X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto Reviews

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
6223 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

K's house was one of the best hostels I've stayed at in a couple of years travelling around.


97%

This was my first stay in a hostel, and it was great!

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The best guest house to make friends and have good time ! The staff is very excellent ! And it is very cheap ! Enjoy !

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It's the biggest Hostel I've ever been. Six floors plus a beautiful terrace on the rooftop, where you can have a great view of Kyoto. The room is nice, and clean, and on each floor there's toilets and shower rooms enough for everyone. The lounge and the kitchen are huge, so you can have a meal, or just sit in there and talk to other travellers. And also there's a bar right on the next door, which is a very nice place to drink a good beer and get to know people from all around the world

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The location is good, but the atmosphere inside is just so so .


91%

Staff were very friendly and happy to help, however no lockers only for shoes


100%

This was an excellent hostel.  There was an incident and my lock was cut, but they made up for it and were very apologetic. One of the best hostels I have stayed in.


94%

I've already been there in 2010 and it is always excellent!! Great place to stay!


83%

The TV need to be changed into a new one. And the users should be informed of what the hotel has and how to use the facilities.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good location near the station. really helpful staff, and excellent value and quality breakfast buffet served at the café downstairs.


97%

This was a great hostel. The staff were extremely helpful and spoke great English, there was pertinent info posted all over the walls (it was really great to have restaurant recommendations from locals!) and the rooms were clean and thankfully air conditioned. The common areas of the hostel were also great! We went to the cultural experience night and movie night and had a lot of fun. The only thing we didn't enjoy was the breakfast, it sounded a lot better on the flyers than it actually was.


89%

Can't really complain about anything, I've stayed at other K'S before and it's always a good experience. Professional and friendly staff with perfect English, well maintained facilities, helpful with planning and other activities. Basic, comfortable rooms. It's only that the whole place is huge, full of tourists and feels like a factory - doesn't have that family atmosphere of smaller hostels/guesthouses.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Since it has large common areas and dorms, it is clearly a very good hostel. K's has very good reasons for being chosen the best hostel in the world. Congratulations.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

the only trouble is that the bedroom are very, very smal ! btu all other are nice !

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

This was a great hostel. our room was private and had bunk beds, which was fine, and even though the place was totally booked, there were always showers available, people were cleaning every day....the common room was comfortable, and the bar/restaurant next door was reasonably priced, tasty, and offered a sake tasting while we were there, which was cool. there weren't any bikes for rent when we got there (again, full), but just across the street is a place to rent for the same cost.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I have been to. They got everything that a hostel needs (from social room to cleaniness, from helpful staff to computers and all). It feels more like a home than a hostel. I have just extended my stay in Kyoto 1 more day to stay at this place more. I am planing to open a hostel in Istanbul. And if I do, I want it to be like this one.


100%

Superb, everything is great! Perfect for backpackers as well. And the common rooms are amazing! Definitely one of the best hostels I have stayed while travelling in Asia.


66%

It is moldy inside the cooking water pot at old building 1st floor.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

nice and cheap cafe/bar next door and super friendly staff!


94%

Good service. The staffs are nice

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(248 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback