Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ancient City Youth Hostel

  • No. 4 Lian Hu Road, close to Bei Da Jie Street, Xi'an, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 348 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 348 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Aug 2017
8.0

Secure, amazing location and staff, has potential for atmosphere (played a movie at night), relatively clean, great value, decent facilities. Could use a bit more few showers and it would be nice if they served food all day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • charliepratt
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2017
10.0

My criteria for a top notch hostel is: cleanliness, comfortable beds, not a lot of noise or a chill vibe, and friendly/helpful staff. This hostel met all these criteria. I was very happy to have good music, nice showers/bathrooms and areas to sit and relax. The free pool and location was icing on the cake. They don't serve food, but there are nice places to eat just around the corner. Thank you very much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jamesmlow4768
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Aug 2017
9.1

Very good place to stay in Xian. Location is 10 mins to the Muslim quarter, 10-15 mins walk to the Drum tower or 20-25 to the South Gate (best place to hire bikes and cycle on the wall at sunset). Staff were very helpful whether booking a tour or wanting somewhere to eat. Dorms are a good size and there is a large toilet and shower area. No food served after 12.30 (lunchtime).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jul 2017
9.1

Lovely spot! Friendly staff with lots of tours etc. Staff also speak very good English and the directions to the hostel are spot on!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2017
8.6

The staff were helpful, provided me with a map and gave clear instructions on how to travel to terracotta warriors by myself. I had booked a standard twin private for one but they moved me to the standard double private for no extra cost when they realised it was just me staying. Food from the bar was good and it was a nice, quiet atmosphere. The bed was comfy, bathroom was clean and towels and hairdryer were provided. I would recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
10.0

We really enjoyed our stay here and the staff were really polite and helpful. We only had one night here and we were able to leave our bags and then hang out in the afternoon in their bar downstairs until our overnight train. This hostel was in a good location for cycling on the city walls and walking to the Muslim quarter. Free pool, decent wifi and a good vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jun 2017
8.3

Ancient City was in a good location and had helpful staff at front desk however lacked in atmosphere. Our room had a comfortable bed and was definitely good for the price you pay. I definitely wouldn't recommend if you were looking for a party hostel however if you want a clean room and a hostel close to the subway and other places then it's really good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2017
9.4

A really nice hostel in general. The staff were really helpful and give me all the advice that I needed about everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th May 2017
9.7

Good location, helpful staff, the rooms had everything we needed, and nice place for a beer after a long day walking in Xi'an. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
9.4

Very good hostel, highly recommended. Our en-suite twin bedroom was clean and spacious, even if we found the air conditioning was not strong enough. Bathroom very clean and towels provided. Washing machine available for 10 Yuan including washing powder. Hostel only a few minutes walk from the metro station and convenient for the high speed railway station. Bought stamps for postcards from reception and postbox available at the hostel. Helpful staff and map of the city provided when requested.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.