X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto Reviews

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
5363 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Everything is great and good, value and clean hostel compared to those I stayed before. Staff able to speak english and good service. I'll come back for my next Kyoto trip. Location a bit far but as long as you get familiar of the bus system, it shouldn't be a problem. I have a doubt, for indoor slipper, for personal hygiene purpose, I would like to suggest use disposal one will be much better! Thank, K's house of Kyoto.


83%

I am very happy with everything except for the location. It's around 15-20 mins walk from Kyoto train station. And the map wasn't helpful to find the hostel.


97%

Great hostel! Very kind and friendly staff, very conveniently located and excellent facilities and very clean! Thanks!


86%

It was a great place with friendly staff and nice, clean rooms. The hostel was located at a walkable distance from the train station, so reaching it proved no problem. Additionally, it was close to a post office so reaching an ATM was also no problem (thankfully, as for some reason the ATMs at the 7/11s stopped supporting our cards). Finally, the morning buffet was good value for its money, offering a nice range of options to start the day properly.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

All you need, tidy, friendly and helpful staff. Nicely located too. Good value for money. Cheers

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We spoke with really lovely staff on every occasion. One of the girls gave us a great recommendation for dinner as well, which we were really grateful for. Kitchen area and lounge was really great for hanging out and was lovely to chat with other travelers. Would definitely recommend Ks hostel in Kyoto for other travelers.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Very efficient and enjoyable stay. Particularly entertaining with children.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly staffs and great location. Definitely will gonna visit again!

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice place. You have tv in your room. Would like to stay longer next time.


43%

Never again. Stressed staff, noisy tourists... Dormitory feels and smells like a stable. Showers are even worse. People leave their hair everywhere and it's stinky!!!

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Not my first time stay at K House Kyoto. Love the convenience of location, the common place especially the roof top. Staffs are helpful in providing directions & friendly. Will always be my choice for accommodation when I'm in Japan for hols.


100%

Probably the cleanest biggest and most well equppied hostel I have stayed in. Great showers, big rooms, rooftop terrace and very friendly and helpful staff. 10/10

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

people are nice and patient and ready to offer help.

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I saw a young girl talking to her personal phone for almost 30 minutes in the lobby(on the 3rd floor).It was noisy to the surrounding people. It looks like the facility system is made upon the customer's moral and good will. I thought it would be better to give some reminder saying like CALM FOR COMFORTABLE USE on the wall.

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Spotless hostel near the train station. Very friendly staff willing to answer any questions. Commom room a bit small but does the job. Recommended.


97%

great hostel in a nice central location. Super clean with comfy common room and a roof top terrace - awesome view at nighttime, just too bad it closes at 9pm! Ended up staying longer than planned :)


97%

Should have connected main stairway from 2nd floor upwards. Or put a label that there's a stairway somewhere else. Left drying machine was a bit malfunctioning at the 12th minute. Excellent hostel nonetheless


51%

humidity and odor. very bad room. we have been sick.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good place to stay! Clean and comfortable!


97%

The No. 1 hostel in my ranking so far. Impressively clean and neat. We reached hours before the check-in time but we were allowed to take showers and got some rest in the common area. The floor has a bathtub, spacious living area and balcony for a cup of coffee. The staffs are friendly and very helpful. There are toilets and shower rooms in each floor and they are very clean and well-kept.


(208 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback