X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto Reviews

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
5363 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Overall this hostel is ok. You guy give a try!!


83%

enjoyed my stay in ks house. good location and comfortable beds

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A very good, lovely place to stay. Staff excellent, very helpful and friendly. Good value for rooms: double with ensuite and the twin rooms were both good. Good location near to Kyoto Station and bus terminal, easy to get to other cities and around the town to temples and sights.


100%

The most friendly hostel!

  • 2nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Love K's. Definitely recommend this hostel to any one thinking of visiting Kyoto. Would stay here any time :)

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

it's a big hostel. so it has every thing you need. the location is great. 10 min from kyoto station. you can go to every where from there


83%

Big and very hotel-like, somewhat inpersonal but the facilities were outstanding: 3 showers and 3 bathrooms per floor, spacious common room and kitchen + a cafe. Good security as you only get in the rooms with a room card. Air conditioning in the dorm rooms was just bad though, and it got rather smelly in the room at night. Unlike in most dorms in Japan, beds had no curtains. Value for money anyway and within walking distance from Gion if you're not lazy.


86%

The location is a short distance from kyoto station. There doesn't provide shampoo and shower gel in the hostel. The facility is clean and good. There is a kitchen. And you can prepare food anytime. Finally, I love the nice staff!

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good budget stay and the staff manning the hostel during my stay was very helpful and spoke good English too. Received warm welcome upon check-in and was also given valuable information. Though the room was small (6-bed female dorm), it was clean and properly equipped. Toilets and shower rooms were very clean as well. I had a comfortable stay and it was indeed a good budget stay. Keep up the good work!

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The perfect place to stay in Kyoto. Don't even look for other hostel, this is the right one.


100%

I felt at home at K's house Kyoto. Great place. I will be back. ;)

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The largest hostel in Japan I was told, busy in autumn, however being a K's house it is very well run. Staff are very helpful and easy going.


91%

It is really nice hostel with good facilities and environment. There is a bar that can chi-chat during the night and having breakfast in the morning. The staff are helpful and nice. Good to be here the first time. Yet the Wi-Fi is not good, and always disconnect.


89%

Hostel is close to JR Kyoto station. Staff are nice but a bit stand-offish. Information in the foyer is helpful though. The bar never has anyone else in it though so don't get excited. However the rooms and bathrooms are super clean and lovely. Would stay here again :)


89%

Need a mirror in the bathroom


97%

A nice, big hostel in Kyoto. It's decently close to the station, our as close as anything can be in this huge city. Proximity to the subway really helped a lot. Other than that it's a great hostel with a nice bar and breakfast buffet.


100%

Very clean facilities, with everyone pitching in. Staff super friendly and spoke Japanese and English. Location is only 10-15 min walk from Kyoto train station. Met a lot of like-minded travelers and swapped travel info/tips. Would stay again.


91%

Very good place to stay as a student. Good place even has a restaurant next to it with cheap price.

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hot water of bathroom was not stable, sometimes hot and sometimes cool.

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff was really nice. They speak a perfect english but let me speak in japanese and listened to me patiently even when it was difficult for me to find my words. Moreover every body was smiling all the time. Nice place to stay. Easy, clean, nice. 皆さんありがとうございました。

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(208 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback