Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ashoka Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 825 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 825 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th May 2017
8.0

Not bad, cheapest room I could find. Had to share a room with one guy that smelled like yogurt and slept in a full suit but that's not their fault. Go to the 16th floor to check in. The room was small but clean and there was hot water. The staff was really nice and helpful and spoke English well. Would recommend if you're looking for something cheap for a night or two. Taxi from airport cost 170 HKD so I'd maybe take the bus if you have the energy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
9.1

Good deal for Hong Kong. Note all rooms that are under $100 USA are really small like really small. Room was well set up for a really small room and had a hot shower etc. Air con and fan. Good staff who were into security which is needed in that building. TV no cable. Could leave bags after checkout good for late flights. Hostel on airport 21A bus run and bus is cheap. Takes one hour from airport. Cleaned room and replaced stuff as needed. Would stay again and send others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
8.9

I really believe that it's not the place itself that makes the stay worth it: it's always the people. And I say Ashoka don't have the five star type, however, the staff was awesome and made it worthy to stay. They're approachable and really friendly. Shocked that they clean the room everyday, and the location is beyond perfect that's near a train station exit. But if you come to think of it, you're not in HK to stay in the hotel, so Ashoka is truly a perfect hostel to crash after a long day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
6.3

This place is small which is to be expected in HK. Clean enough and safe enough. The "drug dealers" downstairs are HARMLESS, so don't worry. The location is great and convenient. Only two metro stops away from the best HK bar streets. However, if you decide to stay here, DO NOT EXCHANGE ANY MONEY AT THE LOCATIONS BY THE ENTRANCE. On my last day they gave me fake RMB that no one will accept now that I'm back home in China!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
6.9

Ok hostel to sleep in and leave stuff to explore Hong Kong. Rooms are tiny but think that is the norm in the city. Alot of people around the building pestering you but fine once inside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Mar 2017
6.3

I personally liked the room itself, and the people I met there were great but I did not like the atmosphere in the hostel that much. It was quite confusing to get to the right floor in the building. Even though the hostel was registered on the 13th floor, the actual place I stayed was on the 16th floor. Also the atmosphere at the entrance of the building was not great as there were constantly men asking if you wanted to get a room which bothered me a lot. I won't recommend this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
9.7

Great rooms nice and clean very good for the price! The staff is very kind and helpful! Definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Mar 2017
7.7

Hotel-like hostel. Small dorms, 4 people, with small toilets and baths (shower is over toilet) Really good security, i felt safe. Many shops in the chunkin mansion, if you can handle the eager sailsmen. The staff is helpful and sweet and the reception is open 24 Hours👍🏻 There isn't much of a social room, but there's a waiting room with chairs and a fridge where you can buy drinks. Overall a good stay, and i would reccommend it to someone who likes staying at the heart of Hong Kong madness :p

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
1st Mar 2017
8.6

The room was very small but clean and the beds didn't shake. The staff was friendly and helpful, the location ist perfect and with the description easy to find. Just no common area, so it was difficult to meet other people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Feb 2017
5.1

Hard to find. People outside are always trying to sell you drugs. Small. Room and tiny bathroom. Also found one bedbug, but they cleaned everything straight away.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.