X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein Reviews

Korte Leidsedwarstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
946 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great location and great staff!! Good hostel


71%

Wasn't too bad a place, good location however the room was not very clean at all!


43%

The location was good but that meant a lot of noise during the whole night. During our stay ( 4 days) we didn't see any cleaner which was quite obvious at the bathroom. The (bad) smell of the hostel was an experience on its own. It was in general a rather negative experience.


31%

Without doubt the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. Stupidly overpriced, and you get nothing for your money, the only reason I stayed here was because all other places were booked out. Do yourself a favour and stay away.


66%

everything is ok but not big superise . staff is good ,but we booked on the weekend so the price very expensive, location very good near canal and market around this area. Good place


83%

Other reviews for this hostel are very unjustified. I found my stay with 6 mates to be very good. Bed was comfy, staff were pleasant and polite. Only downside to the hostel was the lack of lockers for personal items, however, you can hand them in at reception to be looked after. Reception also monitor everyone coming and going form the premesis 8/10, would stay here again.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

You get what you pay for most Amsterdam hostels are crappy, little space, little social environment in Hostel, no bar, rent for towels. This is typical of most Amsterdam hostels in a prime location. Staff was pleasant. Breakfast was coffee, peanut butter, jelly. Spend more $ if you want a more social experience

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel is located next to a few night clubs and bars and it goes off all night. So if you're a light and early sleeper, you may want to consider another hostel or invest in some really good ear plugs. Facilities were clean and the staff was helpful and friendly.


74%

Great spot right in heart of amsterdam just too many people in one room


69%

The hostel is nice and cozy to stay. I hope they would add locker and kitchen for guest to use. My stay there was pleasent.


66%

The breakfast needs to be rethought, it is awful! No cereal (bread only and coffee/tea or juice)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, thanks for your stay our breakfast is free, we hope you had nice stay in amsterdam. staff hostel leidseplein

83%

The beds here arnt the best. It's in a great location. Bathrooms are a bit older. No lockers in rooms but they have a good bag room system and security of the hostel door is excellent. No toaster in kitchen.


66%

The staff and guests were really nice, however the facilities were quite scary in terms of cleanliness.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

no private cabins for valuable items, no ladders for top bed we had to cllimb to the top beds while evryone was already asleep. staff is friendly though, and the location is excelent. 15 min walking distance frol the center. and a lively neighbothood.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

They don't have any electronic system for check in and when I arrived it took about 15-20 minutes to check in even though there was only 1 person ahead of me, but the staff was very friendly. The bed was comfortable enough although the top bunks did not have ladders so it was a pain to climb up from the end of the bed. The actual room was what I expected from a hostel, but there was only 1 bathroom per room and it was disgusting, pubic hair all over the floor my entire 3 night stay. Gross.


71%

The location was good, close to lots of bars.A bit of a walk to the red light district and sites.There are no lockers in the room but you can lock your valuables behind the desk.No real breakfast - just bread and no toaster.There is no free breakfast.No kitchen,don't expect to cook with a stove or oven.Rooms were clean.Every morning you are woken up by a guy checking who is checking out.The price was reasonable.good wifi


89%

The location was great, the staff were friendly. The facility's were a bit old but ok and the rooms were clean. Free coffee every morning as I woke up to late for the breakfast. I would stay here again the location of the hostel is very close to everything.


54%

Horrible breakfast! and safety in the rooms and this weird rule to live 10 euros for a key

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, thank you for your stay. the breakfast is good, and it was free. as for the 10 euro it is a deposit wish you get back when you check out. greetings staf

43%

By far the worst hostel i stayed in my entire europe trip, insanely overpriced and the rudest staff ive ever seen. The guy working at night made my friend and i feel bad for asking to charge our phones behind the counter, and angrily confronted us when he overheard us telling someone else about it. Staff came into rooms at 8am which woke people up, and were using power tools in the dorm at 9pm while someone slept.. best piece of advice i can give is do not stay here!

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24


34%

was horrible, never staying in a hostel again. The room was a sweat box, instantly started pouring with sweat as soon as i walked in there. The view from the window was the roof top with loud noises all night. Got woken up at 830am by the other people in the room talking and showering. Check out time was 10am and got asked to leave at 945.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback