Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ancient City Youth Hostel

  • No. 4 Lian Hu Road, close to Bei Da Jie Street, Xi'an, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jun 2017
9.4

A really nice hostel in general. The staff were really helpful and give me all the advice that I needed about everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th May 2017
9.7

Good location, helpful staff, the rooms had everything we needed, and nice place for a beer after a long day walking in Xi'an. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
9.4

Very good hostel, highly recommended. Our en-suite twin bedroom was clean and spacious, even if we found the air conditioning was not strong enough. Bathroom very clean and towels provided. Washing machine available for 10 Yuan including washing powder. Hostel only a few minutes walk from the metro station and convenient for the high speed railway station. Bought stamps for postcards from reception and postbox available at the hostel. Helpful staff and map of the city provided when requested.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
10.0

First time staying at a hostel, fantastic experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly. When staying in Xi' an, this is a great choice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Couple, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th May 2017
9.7

Good location, although I could find it from the street only because I know Chinese (since its sign is written in piniyn), nice and helpfull staff. I would recommend this hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
7.4

Good hostel. Cheap, clean, good location. However, staff quite unhelpful when asking for directions/possible activities nearby. Terracotta warriors can be done very easily on own accord.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.9

Dorm beds were very clean and room was spacious. Showers were in Good condition and WiFi was very good.excellent location and perfect value for the money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
8.9

Nice common room where you can meet other people, great location just around the corner from the Muslim quarter. Facilities were ok, not the best but not the worst either. Overall a great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • FabianLeow
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Mar 2017
6.3

First encounter check in staff was friendly. 10 min after that arrogant and aloof. I am asian from Singapore. Location was ok, near subway. Good direction provided after booking. hot water, men shower not so clean, basin clean, toilet clean. good place to dry laundry. Easy access to metro which means easy to get to sites. place was quiet. Common place was quiet and cosy in start of April. Maybe seasonal.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
9.1

Very nice to not have bunk beds in the hostel dorm room! Showers have reliable hot water, bathrooms are bearable (and great by Chinese standards lmao). At the intersection of Metro lines 1 and 2, and 15 minute walk from the Muslim Quarter. Staff very helpful for directions and finding things in the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.