X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto Reviews

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
5848 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Wi-fi at peak hours was not always working fine. Other than that, everything was perfect!


89%

Good hostel. Private room are very small. Very clean. Nice rooftop terrace and nice common area. Easy to meet people at the bar next to the reception.


91%

Not far from JR station, close to one of the metro station. About a 30 minute walk to the centre of town.


83%

The location is near Kyoto station, the room is okay although the bunk-bed is a bit lower for people who sleep in down side.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

you are the best hostel for me!

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really nice place, clean and nice staff. Could be closer to city centre, but that would increase prices. Free wifi, but not working too well in the rooms.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed here with my teenage daughter and was skeptical while booking...however my four days in the hostel were amazing, comfortable & economical and both me and my daughter enjoyed our stay.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellant staff, who had the answers for everyhting. Great location.


80%

I now stayed twice and i really appreciate the place and mostly the people working there. Traveler my friend feel at home, could be their motto. However, the internet system is too weak for so many people, that is the main problem. And please, it could be nice to install hangers in toilettes and bathroom, common sense no?!

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

As with all the Ks hostels, absolutely perfect. The staff and the facilities could not be better. Would definately recommend and stay again.


77%

Add more toilets so no toilet will be shared by male and female because the male's urine really stinks!


100%

The staff were so friendly and helpful. Could have done with a little extra space for the suitcases in the double ensuite room but everything was perfert.


100%

Very good hostel with clean good quality facilities with the benefits of a bar on site in order to meet people


100%

Awesome Hostel. One of the best I've stayed in. I honestly wouldn't change a thing..... Except for the addition of a hottub on the roof!!!


91%

The best hostel ever in japan!!! There are staff that can speak english very well but it's quite far from kyoto station:)


94%

Very friendly and helpful staff! I got sick and they helped me get a doctor appoinment at a local hospital. They also gave me candies for my sore throat. The nicest people!

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The shower rooms can do with better ventilation - it was very humid and difficult to dry off, it also smelt a bit like fungus. The toilets were always a bit sticky and smelled of urine.


91%

The hostel is very clean and staff are helpful, friendly, and speak good English. Overall, it was a nice stay in K's House Kyoto. But the location is somewhat a little too far from Kyoto Station. My advice is to take bus no. 4, 7, or 25 to Nanajo Kawaramachi stop. If you arrive in Kyoto in daylight, just buy Kyoto one-day bus pass, for just 500 yen, you can ride buses all around Kyoto. Most of tourist attractions are reachable by those buses.


94%

Way above expectation. I didnt expect the place to be so clean, spacious and new.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Definitely an amazing place to be! Given its size, you can make many fortunate encounters and that's what counts most while on a trip. Really good help from the staff and they do know Kyoto on their fingertips! All their advices were gold.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(263 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback