Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ashoka Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 801 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 801 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
8.0

Decent budget accommodation in kowloon, very close to the metro and resterants etc. The rooms were a bit ramshackle but very clean and security was good andStaff were great all round. The chunking mansion has a Indian subcontinent community, there are plenty of touts on the ground floor but they are just advertising (This hostel even hires one or two). Stayed here almost a week and it's safe, lots of Indian families seem to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Perfect Stay. My trip was short and sweet. Staff really helped and make my trip successful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
3.1

The hostel wasin a really bad condition, and super small. We only stayed the night because we had to, and moved the next day. Not recommendable

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • diegoriddick449342
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
4.6

Poor first impression: trash all over the exit to the stairs, small space to move and a general state of decay on the building. It follows the rule of many Hostels in China: Has no common space or any other place to meet other guests than your room. I booked the 4 person mixed room. Too small. Beds unconfortable. For the mixed rooms there's only 1 small bathroom, with a shower wich runs out of hot water in 2 min. The staff is ok. Nothing bad but nothing special either. Wi-fi runs slow.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
6.9

The location couldn't have been any better and the staff were lovely. The building itself was very run down and absolutely filthy. There were people asleep on the stairs and what looked like blood on the walls. We booked a double room but actually got two single beds crammed into a small room. The shower was basically on top of the toilet and wasn't really usable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.0

Booked a room but they ended up giving us a private room at no extra cost. The staff was really nice and location was good however the building it was on seemed a bit weird. We kept getting offered drugs. People at that building tried to lead us to different hostels and hotels which was a bit dodgy. Really convenient for the MTR. Other than that it was overall really good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
9.4

Very nice place, I'd come back

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
9.1

Jit, Jasmin and Ladi are very friendly and accommodating. Overall, our stay was awesome. Would definitely go back and recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
10.0

First time staying in a hostel. Stayed for 3 nights before leaving on a cruise out of Hong Kong. I gave an excellent review for each section because I believe it was as good as it all could have been for the price paid. Very tight quarters but I felt safe. I am also pretty low maintenance so it worked out well for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
8.0

Nice and clean hostel in an otherwise disgusting building. Only two elevators to 20+ hostels and during my stay one was broken. Really nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.