Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 1492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 1492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
4.0

Very unclean and the staff didn't seem to care.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
7.4

Great location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mahaburrahman
  • Bangladesh, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2017
5.7

It was hot at night, and rooms where crowded but that wasn't main problem, for me I needed a security locker to place my valuable belongings (passport etc). I booked 3 nights but I only stayed one night, and book myself a another hostel / hotel. I asked if I could get my money back for other 2 nights, and they said no. How sad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2017
4.3

It was a really bad experience! We got a room but they didn't find the booking, the guy in the desk was really mean, they didn't like their job obviously. The cover duvets were dirty, the smell was like if someone use. Them before and they didn't wash them. I recommend the hostel just for the location but you have to know that the service, the cleaning and the security it's not good.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2017
8.9

Everything was good, except the hostels staff can be a bit serious, and I didn't like how there are no elevators, so the stairs are the only way to go and they are spiraled.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • zoebrechbuhler
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2017
4.0

I stayed in a hostel in milan for €9 a night and it was very similar in cleanliness and facilities to this hostel, so definitely not worth the 25 a night or 50 that they wanted on a weekend

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2017
6.9

Honestly not a bad place to stay if you're looking to crash in Leidseplein. For anything else though I wouldn't. Staff was not at all friendly and free breakfast is bread and pb !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2017
8.3

When in Amsterdam, everything is expensive, this place was a cheaper alternative but you get what you pay for. Not a lot sleep with the load noise and hot rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lwill5349
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jul 2017
3.7

Always a misunderstanding each day with a new customer. Bike shop they recommended was below average. Booked an extra night and charger us 15 euro more for the same room (on a week night), bought a towel and the cleaner took it. Good if you just wanna dump your stuff and go on an adventure but not a fun hostel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
7.4

This hostel was in a great location, not right in the red light district but about a 20 minute walk. The area of the hostel is lively with tons of cafes, restaurants, and bars. The room was nice but there weren't a lot of outlets which made charging electronics difficult. You weren't allowed to drink in the common area and no one was ever really hanging out at the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.