X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein Reviews

Korte Leidsedwarstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
1118 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 61%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

very "OK" but it was Amsterdam on the weekend so everything is expensive.


89%

Very clean hostel that's great value for money

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great stuff and hostel!


83%

Great location, they were quite accommodating especially for my big group they allowed for a lot of flexibility. Always looking to please us all around a pretty good stay!

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good price,very well located, rooms and bathrooms are ok, dispite the small beds.Poor breakfast.


100%

Nice hostel with a great location and atmosphere. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Facilities are good and the hostel is well kept, cleaners were in everyday. Stayed in a 12 bed dorm so it was great for meeting new people & the rooms was a decent size with its own en-suite. Definitely would recommend.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The WC was really dirty, I don`t really think somebody clean it. It's impossible to sleep when there is a party just under your windows (there are some bars in the street). We were awaken at 2 a.m. because one of the guy's bed was taken. The guy from the reception hadn't even make his voice lower. He started to asking everybody's names like in prison. That was awfull. In fact that was the worst night in my life. Thank's god we've booked only one.

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A very nice and cozy Hostel, situated at the harbor and with a very warm atmosphere. My friend and I stayed at a 2-person cabin which was quiet and clean. The lady at the reception was helpful and kind. Breakfast is rich. The central station is like 10 minutes away (walking distance). I would highly recommend this place.


37%

It's a dirty, loud, uncomfortable place without any kitchen facilities (not even a toaster to toast the bread at "breakfast"). The "breakfast" is a creepy grey toast, some jam and peanut butter and some disgusting "coffee". The bathrooms lack cleanliness and hooks to keep your stuff off the ground (how easy would that be to fix?!). The staff is rude and impatient, lockers are not available and if you want to leave your bag after your stay you have to pay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We don't have have a kitchen, we also don't advertise for it, lockers are available at the reception. Greetings

40%

Staff was uncaring, a bit rude, obviously not wanting to be there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks You for your comment. Do you now which staff member was rude, so we can talk to him. Greetings

77%

Clean and good hostel in the very centre of the city, next to clubs and bars. That's why it gets pretty noisy during the night. But if you want to enjoy Amsterdam's nightlife, this hostel is perfect for you...

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Not the cleanest or greatest hostel but I need a place to sleep


51%

Just really dirty and very difficult to make friends as there's not. common area or kitchen. And one bathroom for way too many people. Wifi's good, water temp is half decent, don't pay too much even if it's a holiday or weekend.


97%

I really loves the stay specially the staff really helpfull n friendly so u feel like home...


54%

Good location, but the staff wasn't really helpful. Not the cleanest hostel either, probably due to the big dorms and the people who stayed there at that time. very noisy at night. Breakfast consists of bad coffee in miniature glasses, dry bread, jelly n peanutbutter - dont let em fool u with the free 'breakfast' prices go up like crazy on weekends..wouldnt recommend stayin here for more than couple of days (and defo not on weekends)

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were very friendly and helped us map out our days. I have stayed in 5 hostels within the past two months and this has been the cleanest and nicest. Never once was the bathroom or kitchen dirty because they clean it so often.


60%

Breakfast was really poor.

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

- no lockers in the rooms (leaving luggage on the day of departure only till 18 o clock and for a fee of three euro) - staff very unfriendly - bathroom with shower and seperate toilet in each room (the shower is often flooded -> people walk in with shoes -> dirty) - sinks are misconstructed, can barely use them - "breakfast" consist of untoasted white toast and some jellys and peanut butter but finishes at 9:30 - beds are very close to each other - wifi works poorly

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel put a 5% additional tax in addition to the total amount to pay. The rooms were extremely small, 12 people in a tiny room meant for max 4 people. The cost was more than 33 euros per person, without taking into account the additional tax.


1 2 3 Next » last »
(59 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback