very poor. If you wanna waste your money you should go there..

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(74 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback