Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ashoka Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 841 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 841 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
10.0

the location of the hostel is very good and right next to the metro station. the rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and 24/7 available. we would recommend it highly. They speak good english!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2017
6.9

The hostel was a good price for one night. The building it is located in is very crowded on the ground floor with people coming up to to try and sell things which was intimidating. The elevator is always busy and you need to be patient. Go to the 16th floor to check-in. The room was quite small but clean and there was a fan, AC and hairdryer. When leaving my room to look around, I checked if the door had properly locked but it wouldn't lock. Had to get it fixed which was worrying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Jul 2017
4.3

More of a hotel with a dorm room. The room barley has space for everyone's luggage. The gentlemen that seemed to be in charge were rude and arrogant. For discounted Disney tickets go to klook.com.No hostel atmosphere. Might as well get a private room somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2017
7.7

Fantastic location - minutes from the harbour and the ferry as well as the night market, the avenue of stars... The place was maintained cleaned and our beds were made everyday. Towels available for rental. Small rooms which I understand is normal for HK but they were surprisingly well equipped with fans, A/C which is a must, ensuite bathrooms and a safe. Perfect budget accommodation for backpackers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2017
10.0

I am glad with the awesome customer service by the hostel staff. Front desk staff was very welcoming and friendly. Top off in cleaniness of rooms and washrooms. Located at very convenient location easy accessible to MTR. I would definitely visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feed back hope so see you soon

27th Jun 2017
6.3

I wouldn't recommend ANYONE to stay here. I am someone who has stayed in 20-30 hostels (Great to not the best conditions) I have even slept in bus stations but I would NEVER stay here. Tonight my friend and I walked in, and walked back out within 10 minutes. I just want everyone to know the photos posted are most likely rooms that you will NOT stay in. You will be put in something where all the beds are pushed together with standing room for about 1 person. The staff were great though

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
4.6

I think that the people around the building makes it be not a suitable stay for foreigners and more about ladies as you don’t get to feel very safe. When we got there light wasn’t working. After one day of touring around we got back and our door was open when we had informed reception we didnt want anyone to go in and not even clean lady.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • asaroast4675
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2017
9.1

Great place. Only thing is remember to go to the 16th floor not the 13th as the address on here says. Beds and rooms clean, hot water, towels provided, 24 hour reception, air con and electric fan. It's a Chungking Mansions guesthouse so it's just a place to sleep and rest, nothing more, but it does that perfectly. I always felt completely safe. Walls are thin and some of the other guests were noisy arriving later, but that's to be expected. Great food in the rest of the building too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
9.1

Darry and the staff are really nice, the room is clean, the shower was ok and the AC works well. As normal in Hong Kong hostels don't have common room or restaurant, anyway there is an space if you wan to stay outside. The best hostel in chunking mansions, the recepción is next to the rooms ( this is not common in this area ).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
8.0

Not bad, cheapest room I could find. Had to share a room with one guy that smelled like yogurt and slept in a full suit but that's not their fault. Go to the 16th floor to check in. The room was small but clean and there was hot water. The staff was really nice and helpful and spoke English well. Would recommend if you're looking for something cheap for a night or two. Taxi from airport cost 170 HKD so I'd maybe take the bus if you have the energy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.