X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ashoka Hostel Reviews

A Blk. Flr. 13, A4 Chung King Mansion, 36 - 44 Nat,Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
707 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Awesome stay - Great value for your money, not to mention the fabulous free Wi-Fi


80%

Very standard hostel, not too many backpackers. A lot of dodgy people at the entrance of Chungking mansion where Ashoka hostel is located inside. So just enter the house without talking to them, take the first lift on the left side and go to the 16th floor to check in although the actual hostel rooms are on the 13th floor.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thx to all the comments here I was mentally prepared and yes, especially when you arrive with your luggage you will be greeted by a hord of Indians/Africans who try to sell you anything (room, bags, handwatches and one time a full list of drugs). But just see it funny, or as woman say "don't touch me", it helps. However I found this hostel/hotel had everything I needed and the staff was always friendly to me! This is why I give 100%. I loved my view from the 16th floor - in the middle of HK!!


63%

actually it's a good hostel to stay, but it doesnt have many facilities for the guests. and even the room is comfort, it's an extra small room. I suggest to add more facilities for the guests, like forks, spoons, or even a kitchen.


97%

A GREAT STAY, STAFF ARE ALWAYS SO HELPFUL.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It was nice and good highly recommended.

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

It was a great experience!!! Great location, top-notch client service experience.

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The Chaktomuk Mansions are infamous for a reason; loads of scam artists, dodgy people, visa evaders etc huddling at the base of the building. Follow the instructions though provided by Ashoka and with a small bit of streetwise you can avoid any drama. The place itself is very basic and not much of an atmosphere but if you want to stay in HK on a budget and just need a place to rest your head at night, i would recommend this place.


60%

Coming from SE Asia, where great hostels cost 5 or 10 USD a night - this was certainly a shock. The location within Hong Kong is Excellent. You are a ten minute walk from the ferry - which costs 2.5 HKD to cross to HK island. There are many restaurants nearby, and the MTR is right below you. The actual building, "Chung King Mansion", is sketchy. There are a lot of hagglers and drug dealers right out front. This hostel has no atmosphere and no common area. However, it is clean and comfortable.


80%

Rooms were clean, serviced and more than adequate for sleeping and showering. They are small, but far from cramped. We had a twin room for two and the space was never an issue. The location is also superb and the price the best you can find on a budget. The building is indeed a little sketchy, but not at all dangerous, especially once you're inside your room. In fact, the building and its inhabitants were colourful and really interesting! Perfect for budget travellers.


49%

No hot water for shower, no toilet paper, the towel had ear wax stains, the doors did not close properly so I had to carry everything with me, did not feel safe to leave my belongings there.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

tiny dorm for alot of money. but it is the best price for the best location. because everything is realy expensive in hongkong. nice place to stay just for sleep.


86%

Good stay there. As with any budget hostel location in Hong Kong, the rooms are extremely small. But they are maintained well and are very clean with a small, but comfortable bed. There is a refrigerator in the common area. The location in Chung King Mansions is close to everything including Harbor Bay Waterfront and the ferries to Hong Kong Island and Macau and only a short walk to the subway (MTR.)


97%

Location was great,Staff was very helpful.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

overall was good for hong kong,elevator needs more of an upgrade.Our room was good on an ok floor,there was hot water for a coffee or noodles which i was happy with.All staff did their best to help and it was one of the better places to stay in the building.The building downstairs needs a real clean up of all the unusual people hanging around for the safety and security of all the other people staying in the many hostels.But overall i would definitely return and recommend other people. JPidgeon

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


29%

The room was very over priced and the area, building, facilities are horrible. This was the absolute bottom of the barrel. All the people who approach you about buying narcotics and counterfeit items was really annoying. Whenever I would leave the building I had to dash from the elevator to the entrance to avoid the constant barrage of drug dealers.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Good and relax. Shall recommend to friend in usa. It was a wonderful experience, staff was great and the location was smack in the center of the city


77%

It was nice with nice staff n good location. I can recommend this hostel

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a cool place!

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I think i came in busiest time, but still i got all the services on time. The wifi was perfect and the hostel do say the value for money. I was a pleasant stay and i look forward to stay here in future.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cyprus
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback