X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein Reviews

Korte Leidsedwarstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
907 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The breakfast needs to be rethought, it is awful! No cereal (bread only and coffee/tea or juice)


83%

The beds here arnt the best. It's in a great location. Bathrooms are a bit older. No lockers in rooms but they have a good bag room system and security of the hostel door is excellent. No toaster in kitchen.


66%

The staff and guests were really nice, however the facilities were quite scary in terms of cleanliness.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

The staff was very crude, they would storm into the rooms early in the morning just to kick guests out of the hostel which would wake everyone else up. Got bed bugs from sleeping in the bed, the bathrooms were disgusting and would rarely have toilet paper. It was located directly above and club so sleeping was impossible and there was no welcoming common room or lounge area to hangout in. Overall a very dissapointing stay that affected the whole vacation. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

no private cabins for valuable items, no ladders for top bed we had to cllimb to the top beds while evryone was already asleep. staff is friendly though, and the location is excelent. 15 min walking distance frol the center. and a lively neighbothood.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

They don't have any electronic system for check in and when I arrived it took about 15-20 minutes to check in even though there was only 1 person ahead of me, but the staff was very friendly. The bed was comfortable enough although the top bunks did not have ladders so it was a pain to climb up from the end of the bed. The actual room was what I expected from a hostel, but there was only 1 bathroom per room and it was disgusting, pubic hair all over the floor my entire 3 night stay. Gross.


71%

The location was good, close to lots of bars.A bit of a walk to the red light district and sites.There are no lockers in the room but you can lock your valuables behind the desk.All the staff were lovely except for one guy who did night shift.Very rude. No real breakfast - just bread and no toaster.There is no free breakfast.No kitchen,don't expect to cook with a stove or oven.Rooms were clean.Every morning you are woken up by a guy checking who is checking out.The price was reasonable.good wifi


89%

The location was great, the staff were friendly. The facility's were a bit old but ok and the rooms were clean. Free coffee every morning as I woke up to late for the breakfast. I would stay here again the location of the hostel is very close to everything.


54%

Horrible breakfast! and safety in the rooms and this weird rule to live 10 euros for a key

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, thank you for your stay. the breakfast is good, and it was free. as for the 10 euro it is a deposit wish you get back when you check out. greetings staf

43%

By far the worst hostel i stayed in my entire europe trip, insanely overpriced and the rudest staff ive ever seen. The guy working at night made my friend and i feel bad for asking to charge our phones behind the counter, and angrily confronted us when he overheard us telling someone else about it. Staff came into rooms at 8am which woke people up, and were using power tools in the dorm at 9pm while someone slept.. best piece of advice i can give is do not stay here!

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24


34%

was horrible, never staying in a hostel again. The room was a sweat box, instantly started pouring with sweat as soon as i walked in there. The view from the window was the roof top with loud noises all night. Got woken up at 830am by the other people in the room talking and showering. Check out time was 10am and got asked to leave at 945.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

great hostel... great location...would stay again if in amst. cali kid..


43%

Night staff rude, they dont have a real control of who gets in and out, horrible toilets and smelly... Always... Horrible breakfast, awesome cat :) i think is the only good thing in this hostel, well morning staff is ok, great location, anyway i woudnt stay there again...


80%

Good location and Excellent Staff! I'll seriously consider it again on my return :)

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I think this is a fine hostel. The location is great, right in the middle of the nightlife of Amsterdam. If you want a quiet place you properly shouldn't go there, but if you want to experience the Amsterdam nightlife it is perfect. It is not great luxury but it is acceptable. I only was there for one night and didn't really had contact with the stuff. But they where there at 6 am to clean some drunk guy's mess up and that was something I was really happy about.


86%

It is a great place, very close to the night life! Nice people and staff are good to, bit moody at night time, but other than that very helpful friendly and humorous. Its a good price for what you get. Would stay again if i came back!

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location and value for money. One of the guys at reception was very helpful but the other was a bit rude. It gets pretty hot and there is a cat running around (even in your room!) - not particularly clean. Otherwise it's a reasonable hostel and I would probably stay there again.


66%

Location is great. Besides that the rest is pretty crummy, bed was small and pillow was terrible. Shower would overflow and get all over the bathroom floor


34%

the bathroom was disgusting! I told reception twice our bathroom light was out and to clean the bathroom but after 2 days still nothing so had to shower in the dark. The night audit guy is so useless!! I told him about the light he said he'll change it, spoke to him later that night he said he did but he didn't he lied. There is no atmosphere! Don't stay here if you're solo No bar! They lied They don't help to book tours or museums. Not worth the money. Only if there is absolutely no else


97%

Good hostel, safe and in a good spot, 15' far to the Dam square (walking). Staff was helpul, after I checked out I had to pay 3€ to store my backback but it was fine, still better than dragging it with me for the whole day. Pretty clean, a guy passed every morning to clean up the dorm (very needed when you have smashed people sleeping on the floor ahah).


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback