Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ashoka Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 813 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 813 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Mar 2017
9.7

Great rooms nice and clean very good for the price! The staff is very kind and helpful! Definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Mar 2017
7.7

Hotel-like hostel. Small dorms, 4 people, with small toilets and baths (shower is over toilet) Really good security, i felt safe. Many shops in the chunkin mansion, if you can handle the eager sailsmen. The staff is helpful and sweet and the reception is open 24 Hours👍🏻 There isn't much of a social room, but there's a waiting room with chairs and a fridge where you can buy drinks. Overall a good stay, and i would reccommend it to someone who likes staying at the heart of Hong Kong madness :p

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
1st Mar 2017
8.6

The room was very small but clean and the beds didn't shake. The staff was friendly and helpful, the location ist perfect and with the description easy to find. Just no common area, so it was difficult to meet other people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Feb 2017
5.1

Hard to find. People outside are always trying to sell you drugs. Small. Room and tiny bathroom. Also found one bedbug, but they cleaned everything straight away.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
9.4

I spent two weeks at Ashoka as a temporary home while I was hunting for an apartment in Hong Kong. Despite the loud and overwhelming atmosphere of the infamous (to borrow an adjective I've seen a previous description) Chungking Mansions, once on the top floor I was met with a very clean (albeit small) room and very welcoming staff. They let me print a few pages during my stay and even checked in on me when I contracted bronchitis in the second week. Good accommodation for a short stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Feb 2017
8.0

Decent budget accommodation in kowloon, very close to the metro and resterants etc. The rooms were a bit ramshackle but very clean and security was good andStaff were great all round. The chunking mansion has a Indian subcontinent community, there are plenty of touts on the ground floor but they are just advertising (This hostel even hires one or two). Stayed here almost a week and it's safe, lots of Indian families seem to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Perfect Stay. My trip was short and sweet. Staff really helped and make my trip successful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
3.1

The hostel wasin a really bad condition, and super small. We only stayed the night because we had to, and moved the next day. Not recommendable

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • diegoriddick449342
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
4.6

Poor first impression: trash all over the exit to the stairs, small space to move and a general state of decay on the building. It follows the rule of many Hostels in China: Has no common space or any other place to meet other guests than your room. I booked the 4 person mixed room. Too small. Beds unconfortable. For the mixed rooms there's only 1 small bathroom, with a shower wich runs out of hot water in 2 min. The staff is ok. Nothing bad but nothing special either. Wi-fi runs slow.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
6.9

The location couldn't have been any better and the staff were lovely. The building itself was very run down and absolutely filthy. There were people asleep on the stairs and what looked like blood on the walls. We booked a double room but actually got two single beds crammed into a small room. The shower was basically on top of the toilet and wasn't really usable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.