X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto Reviews

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
6850 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I really love this home-like hostel and the location is quite convenient. There has two 24 hour shops nearby and is near bus stop to K;s house. I just take 8 mins walk to K's house from Kyoto Station and many different kinds of restaurant closed to the station. It is a very excellent experience when I travel in Kyoto with my mom. The staffs are so nice and enthusiastic. Their English is good and fluent. If I will have another trip in Japan in the future, I will choose hostel as well.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Macau
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

For us the Bar was really great because we could drink Yuzu-cha in the evening and the morning! Thias was so great!! =)

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We came with 4 kids aged 2, 5, 15 and 17. It was a hit with all. Great location and facilities, can't fault anything.


83%

This hostel is great, the hostel decoration is very lively , and also the staff here are very nice, willing to help at any time. However, the shower room here is so tiny, and when you take a shower for more than 5 minutes, you will feel out of breath, and take care of your shoes left at the gate, some bad-mannered guests may kick your shoes very roughly.


91%

This is a very nice, clean hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is an entry card for the room so it is very secure but also feel a bit like a hotel. Since it is a large hostel, common area seemed to have many people doing their thing.


89%

Staff is very nice and helpful. Good rooftop. Very good localisation. I recommand this hostel.

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Very nice place to stay in Kyoto

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

bed was uncomfortable. but ... quite good place.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Thank you ~ It's a great hostel!!

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Hello, K's is absolutely O.K. The only thing id when you write for the toilet in the room, Private, share bathroom. If it is private it is not shared. Thank very much for the rest. Lou.


83%

The room is very clean and quite big, and they let us in before the check-in time. The staff was nice. The only thing I didn't like were the shared bathrooms: for every floor, you have 3 showers and 3 toilets (that allow a certain privacy, but are too few during rush hours) and 3 basins for men and women, a camping-like atmosphere I didn't really like. Unfortunately people are unpolite, and so I found some unpleasant situations. The wi-fi didn't work very well at some hours on higher floors.


100%

Verry firendly staff who were helpful and gave a warm welcome.

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

very good, but space is small

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a great hostel. You can have a twin private room. And there are a lot of facilities (hair dryer, shampoo & gel, TV in the room, etc.) The staff is very gentle and gave us a lot of information about Kyoto. The breakfast is not included, but you can take a buffet breakfast for less than 700 yenes.


100%

It was a great, hassle free stay in the hostel. The location was good and when the road towards the hostel was closed, they had people directing where to go so we don't get lost. Good eating places are close by.

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Not enough bathrooms. Guests incredibly rude

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Had what a hostel needed


83%

good: - large, clean and comfortable common areas and kitchen - close to Kyoto station and the main river - bike rental opportunities bad: - rather hard mattress in a pretty small room


91%

Very helpful and kind staff with the exception of one.


89%

They did a great organizing in the double rooms in a very Limited space.


(262 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback