Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 1,292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 1,292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 5.7
Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein Located at Korte Leidsedwarstraat 79, , Amsterdam.
Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein
Netherlands
Amsterdam Korte Leidsedwarstraat 79
66% 1292
52.3640045 4.8838090
Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
9.1

The hostel is in such a good location and considering its right near all the bars and clubs it's so quiet and peaceful inside. The staff are friendly and the cat is a great addition. It would have been nice to have lockers to put valuables in ourselves, but the staff do have a safe you can use if you want to. It's such a clean and tidy hostel - Beds are pretty comfy to! Would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
2.9

Location was great but was very dirty, staff was very hard to work with and unpleasant, cleaning people stole my towel. just overall location was great but not worth all the extra hassle and didn't like feeling unsafe.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
6.0

Located in good place but very very noisy as it is right on the street. The accommodations themselves are not very good. The beds are old and creaky. The place overall is dark and depressing honestly. The staff didn't seem to care about us very much. If you're just looking for a bed in a good location, it's fine. But if you want some decent, it's not the place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2016
4.0

First room we were given was above all of the air conditioning units in the area so the room was like a sauna, then we were asked to move rooms as they had a big party coming which put us on the side of the building in the street, was so noisy even after you'd been out yourself. There is no security in the room, our bathroom door handle was broken and took two days to fix, our bedroom door didn't always lock. Still managed to pull.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
8.9

Great hostel the wifi is only in the main floor and there was not enough outlets but the staff was very friendly, rooms were clean, and the location was absoultely perfect. The place is situated right in the middle of a party hub with bars, resturants and clubs all around. It is easy to walk too and from to any location from here. A little added bonus is they have cat. Some reviews make it seem like its not great, but if your okay with a true hostel and just want to have a good time stay here!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jun 2016
6.6

Cheap for Amsterdam so got our moneys worth but quite claustrophobic and no real kitchen

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Jun 2016
8.3

The location was great, right in the center of one of the two party squares in Amsterdam. However a little far from the red light but the walk wasn't too long. We only stayed one night so we didn't get to interact much with the hosts. The only problem was the noise at night as everyone was partying right there. Aside from that, it was good for what we needed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
8.3

Clean hostel, friendly staff, brilliant location. Although, for this price I would have expected a proper locker and some accuracy during the check-in. According to the confirmation e-mail I was "due to arrive at 12:00", but I could not check in until 14:00. There were no lockers, but you can leave your stuff at the reception. Overall it was a good experience, but most probably with some research you can get better value for your money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
5.1

Ledseplein was simple to find - it is a short 10 minute walk from the airport bus stop. However, the cheer ended there. We had changed our booking 3 months in advance from 3 people to 2...no such note was ever received according to Leidseplein. So we were forced to pay for all 3. Items were constantly stolen from rooms. Don't leave your towel hanging on a bed post because it will be thrown out. Oh and the breakfast is just bread. They don't have a toaster or lockers. Spend your money elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2016
6.3

The hostel was clean and in a great location. That said, the staff came into our room several times per night or morning throughout my stay, loudly talking or getting things from a closet. There were no facilities really, only pb&j sandwiches offered as the "free breakfast," there was no real hostel atmosphere, and since the hostel was on a busy nightlife street, it was super loud and disruptive until 6am on weekends. I'd only recommend this place if you're staying a night or two, not longer

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.