Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 1415 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 1415 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 5.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2017
5.7

Although very well located, the atmosphere in the hostel wasn't very lively and the lack of cooking facilities was inconvenient. Eating out is expensive so we like to cook our own food and this kitchen was limited to a microwave and a kettle. We were left eating pot noodles. However if you're fine eating junk this won't be a problem (McDonalds, Burger King and KFC are all within walking distance).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • keilistar96
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
9.1

Some reviews made me nervous about booking this place at first. It was perfect for the value! It was clean, the staff was easy to talk to, the breakfast may have just been some bread and something to put on it but what more did I need for that price!? It also was in a great location! Close to everything we wanted to see and close to all the places we wanted to hangout. Overall I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
6.0

Just a junky, semi-clean hostel with a tiny bathroom, kind of rude staff, and the "free" breakfast is a price of bread(no toaster) and coffee

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th May 2017
6.0

Amazing location, right in the heart of Leidseplein! So many beautiful coffee shops and bars within an easy walking distance from the hostel. As far as the room goes it was dark, damp and smelled mouldy. There were lockers in the room and the 'free breakfast' was just bread with spreads. Also the atmosphere was not very friendly or welcoming, I'd recommend definitely this place for the location and the bathroom but not much else

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2017
4.9

Super overcrowded. I stayed in a 14 people room and was really hard to find a free bed once you go to sleep. The breakfast is just coffee with bread, peanut butter, jam and something similar than Nutella. I felt the hostel well located.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
4.9

This hostel is located central and has public transport outside, restaurants and bars. This hostel has no organisation with bed numbers ect. People take other people's bed and you may end up in the same dorm as you were also have to pay to store luggage for the day you check out.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
6.0

Don't bother paying more for a 4- or 6-person room -- you'll get put in an 8-person room. And good luck getting refunded for the difference.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
3.1

Hated this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
4.0

Hostel was in a fine location, but I found the staff to be both unhelpful and uncaring. Atmosphere was awful and the shared common room was dirty with cat hair everywhere. The sheets were clean at the very least, but I would definitely stay somewhere else for you much you pay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
8.0

Staff was very helpful in recommending places to visit during my stay in Amsterdam. It wasn't the cleanest hostel I've stayed in, but it was acceptable. It was a bit difficult to find, as the entrance is tucked between two bars, but the location is prime for nightlife.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.