X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ashoka Hostel Reviews

A Blk. Flr. 13, A4 Chung King Mansion, 36 - 44 Nat,Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
696 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Coming from SE Asia, where great hostels cost 5 or 10 USD a night - this was certainly a shock. The location within Hong Kong is Excellent. You are a ten minute walk from the ferry - which costs 2.5 HKD to cross to HK island. There are many restaurants nearby, and the MTR is right below you. The actual building, "Chung King Mansion", is sketchy. There are a lot of hagglers and drug dealers right out front. This hostel has no atmosphere and no common area. However, it is clean and comfortable.


49%

No hot water for shower, no toilet paper, the towel had ear wax stains, the doors did not close properly so I had to carry everything with me, did not feel safe to leave my belongings there.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

tiny dorm for alot of money. but it is the best price for the best location. because everything is realy expensive in hongkong. nice place to stay just for sleep.


86%

Good stay there. As with any budget hostel location in Hong Kong, the rooms are extremely small. But they are maintained well and are very clean with a small, but comfortable bed. There is a refrigerator in the common area. The location in Chung King Mansions is close to everything including Harbor Bay Waterfront and the ferries to Hong Kong Island and Macau and only a short walk to the subway (MTR.)


97%

Location was great,Staff was very helpful.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

overall was good for hong kong,elevator needs more of an upgrade.Our room was good on an ok floor,there was hot water for a coffee or noodles which i was happy with.All staff did their best to help and it was one of the better places to stay in the building.The building downstairs needs a real clean up of all the unusual people hanging around for the safety and security of all the other people staying in the many hostels.But overall i would definitely return and recommend other people. JPidgeon

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


29%

The room was very over priced and the area, building, facilities are horrible. This was the absolute bottom of the barrel. All the people who approach you about buying narcotics and counterfeit items was really annoying. Whenever I would leave the building I had to dash from the elevator to the entrance to avoid the constant barrage of drug dealers.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Good and relax. Shall recommend to friend in usa. It was a wonderful experience, staff was great and the location was smack in the center of the city


77%

It was nice with nice staff n good location. I can recommend this hostel

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a cool place!

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I think i came in busiest time, but still i got all the services on time. The wifi was perfect and the hostel do say the value for money. I was a pleasant stay and i look forward to stay here in future.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cyprus
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It goes with value for money. the room was perfect. The location was perfect. Everything was near the hotel. The staff was very hepfull and the place was very hygenic.

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel is situated perfectly, really close to the sea and to Hong Kong island. The metro station is just across the street, so you're well connected and in the middle of Kowloon and its nightlife. It might be noisy at night, so better bring some earplugs. The rooms are really small, but it's okay for a weekend. We booked 2 beds in a 3 bed room and then had to change it spontaneously, but it wasn't such a huge problem. For the ckeck in you have to go to the 16th floor.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel was pretty clean. The WiFi speed was awesome. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location was Central, easily commutable to the famous star ferry and the Avenue of stars and walkable distance to shopping places and restaurants. Overall its worth the price.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bahrain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

You get what you pay for. The hostel is very cheap, so I didn't expect too much. But there is no common area, and the place is not very clean. Good news: the building itself is in a great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Michelle, We would like to inform you that we have a common area on 13th & 16th floor where guests can meet each other.Additionally, in terms of cleanliness,we want to inform you that we have received the "Cleanliness Award" as well.We also have housekeeping services every day & We always try to keep our premises as clean as possible.We have a lot of facilities like hot water,wifi,microwave,refrigerator,tv,CCTV,aircon etc.We'd like to know why you have rated us low in facilities.

100%

If you could change the location of the washing machine that would be great! It is very noisy at night.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff members are very friendly and helpful. Their staff Sarry is very cooperative. Will visit again !




View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback