X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

BackStage Hotel Reviews

Leidsegracht 114, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
249 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Really cool vibes. The bar was beautiful. The staff was really helpful and connected me to a doctor when I needed one. They also helped us find a great music store. Definitely not a great place for people who like to go to bed early as there are music shows that happen in the bar area and we could hear it from our room, but that didn't bother us. They also let us leave our backpacks for a few hours in a back area after we checked out which was great.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

The staff were helpful and friendly, they provided free fruit for all guests, which I thought was nice. Overall the stay was enjoyable and relaxed, which is exactly what you want from a hotel.

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great Hostel! Loved the style and the atmosphere, very cool and comfortable room. I would stay here again when (not if!) I return to Amsterdam.


89%

Really nice hotel with nice rooms. Staff was really good. The only bad thing is that ground rooms may be a bit noisy due to the bar being up, and the downstairs shared toilets are used by the people in the bar.


49%

Carring suitcases to the fourth floor is a mission for hell.Is the narrowest and leanest stairway that I ever seen.Pizza tower is easiest to climb. On the bright side is a really good exercise and problaby will burn out all the fries and mayonnese calories. The room was dirty, small and dark.The ipod dock that they sell so proudly wasnt working. when I complained the staff told me: well sometimes things are broken! Wtf!? For 200 € a night, NO! A very cheap hoStel for an expensive price.

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back one day!


100%

It's clean, quiet and lovely. I loved the atmosphere!

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were really kind and helpful. Our 5 bed room was amazing, and location was perfect. Looking to come back in April, and staying here again!

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Decent hotel in a central location. Was a fair pecht climbing those stairs to the 4th floor after drinking La Chouffe all day though.


80%

Very cool facilities and bar-area downstairs. The stairs to the rooms were scary steep and with no lift they definitely presented a challenge. The best part of the hotel was the in-room A-Z list of activities, events, recommendations and hotel rules- so helpful and entertaining!

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This place by far exceeded our expectations. We stayed for 3 nights and had a private twin both nights with a shared bathroom. First off, every person that we spoke with on the staff was super friendly and helpful..they were all just great. The rooms were also very large and had a great design (drums as lights on the ceiling), vanity with lights to get ready and each room had a sink in it which was also very convenient The beds were comfortable as well. The hostel is in one of the best locations


100%

The room was large and quiet (though we were there during the week) and the staff were incredibly thoughtful and attentive. We got a recommendation for a really great restaurant to celebrate a birthday. And they were generous and candid with all their recommendations. Would absolutely stay here again.


89%

great hotel, lots of fun, stairs are quite steep but we were pre-warned! room and beds were v tidy and v. comfy.


100%

Even after we checked out, the staff still went out of their way to be helpful. A++, would recommend again.

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good place, minus the stairs

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

good staff!


100%

awesome place staff were so helpful beds were so comfy. absolutley loved it


83%

This place is great especially if you're a musician or in that scene.

  • 17th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is soo cool to stay and its soo young .. But only that the location is a bit not right in the center but u can walk or take the tram . And second thing is the breakfast it should be included in the fee cos its already not a very cheap hostel iv been to lots of other hostels (always i take single private room) cheaper and the breakfast is in.. But over all it a cool place


80%

A really nice place, conveniently situated if you're into parties and/or Rijksmuseum. You'll have to walk for a while or take a tram to get to the Red Light district or Rembrands house, though. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Except for the last day, when we forgot that it was our last day in Amster. And we returned in the late afternoon to find our things all crammed into a garbage bag in the backroom beside the bin. Not nice.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(168 results)


View all Amsterdam Hotels

Please give us your feedback