X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto Reviews

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
6925 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Thank you ~ It's a great hostel!!

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Hello, K's is absolutely O.K. The only thing id when you write for the toilet in the room, Private, share bathroom. If it is private it is not shared. Thank very much for the rest. Lou.


83%

The room is very clean and quite big, and they let us in before the check-in time. The staff was nice. The only thing I didn't like were the shared bathrooms: for every floor, you have 3 showers and 3 toilets (that allow a certain privacy, but are too few during rush hours) and 3 basins for men and women, a camping-like atmosphere I didn't really like. Unfortunately people are unpolite, and so I found some unpleasant situations. The wi-fi didn't work very well at some hours on higher floors.


100%

Verry firendly staff who were helpful and gave a warm welcome.

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

very good, but space is small

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a great hostel. You can have a twin private room. And there are a lot of facilities (hair dryer, shampoo & gel, TV in the room, etc.) The staff is very gentle and gave us a lot of information about Kyoto. The breakfast is not included, but you can take a buffet breakfast for less than 700 yenes.


100%

It was a great, hassle free stay in the hostel. The location was good and when the road towards the hostel was closed, they had people directing where to go so we don't get lost. Good eating places are close by.

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Not enough bathrooms. Guests incredibly rude

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had what a hostel needed


83%

good: - large, clean and comfortable common areas and kitchen - close to Kyoto station and the main river - bike rental opportunities bad: - rather hard mattress in a pretty small room


91%

Very helpful and kind staff with the exception of one.


89%

They did a great organizing in the double rooms in a very Limited space.


100%

Great hostel in a great location with super helpful and friendly staff. Everything about this place is great.


100%

Thank you once again for making my trip enjoyable and stress free.


100%

Great place! Staff was very helpful (great English), the lounge room was clean as comfy, all facilities were clean and working, we had a one bed private room which was cozy and clean. About 10minute walk to Kyoto station, nice restaurant with breakfast buffet in the lobby. Nothing bad to say about this place, would recommend to anyone. Two thumbs up!


80%

Personnal very smiling and pleasant. i don t like thé adress cérémony tea on Gion. But all was very good


86%

the place is clean and tidy staffs are friendly and nice, with good english


86%

The hostel was overall very good and cosy. The room was a bit small and there was a weird smell there that we could not get rid of even tho we kept the window open as often as possible. Nevertheless, the common room was very nice and the hostel had everything you need to cook your own food. Nice place to stay!

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

More shoes lockers would be better. Very nice breakfast buffet.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

K's house was great. We had a double room with an ensuite which was perfect for my partner

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(261 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback